3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Sovol SV08 vs Voron 0.2

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Sovol SV08 vs Voron 0.2 — documented properties and sources
PropertySovol SV08COREXYVoron 0.2COREXY
Identity
BrandSovolVoron Design
ClassCOREXYCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Sovol SV08 3D Printer[1][2]Voron 0.2, current revision R1. Sold under kit vendors' names: "Voron V0.2-S1 (R1) 3D Printer Kit by LDO & HoneyBadger", "Voron 0.2 R1 Latest Version CoreXY 3D Printer Kit" (Formbot)[3][4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$549.00 on sovol3d.com against a $599.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026 (Canada warehouse quoted as shipping end of September)[1][2]There is no single price: Voron is an open design and kits come from several vendors. Formbot's kit is $328.06 (was $349.00, 6% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026. The LDO & HoneyBadger V0.2-S1 kit is $639.99 but sold out. Neither figure includes printed parts unless the option is selected[3][4]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Sibling SV08 Max is a much larger 500x500x500 machine at $1,099 with a 50 mm3/s flow rate, TMC5160 XY drivers and CAN bus; the SV08 is 30 mm3/s with TMC2209s. Do not carry SV08 Max figures onto the SV08. An eddy-current scanning kit and a 5-inch touchscreen are sold as separate upgrades[2][5][6][1]Two things get conflated. First, revision: R1 is the current one, adding a filament-runout sensor, MR85 bearings and fastener changes. Second, kit vendor: the LDO/HoneyBadger S1 kit ships an SKR Pico, E3D Revo, HoneyBadger dual-sided PEI/CF bed and 200 W supply, while the Formbot kit ships a TZ V6 or Dragon hotend and a 150 W supply, so hotend and PSU specs are vendor-specific, not model-specific. Printed parts are an extra on both[3][4]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable350 x 350 x 345 mm advertised[1][6]120 x 120 x 120 mm[3][4]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)550 x 537 x 575 mm. Sovol's page says this includes screen and filament holder; 3DJake says it excludes the spool holder[1][6]Not documented
Net weight (kg)21.5 kg gross (3DJake). Sovol does not publish a net weight[6]Not documented
Frame construction & materialAluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame; Sovol states the design is inspired by the Voron 2.4 and that software, firmware and hardware are open source with design files on GitHub, with $2 per unit donated to the Voron project[1]Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame with acrylic panels (LDO kit); the LDO/HoneyBadger build uses a 100 mm top hat. X axis on a genuine HIWIN rail, Y and Z on HoneyBadger stainless rails[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame as shipped; Sovol sells an enclosure kit separately (an enclosure-kit package is listed for the SV08 Max)[1][5]Enclosed by acrylic panels in the LDO kit[3]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY[1]CoreXY with the build plate moving in Z[3][4]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)Not documentedGenuine HIWIN linear rail on X in the LDO kit[3]
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)TMC2209[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][6]250 mm/s max print speed, 300 mm/s max travel (Formbot kit listing). This is a kit-vendor figure, not a Voron Design specification[4]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][6]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)<=30 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[1][6]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design namePlanetary-gear direct-drive extruder[1][6]Direct drive in a Mini Stealthburner toolhead with a picobilical board and umbilical cable (LDO kit)[3]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Not documentedKit-dependent: E3D Revo (Voron edition) in the LDO kit; TZ V6, Dragon standard-flow or Dragon high-flow in the Formbot kit[3][4]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)<=300 °C claimed[1][6]300 °C on the Formbot kit listing. The LDO kit's E3D Revo has its own limit, not stated on the listing[4]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box0.4 mm included; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[1]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit<=100 °C claimed[1][6]110 °C (Formbot kit listing)[4]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedPowder-coated PEI steel plate[1][6]HoneyBadger dual-sided P-series plate in the LDO kit: smooth black PEI on one face, carbon fibre on the other, on a Kirigami mount with an edge-to-edge polyimide film heater[3]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Inductive sensor plus a pressure (load) sensor. An eddy-current scanning kit is sold as an upgrade[1][6][2]Not documented
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament sensor fitted, with filament-runout resume; type and location not published[1][6]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Not documentedKit-dependent. LDO kit: SKR Pico (LDO Edition) with a Raspberry Pi 4B as host[3]
Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded LinuxAllwinner H616 quad-core Cortex-A53, 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[1][6]Not documented
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)Conflicting: Sovol's spec table says 150 W / 24 V, while 3DJake's table gives a rated power of 1000 W at both 110 V and 220 V. The two are only reconcilable if the bed is mains-heated separately from the 24 V logic supply, which Sovol does not state[1][6]200 W (LDO kit) or 150 W (Formbot kit)[3][4]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Klipper. Sovol publishes the design files on GitHub and describes software, firmware and hardware as fully open source[1][6]Klipper[3]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveEthernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 explicitly not supported)[1][6]Not documented
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Camera listed as fitted by Sovol; 3DJake lists a camera as an accessory. Resolution not published[1][6]Not documented
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printNot documentedSelf-assembly kit. Printed parts are not included in the LDO kit (sourced separately, e.g. through Voron's Print It Forward); the Formbot kit offers them as an option[3][4]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS and others[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Voron V0.2-S1 (R1) kit by LDO & HoneyBadger fabreeko.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Voron 0.2 R1 CoreXY kit (Formbot) formbot3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Sovol SV08 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor