Printer comparison
Sovol SV08 vs UltiMaker S8
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Sovol SV08 comparisonsMore UltiMaker S8 comparisons
| Property | Sovol SV08COREXY | UltiMaker S8INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Sovol | UltiMaker |
| Class | COREXY | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Sovol SV08 3D Printer[1][2] | UltiMaker S8 3D Printer[3][4] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not documented | Launched March 2025; the technical-specification and pricing announcement is dated 14 March 2025[4] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $549.00 on sovol3d.com against a $599.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026 (Canada warehouse quoted as shipping end of September)[1][2] | Starting at $8,999 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The launch announcement quoted approximately $9,000[3][4] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Sibling SV08 Max is a much larger 500x500x500 machine at $1,099 with a 50 mm3/s flow rate, TMC5160 XY drivers and CAN bus; the SV08 is 30 mm3/s with TMC2209s. Do not carry SV08 Max figures onto the SV08. An eddy-current scanning kit and a 5-inch touchscreen are sold as separate upgrades[2][5][6][1] | Sold as printer-only or as a Pro Bundle. The bundle is not a trim level but a different machine footprint and weight: 495 x 500 x 1210.5 mm and 47.7 kg with the 6-spool Material Station, versus 495 x 585 x 800.5 mm and 30 kg for the printer alone. Print cores AA+ 0.40 x2 are included; BB, CC+ and DD 0.40 are separate purchases[3][4] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 350 x 350 x 345 mm advertised[1][6] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3][4] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 550 x 537 x 575 mm. Sovol's page says this includes screen and filament holder; 3DJake says it excludes the spool holder[1][6] | 495 x 585 x 800.5 mm printer only; 495 x 500 x 1210.5 mm as the Pro Bundle[3][4] |
| Net weight (kg) | 21.5 kg gross (3DJake). Sovol does not publish a net weight[6] | 30 kg printer only; 47.7 kg as the Pro Bundle[3][4] |
| Frame construction & material | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame; Sovol states the design is inspired by the Voron 2.4 and that software, firmware and hardware are open source with design files on GitHub, with $2 per unit donated to the Voron project[1] | Fully assembled, made in Europe[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame as shipped; Sovol sells an enclosure kit separately (an enclosure-kit package is listed for the SV08 Max)[1][5] | Enclosed, with an Air Manager UltiMaker says removes up to 95% of ultrafine particles[3][4] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Not documented | Build-volume temperature under 50 °C with open-loop control (manufacturer figure)[3][4] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[1] | Dual-extrusion print head with auto nozzle-lifting, flood detection and inductive probing. UltiMaker's Cheetah motion planner uses third-order continuous motion with corner blending[3][4] |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | TMC2209[1] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][6] | Up to 500 mm/s in XY (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][6] | Up to 50,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Jerk / square-corner-velocity setting (exact value) | Not documented | Jerk up to 100,000,000 mm/s3 (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | <=30 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[1][6] | Up to 35 mm3/s extrusion flow (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Planetary-gear direct-drive extruder[1][6] | Dual gripper feeder with tension adjustment, release function and filament feed-rate control[3][4] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3][4] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Not documented | Swappable print cores; AA+ 0.40 x2 included, BB 0.40 / CC+ 0.40 / DD 0.40 sold separately[3][4] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | <=300 °C claimed[1][6] | Up to 340 °C (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 0.4 mm included; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | <=100 °C claimed[1][6] | Up to 120 °C on a flexible PEI plate (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Powder-coated PEI steel plate[1][6] | Flexible PEI plate[3][4] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Inductive sensor plus a pressure (load) sensor. An eddy-current scanning kit is sold as an upgrade[1][6][2] | Inductive probing, integrated into the print head[3][4] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament sensor fitted, with filament-runout resume; type and location not published[1][6] | Not documented |
| Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibility | Not documented | Dual spool holder with NFC recognition on the printer; the Pro Bundle substitutes a 6-spool Material Station with NFC and a dual-geared abrasion-resistant feeder[3][4] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | Not documented | Air Manager, which UltiMaker says removes up to 95% of ultrafine particles[3][4] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Allwinner H616 quad-core Cortex-A53, 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[1][6] | Not documented |
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | Conflicting: Sovol's spec table says 150 W / 24 V, while 3DJake's table gives a rated power of 1000 W at both 110 V and 220 V. The two are only reconcilable if the bed is mains-heated separately from the 24 V logic supply, which Sovol does not state[1][6] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Klipper. Sovol publishes the design files on GitHub and describes software, firmware and hardware as fully open source[1][6] | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura 5.10 or newer, fleet management via UltiMaker Digital Factory[3][4] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 explicitly not supported)[1][6] | Wi-Fi 2.4 and 5 GHz (802.11a/b/g/n/ac), Gigabit Ethernet, USB 2.0[3][4] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Camera listed as fitted by Sovol; 3DJake lists a camera as an accessory. Resolution not published[1][6] | Full HD HDR camera[3][4] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS and others[1] | UltiMaker cites 301+ compatible materials including its own PLA, PETG, ABS, CPE, CPE+, PC, TPU and PET-CF, plus third-party grades[3] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3][4] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | Not documented | 12 months, extendable to 5 years with an UltiMakerCare plan[3][4] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | Dimensional accuracy +/-0.15 mm +/-0.15% of feature nominal length (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3][4] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- New UltiMaker S8 high-speed 3D printer: technical specifications and pricing 3dprintingindustry.com · 2026-08 · review
- Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor