3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Sovol SV07 Plus vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Sovol SV07 Plus vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertySovol SV07 PlusBEDSLINGERUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandSovolUltiMaker
ClassBEDSLINGERINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Sovol SV07 Plus[1][2]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[3]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$199 at 3D Printers Online Store, reduced from $379, but Out of Stock, checked Aug 2026. Sovol's own comparison quotes $259 sale / $309-379 regular[1][2]Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Large-format version of the SV07. Distinguishers: 300x300x350 mm vs 220x220x250, 600 W MeanWell vs 350 W, 25-point levelling, and USB Type-C added. Both are quoted at 500 mm/s and 300 °C. Note Sovol's own comparison table gives 300x300x350 while some listings write 300x300x340[2][1]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[3][4][5]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Delisted by Sovol; not present in the current 3D-printer collection[6]Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[3][4][5]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable300 x 300 x 350 mm advertised[1][2]330 x 240 x 300 mm[3]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)632 x 532 x 735 mm[1]495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[3]
Net weight (kg)14 kg[1]20.6 kg[3]
Frame construction & materialOpen frame, assembly kit[2]Fully assembled professional chassis[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[2]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Cartesian i3 bedslinger[2]Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[3]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)Up to 500 mm/s (manufacturer claim); the retailer listing gives a 250-500 mm/s working range[2][1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[3]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDual-gear direct drive with planetary gearbox[2]Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[3]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[3]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)All-metal hotend to 300 °C, 0.4 mm nozzle[2][1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)<=300 °C claimed[2][1]180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[3]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[3]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit<=100 °C claimed[1]Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[3]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedHeated glass build plate[3]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)25-point automatic levelling; probe technology not stated[2]Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[3]
Mesh grid size (probe point count — firmware evidence)25 points (manufacturer claim)[2]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designEnhanced triple cooling (Sovol's wording; no fan detail published)[2]Not documented
Electronics & Power
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)600 W MeanWell, 24 V, 115/230 V AC input[2][1]Not documented
Total rated power drawNot documented500 W maximum power output[3]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Klipper[2]Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[3]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch touchscreen[2]4.7-inch colour touchscreen[3]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi, USB and USB Type-C[2][1]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[3]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, PETG, TPU, ABS, wood-filled; Sovol also lists carbon fibre[1][2]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedUnder 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3]
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedXYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Sovol SV07 Plus Large Klipper 3D Printer listing 3dprintersonlinestore.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. SV07 vs SV07 Plus comparison (Sovol blog) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor