Where it is used
Electrical enclosures, transport interiors and battery housings that must meet a flammability rating
Sources
- PolyMax PC-FR Technical Data Sheet V5.5 · 2024-11 · tds
- Bambu Filament Technical Data Sheet V1.0 — PC FR · 2026-08 · tds
UL 94 V-0 polycarbonate for electrical enclosures; the retardant roughly halves elongation at break to 2.4–3.5 % and, in Bambu Lab's grade, cuts saturated water absorption to 0.12 %.
Open in interactive comparisonElectrical enclosures, transport interiors and battery housings that must meet a flammability rating
UL 94 V-0 polycarbonate for electrical enclosures; the retardant roughly halves elongation at break to 2.4–3.5 % and, in Bambu Lab's grade, cuts saturated water absorption to 0.12 %.
Flame-retardant PC is important in electrical and transportation components where a useful engineering plastic must also meet specified material flammability requirements. Its value is the combination of a rigid, heat-resistant enclosure and a documented FR formulation, rather than flame retardancy alone. Polymaker reports that CURE Mannheim uses PolyMax PC-FR for TS housings and PCB enclosures in its Formula Student vehicle, selecting it for thermal stability and electrical applications.
The flame-retardant formulation has limited elongation, so thin latches and sharply loaded mounting bosses can be less forgiving than the housing walls. Drying and layer bonding remain important to mechanical reliability. Flammability classification depends on the specific grade, thickness and test conditions, while a heat-deflection result describes a loaded test specimen rather than a universal continuous operating temperature.
FDM/FFF printing · PolyMax PC-FR in the documented CURE Mannheim application; not generic FR PC certification · Documented case
Polymaker reports PolyMax PC-FR use in the Formula Student team vehicle for TS housings and PCB enclosures, citing thermal stability, layer adhesion and its flame-retardant formulation. The case does not transfer vehicle safety approval to other printed enclosures.
Check the model’s material and process notes before choosing a filament.
Representative catalog values. Check the exact grade and its linked conditions before using a setting.
260–280 (Bambu Lab); 250–270 (Polymaker)
260–280 (Bambu Lab); 250–270 (Polymaker)
90–110 (Bambu Lab); 90–105 (Polymaker)
90–110 (Bambu Lab); 90–105 (Polymaker)
Enclosure required (passive)
Enclosure required (passive) — Bambu Lab specifies a 45–60 °C chamber, Polymaker 70–100 °C
75 °C for 6 h (Polymaker)
75 °C for 6 h (Polymaker)
Open a topic to explore the complete data. Each value keeps its original conditions, units and dated sources.
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Base polymer / chemistry | Flame-retardant polycarbonate. Polymaker builds its grade on Covestro's Makrolon family and rates it UL 94 V-0 | 2 sources
|
| Density (g/cm³) | 1.18 (Bambu Lab) and 1.2 (Polymaker), ISO 1183 | 2 sources
|
| Typical price (USD/kg) | 1 kg-equivalent spools span 55–224; the two mainstream 1 kg grades are 55 and the industrial grades 120–224 | 2 sources
|
| Price range across brands (USD/kg) | 55–224 across brands; Bambu Lab and Polymaker 55, 3DXTech FR PC/ABS 120, 3DXLABS FR-PC 224 | 3 sources
|
| Market availability (1–5) | Available from several mainstream brands | 3 sources
|
| Spool sizes & diameters | 1.75 mm; 0.75 and 1 kg spools | 3 sources
|
| Typical applications | Electrical enclosures, transport interiors and battery housings that must meet a flammability rating | 2 sources
|
| Diameter tolerance (± mm) | ±0.03 (Bambu Lab PC FR) | 1 source
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Nozzle temperature (°C) | 260–280 (Bambu Lab); 250–270 (Polymaker) | 2 sources
