3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Sovol SV07 Plus vs UltiMaker S8

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Sovol SV07 Plus vs UltiMaker S8 — documented properties and sources
PropertySovol SV07 PlusBEDSLINGERUltiMaker S8INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandSovolUltiMaker
ClassBEDSLINGERINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Sovol SV07 Plus[1][2]UltiMaker S8 3D Printer[3][4]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Not documentedLaunched March 2025; the technical-specification and pricing announcement is dated 14 March 2025[4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$199 at 3D Printers Online Store, reduced from $379, but Out of Stock, checked Aug 2026. Sovol's own comparison quotes $259 sale / $309-379 regular[1][2]Starting at $8,999 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The launch announcement quoted approximately $9,000[3][4]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Large-format version of the SV07. Distinguishers: 300x300x350 mm vs 220x220x250, 600 W MeanWell vs 350 W, 25-point levelling, and USB Type-C added. Both are quoted at 500 mm/s and 300 °C. Note Sovol's own comparison table gives 300x300x350 while some listings write 300x300x340[2][1]Sold as printer-only or as a Pro Bundle. The bundle is not a trim level but a different machine footprint and weight: 495 x 500 x 1210.5 mm and 47.7 kg with the 6-spool Material Station, versus 495 x 585 x 800.5 mm and 30 kg for the printer alone. Print cores AA+ 0.40 x2 are included; BB, CC+ and DD 0.40 are separate purchases[3][4]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Delisted by Sovol; not present in the current 3D-printer collection[5]Not documented
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable300 x 300 x 350 mm advertised[1][2]330 x 240 x 300 mm[3][4]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)632 x 532 x 735 mm[1]495 x 585 x 800.5 mm printer only; 495 x 500 x 1210.5 mm as the Pro Bundle[3][4]
Net weight (kg)14 kg[1]30 kg printer only; 47.7 kg as the Pro Bundle[3][4]
Frame construction & materialOpen frame, assembly kit[2]Fully assembled, made in Europe[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[2]Enclosed, with an Air Manager UltiMaker says removes up to 95% of ultrafine particles[3][4]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Not documentedBuild-volume temperature under 50 °C with open-loop control (manufacturer figure)[3][4]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Cartesian i3 bedslinger[2]Dual-extrusion print head with auto nozzle-lifting, flood detection and inductive probing. UltiMaker's Cheetah motion planner uses third-order continuous motion with corner blending[3][4]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)Up to 500 mm/s (manufacturer claim); the retailer listing gives a 250-500 mm/s working range[2][1]Up to 500 mm/s in XY (manufacturer claim)[3][4]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)Not documentedUp to 50,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[3][4]
Jerk / square-corner-velocity setting (exact value)Not documentedJerk up to 100,000,000 mm/s3 (manufacturer claim)[3][4]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedUp to 35 mm3/s extrusion flow (manufacturer claim)[3][4]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDual-gear direct drive with planetary gearbox[2]Dual gripper feeder with tension adjustment, release function and filament feed-rate control[3][4]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[3][4]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)All-metal hotend to 300 °C, 0.4 mm nozzle[2][1]Swappable print cores; AA+ 0.40 x2 included, BB 0.40 / CC+ 0.40 / DD 0.40 sold separately[3][4]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)<=300 °C claimed[2][1]Up to 340 °C (manufacturer claim)[3][4]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit<=100 °C claimed[1]Up to 120 °C on a flexible PEI plate (manufacturer claim)[3][4]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedFlexible PEI plate[3][4]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)25-point automatic levelling; probe technology not stated[2]Inductive probing, integrated into the print head[3][4]
Mesh grid size (probe point count — firmware evidence)25 points (manufacturer claim)[2]Not documented
Filament Handling & Detection
Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibilityNot documentedDual spool holder with NFC recognition on the printer; the Pro Bundle substitutes a 6-spool Material Station with NFC and a dual-geared abrasion-resistant feeder[3][4]
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designEnhanced triple cooling (Sovol's wording; no fan detail published)[2]Not documented
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Not documentedAir Manager, which UltiMaker says removes up to 95% of ultrafine particles[3][4]
Electronics & Power
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)600 W MeanWell, 24 V, 115/230 V AC input[2][1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Klipper[2]Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura 5.10 or newer, fleet management via UltiMaker Digital Factory[3][4]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch touchscreen[2]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi, USB and USB Type-C[2][1]Wi-Fi 2.4 and 5 GHz (802.11a/b/g/n/ac), Gigabit Ethernet, USB 2.0[3][4]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Not documentedFull HD HDR camera[3][4]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, PETG, TPU, ABS, wood-filled; Sovol also lists carbon fibre[1][2]UltiMaker cites 301+ compatible materials including its own PLA, PETG, ABS, CPE, CPE+, PC, TPU and PET-CF, plus third-party grades[3]
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedUnder 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3][4]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)Not documented12 months, extendable to 5 years with an UltiMakerCare plan[3][4]
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedDimensional accuracy +/-0.15 mm +/-0.15% of feature nominal length (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3][4]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Sovol SV07 Plus Large Klipper 3D Printer listing 3dprintersonlinestore.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. SV07 vs SV07 Plus comparison (Sovol blog) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. New UltiMaker S8 high-speed 3D printer: technical specifications and pricing 3dprintingindustry.com · 2026-08 · review
  5. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor