Printer comparison
UltiMaker S5 vs Voron 2.4
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
| Property | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL | Voron 2.4COREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | UltiMaker | Voron Design |
| Class | INDUSTRIAL | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[1] | Voron 2.4, current revision R2, kits shipping as Rev D and Rev D+. Sold as "Voron 2.4 R2 (Rev D+) 3D Printer Kit by LDO"[2][3] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[1] | $1,399.99 for the LDO Rev D+ kit at Fabreeko (300 mm and 350 mm are the same price), on pre-order with a mid-September estimate, checked Aug 2026. Fabreeko's live feed shows the base 2.4 kit listing at $1,299.99 and available. 3DJake lists an LDO 350 RevD kit but will not ship to the US[2][4][5] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[1][6][7] | Sizes 250, 300 and 350 mm; LDO ships Rev D and Rev D+. Colours black, space grey, blue. Do not confuse with the Trident: the 2.4 lifts the whole gantry on four belted Z motors, the Trident lifts the bed on three screws. The Rev D+ kit includes a Raspberry Pi 4B; the older 3DJake-listed RevD kit explicitly does not include a Pi[2][3][5][8] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[1][6][7] | Not documented |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[1] | 300 x 300 x 300 mm or 350 x 350 x 350 mm. Sortable value is the 350 mm kit[2][3][5] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[1] | Not documented |
| Net weight (kg) | 20.6 kg[1] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | Fully assembled professional chassis[1] | Blind-joint aluminium-extrusion frame with a complete panel set; stainless-steel linear rails throughout[3][5] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Not documented | Enclosed by the supplied panel set. A Nevermore Micro V5 internal circulation filter is included in the LDO kit[5] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[1] | CoreXY on linear rails, with a belted flying gantry on four Z motors[3][2] |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | Not documented | LDO Leviathan board: 5 x TMC2209 plus 2 x TMC5160 HV-capable drivers, ready for 48 V upgrades[2] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[1] | Clockwork 2 with a Bondtech BMG / Integrated Drive Gear Assembly, in a Stealthburner toolhead[2][3][5] |
| Filament diameter | 2.85 mm[1] | Not documented |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Not documented | E3D Revo Voron (24 V), all-metal, high-flow variant in the Rev D+ kit, with a 60 W heater; upgradeable to a Phaetus Rapido HF for $9.99[2][3][5] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[1] | Not documented |
| Heater cartridge power (W) | Not documented | 60 W (E3D Revo High Flow heater)[2] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[1] | Not documented |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Heated glass build plate[1] | Cast 5083 aluminium plate with a magnetic base and a powder-coated PEI sheet; LDO silicone bed heater with edge-to-edge heating[3][2][5] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[1] | Omron inductive probe supplied; Klicky-mod parts included. Voron Tap is available as an add-on rather than standard[2][3] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | Not documented | LDO x Voron Leviathan mainboard (replacing the earlier BTT Octopus), plus a Nitehawk SB USB toolhead PCB[3][2][5] |
| Total rated power draw | 500 W maximum power output[1] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[1] | Klipper, hosted on a Raspberry Pi 4B (included in the Fabreeko Rev D+ kit, not in the older 3DJake RevD kit)[2][3][5] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[1] | 4.3-inch touchscreen included in the LDO kit[5] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[1] | Not documented |
| LED chamber/toolhead lighting | Not documented | COB LED strips included[2][5] |
| Calibration Routines & QoL | ||
| Assembly level & time from unbox to first print | Not documented | Self-assembly kit; some parts must be printed by the user, and the LDO kit supplies pre-cut, pre-crimped cables and a heat-set insert soldering tip[5] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[1] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[1] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Voron 2.4 R2 (Rev D+) kit by LDO fabreeko.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- LDO Voron 2.4 R2 (Rev D) kit listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Fabreeko Voron collection product feed (live prices) fabreeko.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- LDO Motors Voron 2.4 350 RevD kit contents 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Voron Trident R2 kit by LDO fabreeko.com · 2026-08 · vendor