|
| Bed temperature (°C) | 90–110 (Bambu Lab); 90–105 (Polymaker) | 2 sources
|
| Enclosure / chamber requirement (1–5) | Enclosure required (passive) — Bambu Lab specifies a 45–60 °C chamber, Polymaker 70–100 °C | 2 sources
|
| Recommended chamber temperature (°C) | 45–60 (Bambu Lab); 70–100 (Polymaker) | 2 sources
|
| Part cooling fan | 0–60 % (Bambu Lab) | 1 source
|
| Bed surface & adhesion aid | Smooth or textured PEI plate (Bambu Lab) | 1 source
|
| Maximum volumetric flow (mm³/s; see test conditions) (mm³/s) | 24 at Bambu Lab's 300 mm/s cap on a 0.4 mm nozzle at 0.2 mm layer | 2 sources
|
| Warping tendency (1–5) | Severe — heated chamber needed | 2 sources
|
| Bed-adhesion difficulty (1–5) | Needs a specific surface plus adhesive | 2 sources
|
| Stringing / oozing tendency (1–5) | Moderate — retraction tuning needed; Polymaker flags stringing as a common PC problem | 1 source
|
| Overall printing difficulty (1–5) | Advanced — enclosure, hardware upgrades, tuning | 2 sources
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Nozzle hardness required (1–4) | Brass fine indefinitely | 1 source
|
| Abrasiveness (1–5) | Non-abrasive | 1 source
|
| Nozzle clog risk (1–5) | Moderate — needs dry filament and a clean nozzle; 3DXTech lists no special nozzle concerns but a 6 h pre-dry at 80 °C | 1 source
|
| Heat-creep / jam sensitivity (1–5) | Slightly sensitive | 1 source
|
| Hotend requirement | All-metal hot end required (Simplify3D) | 1 source
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Moisture absorption (hygroscopicity) (1–5) | Low (0.1–0.3 %) — 0.12 % saturated at 25 °C / 55 % RH (Bambu Lab), half that of unfilled Bambu Lab PC | 2 sources
|
| Equilibrium moisture content at ~50 % RH (%) | 0.12 saturated at 25 °C / 55 % RH (Bambu Lab) | 1 source
|
| Drying temperature & time | 75 °C for 6 h (Polymaker) | 1 source
|
| Symptoms when wet | Bubbling and popping at the nozzle, stringing and a rough surface | 1 source
|
| Effect of moisture on strength | No dry-versus-conditioned figures are published. Polymaker calls PC highly hygroscopic and requires a 70–80 °C dry for 6–8 h; run wet, the loss shows as surface defects and poor layer adhesion | 2 sources
|
| Storage requirement | Airtight containers with desiccant to prevent reabsorption | 1 source
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Tensile strength (XY) (MPa) | 60 ± 4 (Bambu Lab) and 67 ± 4.5 (Polymaker) printed XY, ISO 527 | 2 sources
|
| Young's modulus (MPa) | 1670 ± 40 (Bambu Lab) and 2634 ± 182 (Polymaker) printed XY, ISO 527 | 2 sources
|
| Elongation at break (%) | 2.4 ± 0.3 (Bambu Lab) and 3.49 ± 0.7 (Polymaker) at break, printed XY, ISO 527 — the retardant roughly halves unfilled PC's elongation | 3 sources
|
| Flexural strength (MPa) | 96.6 ± 1.3 printed XY, ISO 178 (Polymaker) | 1 source
|
| Flexural modulus (MPa) | 2518 ± 53 printed XY, ISO 178 (Polymaker) | 1 source
|
| Charpy impact, notched (kJ/m²) | 11.7 ± 1.6 printed XY, ISO 179, notched (Polymaker) | 1 source
|
| Other impact data | Notched Charpy 7.5 ± 1.6 kJ/m² at −30 °C printed XY (Polymaker, ISO 179-1/1eA) | 1 source
|
| Layer adhesion / Z tensile (MPa) | 21 ± 3 (Bambu Lab) and 46 ± 4.8 (Polymaker) printed Z, ISO 527 | 2 sources
|
| Brittleness (1–5) | Moderate | 2 sources
|
| Hardness (scale-specific) (Shore A / Shore D / Rockwell) | Rockwell 70 (118) — the source does not name the scales and Shore D 79 on extruded unfilled PC stock (ASTM D785, D2240); no figure is published for a flame-retardant filament | 1 source
|
| Creep resistance / sustained load (1–5) | Good. Moulded unfilled PC sustained 41 MPa tensile creep at room temperature without breaking, but the retardant package drops the glass transition to 115 °C in Polymaker's grade, so the unfilled rating is not carried over in full | 2 sources |
