Printer comparison
UltiMaker S8 vs Voron 0.2
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
| Property | UltiMaker S8INDUSTRIAL | Voron 0.2COREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | UltiMaker | Voron Design |
| Class | INDUSTRIAL | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | UltiMaker S8 3D Printer[1][2] | Voron 0.2, current revision R1. Sold under kit vendors' names: "Voron V0.2-S1 (R1) 3D Printer Kit by LDO & HoneyBadger", "Voron 0.2 R1 Latest Version CoreXY 3D Printer Kit" (Formbot)[3][4] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Launched March 2025; the technical-specification and pricing announcement is dated 14 March 2025[2] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | Starting at $8,999 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The launch announcement quoted approximately $9,000[1][2] | There is no single price: Voron is an open design and kits come from several vendors. Formbot's kit is $328.06 (was $349.00, 6% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026. The LDO & HoneyBadger V0.2-S1 kit is $639.99 but sold out. Neither figure includes printed parts unless the option is selected[3][4] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Sold as printer-only or as a Pro Bundle. The bundle is not a trim level but a different machine footprint and weight: 495 x 500 x 1210.5 mm and 47.7 kg with the 6-spool Material Station, versus 495 x 585 x 800.5 mm and 30 kg for the printer alone. Print cores AA+ 0.40 x2 are included; BB, CC+ and DD 0.40 are separate purchases[1][2] | Two things get conflated. First, revision: R1 is the current one, adding a filament-runout sensor, MR85 bearings and fastener changes. Second, kit vendor: the LDO/HoneyBadger S1 kit ships an SKR Pico, E3D Revo, HoneyBadger dual-sided PEI/CF bed and 200 W supply, while the Formbot kit ships a TZ V6 or Dragon hotend and a 150 W supply, so hotend and PSU specs are vendor-specific, not model-specific. Printed parts are an extra on both[3][4] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[1][2] | 120 x 120 x 120 mm[3][4] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 495 x 585 x 800.5 mm printer only; 495 x 500 x 1210.5 mm as the Pro Bundle[1][2] | Not documented |
| Net weight (kg) | 30 kg printer only; 47.7 kg as the Pro Bundle[1][2] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | Fully assembled, made in Europe[1] | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame with acrylic panels (LDO kit); the LDO/HoneyBadger build uses a 100 mm top hat. X axis on a genuine HIWIN rail, Y and Z on HoneyBadger stainless rails[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Enclosed, with an Air Manager UltiMaker says removes up to 95% of ultrafine particles[1][2] | Enclosed by acrylic panels in the LDO kit[3] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Build-volume temperature under 50 °C with open-loop control (manufacturer figure)[1][2] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Dual-extrusion print head with auto nozzle-lifting, flood detection and inductive probing. UltiMaker's Cheetah motion planner uses third-order continuous motion with corner blending[1][2] | CoreXY with the build plate moving in Z[3][4] |
| X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size) | Not documented | Genuine HIWIN linear rail on X in the LDO kit[3] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | Up to 500 mm/s in XY (manufacturer claim)[1][2] | 250 mm/s max print speed, 300 mm/s max travel (Formbot kit listing). This is a kit-vendor figure, not a Voron Design specification[4] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | Up to 50,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[1][2] | Not documented |
| Jerk / square-corner-velocity setting (exact value) | Jerk up to 100,000,000 mm/s3 (manufacturer claim)[1][2] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Up to 35 mm3/s extrusion flow (manufacturer claim)[1][2] | Not documented |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Dual gripper feeder with tension adjustment, release function and filament feed-rate control[1][2] | Direct drive in a Mini Stealthburner toolhead with a picobilical board and umbilical cable (LDO kit)[3] |
| Filament diameter | 2.85 mm[1][2] | Not documented |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Swappable print cores; AA+ 0.40 x2 included, BB 0.40 / CC+ 0.40 / DD 0.40 sold separately[1][2] | Kit-dependent: E3D Revo (Voron edition) in the LDO kit; TZ V6, Dragon standard-flow or Dragon high-flow in the Formbot kit[3][4] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | Up to 340 °C (manufacturer claim)[1][2] | 300 °C on the Formbot kit listing. The LDO kit's E3D Revo has its own limit, not stated on the listing[4] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Up to 120 °C on a flexible PEI plate (manufacturer claim)[1][2] | 110 °C (Formbot kit listing)[4] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Flexible PEI plate[1][2] | HoneyBadger dual-sided P-series plate in the LDO kit: smooth black PEI on one face, carbon fibre on the other, on a Kirigami mount with an edge-to-edge polyimide film heater[3] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Inductive probing, integrated into the print head[1][2] | Not documented |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibility | Dual spool holder with NFC recognition on the printer; the Pro Bundle substitutes a 6-spool Material Station with NFC and a dual-geared abrasion-resistant feeder[1][2] | Not documented |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | Air Manager, which UltiMaker says removes up to 95% of ultrafine particles[1][2] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | Not documented | Kit-dependent. LDO kit: SKR Pico (LDO Edition) with a Raspberry Pi 4B as host[3] |
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | Not documented | 200 W (LDO kit) or 150 W (Formbot kit)[3][4] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura 5.10 or newer, fleet management via UltiMaker Digital Factory[1][2] | Klipper[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi 2.4 and 5 GHz (802.11a/b/g/n/ac), Gigabit Ethernet, USB 2.0[1][2] | Not documented |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Full HD HDR camera[1][2] | Not documented |
| Calibration Routines & QoL | ||
| Assembly level & time from unbox to first print | Not documented | Self-assembly kit. Printed parts are not included in the LDO kit (sourced separately, e.g. through Voron's Print It Forward); the Formbot kit offers them as an option[3][4] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | UltiMaker cites 301+ compatible materials including its own PLA, PETG, ABS, CPE, CPE+, PC, TPU and PET-CF, plus third-party grades[1] | Not documented |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[1][2] | Not documented |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | 12 months, extendable to 5 years with an UltiMakerCare plan[1][2] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Dimensional accuracy +/-0.15 mm +/-0.15% of feature nominal length (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[1][2] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- New UltiMaker S8 high-speed 3D printer: technical specifications and pricing 3dprintingindustry.com · 2026-08 · review
- Voron V0.2-S1 (R1) kit by LDO & HoneyBadger fabreeko.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Voron 0.2 R1 CoreXY kit (Formbot) formbot3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor