Printer comparison
Sovol SV06 vs Sovol SV08
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
| Property | Sovol SV06BEDSLINGER | Sovol SV08COREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Sovol | Sovol |
| Class | BEDSLINGER | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Sovol SV06[1] | Sovol SV08 3D Printer[2][3] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | Not documented | $549.00 on sovol3d.com against a $599.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026 (Canada warehouse quoted as shipping end of September)[2][3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Base model of a four-way family: SV06 (220x220x250, Marlin-era silent board), SV06 Plus (300x300x340), SV06 ACE and SV06 Plus ACE (both Klipper, ceramic hotend, camera, 4.3-inch touchscreen). ACE specs must not be applied to the non-ACE machines[1][4][5] | Sibling SV08 Max is a much larger 500x500x500 machine at $1,099 with a 50 mm3/s flow rate, TMC5160 XY drivers and CAN bus; the SV08 is 30 mm3/s with TMC2209s. Do not carry SV08 Max figures onto the SV08. An eddy-current scanning kit and a 5-inch touchscreen are sold as separate upgrades[3][6][7][2] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | No longer listed on Sovol's own store: the current 3D-printer collection contains only SV08, SV08 Max, Zero, SV06 ACE and SV06 Plus ACE. 3DJake also shows it sold out and delisted. Superseded by the SV06 ACE[3][1] | Not documented |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 220 x 220 x 250 mm advertised[1] | 350 x 350 x 345 mm advertised[2][7] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | Not documented | 550 x 537 x 575 mm. Sovol's page says this includes screen and filament holder; 3DJake says it excludes the spool holder[2][7] |
| Net weight (kg) | Not documented | 21.5 kg gross (3DJake). Sovol does not publish a net weight[7] |
| Frame construction & material | Open i3-style frame, supplied as an assembly kit[1] | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame; Sovol states the design is inspired by the Voron 2.4 and that software, firmware and hardware are open source with design files on GitHub, with $2 per unit donated to the Voron project[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame, no enclosure[1] | Open frame as shipped; Sovol sells an enclosure kit separately (an enclosure-kit package is listed for the SV08 Max)[2][6] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Cartesian i3 bedslinger[1] | CoreXY[2] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Dual Z-axis motors[1] | Not documented |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | TMC2209 drivers on a 32-bit silent board (Sovol description, not verified against a board photo)[1] | TMC2209[2] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | Not documented | 700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][7] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | Not documented | 40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][7] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | <=30 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[2][7] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | All-metal direct-drive extruder with planetary gear reduction[1] | Planetary-gear direct-drive extruder[2][7] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | All-metal hotend rated to 300 °C. MK8-style nozzle[1] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 °C claimed[1] | <=300 °C claimed[2][7] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm included; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[2] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Not documented | <=100 °C claimed[2][7] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Flexible PEI build surface[1] | Powder-coated PEI steel plate[2][7] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling over 25 points; probe technology not stated on the listing[1] | Inductive sensor plus a pressure (load) sensor. An eddy-current scanning kit is sold as an upgrade[2][7][3] |
| Mesh grid size (probe point count — firmware evidence) | 25 points (manufacturer claim)[1] | Not documented |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Not documented | Filament sensor fitted, with filament-runout resume; type and location not published[2][7] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Not documented | Allwinner H616 quad-core Cortex-A53, 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[2][7] |
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | Not documented | Conflicting: Sovol's spec table says 150 W / 24 V, while 3DJake's table gives a rated power of 1000 W at both 110 V and 220 V. The two are only reconcilable if the bed is mains-heated separately from the 24 V logic supply, which Sovol does not state[2][7] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not documented | Klipper. Sovol publishes the design files on GitHub and describes software, firmware and hardware as fully open source[2][7] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | USB connection; micro-SD card. No Wi-Fi[1] | Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 explicitly not supported)[2][7] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Not documented | Camera listed as fitted by Sovol; 3DJake lists a camera as an accessory. Resolution not published[2][7] |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Resume-after-power-loss supported; mechanism not published[1] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | 1.75 mm filament; Sovol does not publish a per-material list for this model beyond the 300 °C hotend rating[1] | PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS and others[2] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Sovol SV06 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV06 Plus technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV06 Plus ACE 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor