3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

UltiMaker S5 vs Voron 0.2

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

UltiMaker S5 vs Voron 0.2 — documented properties and sources
PropertyUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIALVoron 0.2COREXY
Identity
BrandUltiMakerVoron Design
ClassINDUSTRIALCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[1]Voron 0.2, current revision R1. Sold under kit vendors' names: "Voron V0.2-S1 (R1) 3D Printer Kit by LDO & HoneyBadger", "Voron 0.2 R1 Latest Version CoreXY 3D Printer Kit" (Formbot)[2][3]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[1]There is no single price: Voron is an open design and kits come from several vendors. Formbot's kit is $328.06 (was $349.00, 6% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026. The LDO & HoneyBadger V0.2-S1 kit is $639.99 but sold out. Neither figure includes printed parts unless the option is selected[2][3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[1][4][5]Two things get conflated. First, revision: R1 is the current one, adding a filament-runout sensor, MR85 bearings and fastener changes. Second, kit vendor: the LDO/HoneyBadger S1 kit ships an SKR Pico, E3D Revo, HoneyBadger dual-sided PEI/CF bed and 200 W supply, while the Formbot kit ships a TZ V6 or Dragon hotend and a 150 W supply, so hotend and PSU specs are vendor-specific, not model-specific. Printed parts are an extra on both[2][3]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[1][4][5]Not documented
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable330 x 240 x 300 mm[1]120 x 120 x 120 mm[2][3]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[1]Not documented
Net weight (kg)20.6 kg[1]Not documented
Frame construction & materialFully assembled professional chassis[1]Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame with acrylic panels (LDO kit); the LDO/HoneyBadger build uses a 100 mm top hat. X axis on a genuine HIWIN rail, Y and Z on HoneyBadger stainless rails[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidNot documentedEnclosed by acrylic panels in the LDO kit[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[1]CoreXY with the build plate moving in Z[2][3]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)Not documentedGenuine HIWIN linear rail on X in the LDO kit[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)Not documented250 mm/s max print speed, 300 mm/s max travel (Formbot kit listing). This is a kit-vendor figure, not a Voron Design specification[3]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[1]Direct drive in a Mini Stealthburner toolhead with a picobilical board and umbilical cable (LDO kit)[2]
Filament diameter2.85 mm[1]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Not documentedKit-dependent: E3D Revo (Voron edition) in the LDO kit; TZ V6, Dragon standard-flow or Dragon high-flow in the Formbot kit[2][3]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[1]300 °C on the Formbot kit listing. The LDO kit's E3D Revo has its own limit, not stated on the listing[3]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[1]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitHeated glass bed, 20-140 °C[1]110 °C (Formbot kit listing)[3]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedHeated glass build plate[1]HoneyBadger dual-sided P-series plate in the LDO kit: smooth black PEI on one face, carbon fibre on the other, on a Kirigami mount with an edge-to-edge polyimide film heater[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Not documentedKit-dependent. LDO kit: SKR Pico (LDO Edition) with a Raspberry Pi 4B as host[2]
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)Not documented200 W (LDO kit) or 150 W (Formbot kit)[2][3]
Total rated power draw500 W maximum power output[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[1]Klipper[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.7-inch colour touchscreen[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[1]Not documented
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printNot documentedSelf-assembly kit. Printed parts are not included in the LDO kit (sourced separately, e.g. through Voron's Print It Forward); the Formbot kit offers them as an option[2][3]
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[1]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Voron V0.2-S1 (R1) kit by LDO & HoneyBadger fabreeko.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Voron 0.2 R1 CoreXY kit (Formbot) formbot3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor