3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Phrozen Sonic Mighty Revo 14K vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Phrozen Sonic Mighty Revo 14K vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyPhrozen Sonic Mighty Revo 14KRESINUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandPhrozenUltiMaker
ClassRESININDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Phrozen Sonic Mighty Revo 14K 10.1" LCD 3D Printer[1][2][3]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$680.00 on us.phrozen3d.com but unavailable — backordered, shipping when back in stock, checked Aug 2026. 3DJake also shows it sold out and delisted[3][2][1]Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[4]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)The Sonic Mighty family spans several resolutions at the same 10.1-inch size and very different prices: Mighty 4K $149, Mighty 8K $410, Mighty 12K $329, Mighty Revo 14K $680, Mighty 16K $720. A "Sonic Mighty" spec box is meaningless without the resolution suffix. Sources also disagree on this model's own numbers: Phrozen gives machine dimensions 353 x 345 x 517 mm and XY 16.8 x 24.8 um, while 3DJake gives 228 x 337 x 516 mm and XY 16.8 x 24 um. Phrozen's own figures are used here. 8 GB onboard storage[2][1][3]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[4][5][6]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedSuperseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[4][5][6]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable223 x 126 x 235 mm[1][3]330 x 240 x 300 mm[4]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)353 x 345 x 517 mm per Phrozen. 3DJake publishes 228 x 337 x 516 mm, which cannot be right for a machine with a 223 mm-wide build area[3][1]495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[4]
Net weight (kg)18 kg[3]20.6 kg[4]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedFully assembled professional chassis[4]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen-frame MSLA with a UV-blocking cover[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)MSLA, single Z axis on dual linear guide rails with a ball screw, straight-lift peel[1][3]Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[4]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashDual linear guide rails with a ball screw[1][3]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[4]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedDual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[4]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[4]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[4]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[4]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documentedHeated glass bed, 20-140 °C[4]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedHeated glass build plate[4]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling[1]Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[4]
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)AC 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz[3]Not documented
Total rated power draw240 W maximum system power[3]500 W maximum power output[4]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not named. File formats accepted are .ctb and .prz[1][3]Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[4]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch touch panel (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1][3]4.7-inch colour touchscreen[4]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB and Wi-Fi[1][3]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[4]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament list405 nm photopolymer resin; no closed compatibility list published[1]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedUnder 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[4]
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedXYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[4]
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCD10.1-inch 14K monochrome masking LCD, 13,320 x 5,120 px, XY pixel pitch 16.8 x 24.8 um per Phrozen (3DJake writes 16.8 x 24 um)[3][1]Not documented
Light sourceLinear projection LED module. Wavelength not published[3]Not documented
Layer height range0.01-0.30 mm[3]Not documented
Release filmnFEP film supplied. No rated life published[1][3]Not documented
Resin vat & feedingBuilt-in resin heater fitted; Phrozen publishes no setpoint, no vat capacity, no auto-refill and no level sensing for this model[1][3]Not documented
Fume extractionPlug-in air purifier supplied with the machine[1]Not documented
Throughputlayers/hAvg. 450 layers/h on Phrozen's own product page — the only throughput figure Phrozen publishes for this model, and it publishes no mm/h at all. 3DJake states 400 layers/h for the same machine; Phrozen's own figure is used here, as elsewhere in this entry. Manufacturer claim, not a measurement, and neither source states the layer height assumed. W4 is deliberately empty: the layer range is 0.01-0.30 mm, so any mm/h conversion would be invented rather than measured[3][1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Phrozen Sonic Mighty Revo technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Phrozen US 3D printer collection (live prices and stock) us.phrozen3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Phrozen Sonic Mighty Revo 14K 10.1" LCD 3D Printer product page us.phrozen3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor