Build volume
330 x 240 x 300 mm
Advertised dimensions; check usable space and variants.
Sources & dates
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing · 2026-08 · vendor
Dual-extrusion professional machine on 2.85 mm filament with swappable print cores and a glass bed.

330 x 240 x 300 mm
Advertised dimensions; check usable space and variants.
180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes
Published limits; hardware and firmware limits may differ.
Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026
Dated listing, not a live offer. Read the configuration and region.
Understand the hardware, explore compatible changes and find a diagnostic starting point when something goes wrong. Expand the specification sections for every recorded value, condition and original reference.
Dimensions, construction and the hardware that moves the print.
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer | 1 source
|
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026 | 1 source
|
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart | 3 sources
|
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold | 3 sources
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 330 x 240 x 300 mm | 1 source
|
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder | 1 source
|
| Net weight (kg) | 20.6 kg | 1 source
|
| Frame construction & material | Fully assembled professional chassis | 1 source
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table | 1 source
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure) | 1 source
|
Extrusion, heating, leveling and material handling.
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores | 1 source
|
| Filament diameter | 2.85 mm | 1 source
|
Use the manufacturer’s guided print-core cleaning and hot/cold-pull procedure when diagnosis indicates a restriction.
Applies to: S5 is within the article’s S-series/Factor 4 scope; use its supported cleaning material.
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes | 1 source
|
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available | 1 source
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C | 1 source
|
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Heated glass build plate | 1 source
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table | 1 source
|
The compatible accessory adds multi-spool loading and automated material-change workflows.
Applies to: UltiMaker S5 is explicitly supported; material profiles must also support the Station.
Firmware, controls, connections and calibration.
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Total rated power draw | 500 W maximum power output | 1 source
|
The manufacturer documents recovery for startup faults; select the exact hardware branch before service.
Applies to: S5: standard S-series image; S5 R1/2018–2020 recovery requires support.
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials | 1 source
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen | 1 source
|
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB | 1 source
|
Published safeguards, support terms and independent evidence.
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated | 1 source
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement) | 1 source
|
This guide presents the catalog’s sourced record for this exact model. Source dates belong to each reference; a page update does not mean every specification has been rechecked.
Prices are dated listing snapshots, with configuration, regional and sale conditions. They are not current offers. Unknown values remain unfilled.
Firmware, variants and available accessories can change. Read the original reference before making a purchase or planning a process.
Firmware, modifications and troubleshooting links are checked against the model and stated hardware or firmware revision. A creator’s compatibility claim is not a fit test by this site. Official troubleshooting describes a diagnostic route; individual reports do not establish a failure rate.
This review did not verify printable modifications for this exact model. That is a research gap, not a claim that none exist.