| Elasticity / flexibility (1–5) | Rigid | 1 source
|
| Z strength as % of XY (%) | 35 (Bambu Lab) to 69 (Polymaker), printed | 2 sources
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| HDT at 0.45 MPa (°C) | 110 (Polymaker) and 113 (Bambu Lab), ISO 75 at 0.45 MPa | 2 sources
|
| HDT at 1.8 MPa (°C) | 107 (Polymaker) and 108 (Bambu Lab), ISO 75 at 1.8 MPa | 2 sources
|
| Glass transition (Tg) (°C) | 115 (Polymaker) and 145 (Bambu Lab), DSC | 2 sources
|
| Melting point / Vicat (°C) | Amorphous — no melting point; Vicat 114 (Bambu Lab, ISO 306) | 1 source
|
| Continuous service temperature (°C) | 113 — Prusa publishes this as the temperature resistance of Prusament PC Blend | 1 source
|
| Thermal expansion (CTE) (µm/m·K) | 68.4 on extruded unfilled PC stock (ASTM D696; source states 3.8e-5 in/in/°F); no figure is published for a flame-retardant grade | 1 source
|
| Flammability / UL 94 | UL 94 V-0 (Polymaker PolyMax PC-FR); 3DXTech rates its FR PC/ABS V-0 at 1.5 mm on the base resin | 2 sources
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| UV resistance (1–5) | Degrades within weeks outdoors unless stabilised | 1 source
|
| Chemical resistance | Withstands oils, solvents and fuels; Polymaker rates it good against weak acids | 1 source
|
| Food contact | Bisphenol-A polycarbonate is not offered as food-contact filament | 1 source
|
| Biodegradability / compostability | Not biodegradable | 1 source
|
| Recyclability | Mechanically recyclable but not accepted in household plastic collection | 1 source
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Fume toxicity (1–5) | Moderate — measurable VOCs and UFPs, ventilation advised | |
| Ultrafine-particle emission rate (particles/min) | ≈4 × 10¹⁰ median — the highest ultrafine-particle rate of the nine filaments in the chamber study, above every ABS tested | |
| Ventilation / filtration requirement (1–5) | Ventilated room or enclosure recommended |
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Sanding & machining | Sands and machines well; the toughness means it cuts rather than chips | 1 source
|
| Gluing & solvent welding | Cyanoacrylate; dichloromethane solvent-welds PC but is a laboratory reagent | 1 source
|
| Vapour / chemical smoothing | No practical vapour smoothing | 1 source
|
| Support material pairing | Prints its own supports; 3DXTech sells a dedicated PC break-away support | 1 source
|
| Property and unit | Published value and conditions | Sources and dates |
|---|---|---|
| Soluble in | Dichloromethane, chloroform, DMF and dioxane dissolve it outright (Covestro, 6 days at 23 °C). Laboratory reagents. | 1 source |
| Softened or crazed by | Methanol, butyl acetate, ether, 1 % NaOH and phthalate plasticisers stress-crack it; acetone, MEK and xylene swell it. | 1 source |
| Solvent welding & smoothing agent | Dichloromethane cement welds PC — 16.5 MPa lap shear at one week (IPS Weld-On 3). A controlled carcinogen. | 1 source |
Values describe representative grades, not every spool. Manufacturer datasheets and independent tests retain their source labels and dates. Printed orientation, test method, conditioning and formulation can change results. Unknown values are —. A listed use is not a certification. Shore A, Shore D and Rockwell hardness are separate scales.
Historical USD/kg snapshots. Read each listing’s sale/from qualifiers, spool mass, source date, shipping and tax notes. Product figures are separate from the material summary.
$54.99 / 1 kg spool, Polymaker product catalogue, Aug 2026
Handle polymax-pc-fr. UL 94 V-0, built on Covestro's Makrolon family.
Open product listing ↗| Density (g/cm³) | 1.2 (ISO 1183) |
|
|---|---|---|
| Nozzle temperature (°C) | 250–270 |
|
| Bed temperature (°C) | 90–105 |
|
| Equilibrium moisture content at ~50 % RH (%) | 0.22 equilibrium water absorption |
|
| Tensile strength (XY) (MPa) | 67 ± 4.5 (printed XY, ISO 527) |
|
| Young's modulus (MPa) | 2634 ± 182 (printed XY, ISO 527); Z 2743 |
|
| Elongation at break (%) | 3.49 ± 0.7 (printed XY, ISO 527); Z 2.2 |
|
| Flexural strength (MPa) | 96.6 ± 1.3 (printed XY, ISO 178) |
|
| Flexural modulus (MPa) | 2518 ± 53 (printed XY, ISO 178) |
|
| Charpy impact, notched (kJ/m²) | 11.7 ± 1.6 (printed XY, ISO 179, notched) |
|
| Other impact data | Charpy notched 7.5 kJ/m² at -30 °C (printed XY, ISO 179-1/1eA) |
|
| Layer adhesion / Z tensile (MPa) | 46 ± 4.8 (printed Z, ISO 527) |
|
| Z strength as % of XY (%) | 69 (printed Z 46 vs XY 67, ISO 527) |
|
| HDT at 0.45 MPa (°C) | 110 (ISO 75, 0.45 MPa) |
|
| HDT at 1.8 MPa (°C) | 107 (ISO 75, 1.8 MPa) |
|
| Glass transition (Tg) (°C) | 115 (DSC) |
|
| Melting point / Vicat (°C) | Vicat 116 (ISO 306) |
|
| Flammability / UL 94 | UL 94 V-0 |
|
$54.99 / 1 kg spool, us.store.bambulab.com, Aug 2026
Saturated water absorption 0.12 %, half that of unfilled Bambu Lab PC.
Open product listing ↗| Density (g/cm³) | 1.18 (ISO 1183) |
|
|---|---|---|
| Diameter tolerance (± mm) | ±0.03 |
|
| Equilibrium moisture content at ~50 % RH (%) | 0.12 saturated at 25 °C / 55 % RH |
|
| Tensile strength (XY) (MPa) | 60 ± 4 (printed XY, ISO 527) |
|
$90.00 / 750 g spool = $120.00/kg, 3dxtech.com product catalogue, Aug 2026
Handle firewire-r-fr-pc-abs. UL 94 V-0 at 1.5 mm on the base resin.
Open product listing ↗| Density (g/cm³) | 1.24 (ISO 1183) |
|
|---|---|---|
| Nozzle temperature (°C) | 275 (TDS printed-specimen condition) |
|
| Bed temperature (°C) | 120 (TDS printed-specimen condition) |
|
| Tensile strength (XY) (MPa) | 60 at break (printed XY, ISO 527) |
|
| Young's modulus (MPa) | 2250 (printed XY, ISO 527) |
|
| Elongation at break (%) | 10 at break (printed XY, ISO 527) |
|
| Flexural strength (MPa) | 85 (printed XY, ISO 178) |
|
| Flexural modulus (MPa) | 2300 (printed XY, ISO 178) |
|
| HDT at 0.45 MPa (°C) | 125 (ISO 75, 0.45 MPa) |
|
| Glass transition (Tg) (°C) | 137 (DSC) |
|
| Flammability / UL 94 | UL 94 V-0 at 1.5 mm (base resin) |
|
$168.00 / 750 g spool = $224.00/kg, 3dxtech.com product catalogue, Aug 2026
Handle 3dxlabs™-fr-pc. A straight flame-retardant PC rather than a PC/ABS alloy.
Open product listing ↗| Density (g/cm³) | 1.2 (ISO 1183) |
|
|---|---|---|
| Spool sizes & diameters | 750 g reel; 1.75 mm |
|
| Nozzle temperature (°C) | 280 (Bambu H2D specimen conditions) |
|
| Bed temperature (°C) | 120 (Bambu H2D specimen conditions) |
|
| Enclosure / chamber requirement (1–5) | Actively heated chamber required — 90 °C or above recommended, 65 °C with a 120 °C bed |
|
| Recommended chamber temperature (°C) | 90 or above; 65 or above with a 120 °C bed |
|
| Tensile strength (XY) (MPa) | 62 (ISO 527, 5 mm/min; specimen type not stated) |
|
| Young's modulus (MPa) | 2400 (ISO 527, 5 mm/min; specimen type not stated) |
|
| Other impact data | Notched Izod 45 kJ/m² at 23 °C and 19 kJ/m² at −30 °C (ISO 180/A) |
|
| HDT at 1.8 MPa (°C) | 101 (ISO 75, 1.80 MPa) |
|
| Melting point / Vicat (°C) | Vicat 118 (ISO 306, 50 N, 50 °C/h) |
|
| Flammability / UL 94 | UL 94 V-0 at 1.5 mm; IEC 60112 CTI 600 V |
|
| Electrical & ESD properties | Surface resistivity 10^18 Ω (IEC 62631-3-2); electrical strength 36 kV/mm at 1 mm (IEC 60243-1) |
|