Printer comparison
LulzBot TAZ Pro Long Bed vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore LulzBot TAZ Pro Long Bed comparisonsMore UltiMaker S5 comparisons
| Property | LulzBot TAZ Pro Long BedBEDSLINGER | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | LulzBot | UltiMaker |
| Class | BEDSLINGER | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | LulzBot TAZ Pro Long Bed 3D Printer[1] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $7,995.00 at MatterHackers, listed as currently unavailable, checked Aug 2026[1] | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Not simply a longer TAZ Pro. The Long Bed ships the Asteroid 285 tool head with a 1.2 mm nozzle, a 0.3-0.9 mm equipped layer range, an 80 °C bed cap (vs 110 °C), 150 mm/s travel (vs 300) and BLTouch 32-point mesh levelling (vs 4-point contact). Bed material also differs: blue spring-steel magnetic flex rather than glass with PEI film[1][3] | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][4][5] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][4][5] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 282 x 582 x 285 mm[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[2] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | Not documented | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2] |
| Net weight (kg) | Not documented | 20.6 kg[2] |
| Frame construction & material | Open frame; GT2 belt drive with Igus SST rods and polymer bushings[1] | Fully assembled professional chassis[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame, no enclosure[1] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Cartesian bedslinger[1] | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2] |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | Trinamic TMC2130[1] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max travel speed | 150 mm/s maximum travel speed, firmware-limited[1] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Asteroid 285 tool head[1] | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2] |
| Filament diameter | 2.85 mm standard, 1.75 mm optional[1] | 2.85 mm[2] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 290 °C maximum, firmware-limited[1] | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 1.2 mm GammaMaster steel[1] | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2] |
| Stock nozzle material (brass / hardened steel / plated copper / composite tip) | GammaMaster steel[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 80 °C maximum bed temperature — notably lower than the base TAZ Pro[1] | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2] |
| Bed heater type (DC/AC mains) & wattage | 360 W, 24 V silicone bed heater[1] | Not documented |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Blue spring-steel magnetic flex bed system[1] | Heated glass build plate[2] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | BLTouch, 32-point automatic mesh calibration[1] | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2] |
| Mesh grid size (probe point count — firmware evidence) | 32 points[1] | Not documented |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament sensor with runout and stripping detection[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | 32-bit Archim 2.2b with Trinamic TMC2130 drivers[1] | Not documented |
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | 500 W 24 V Mean Well, auto-switching, 100-240 VAC input[1] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | 500 W maximum power output[2] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Marlin[1] | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | Not documented | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | USB serial; 16 GB flash drive included for standalone printing[1] | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, TPU, ABS, PETG, PVA, PVB, nylon, PC and other materials below 290 °C[1] | Not documented |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | 1 year standard with extended options. Made in the USA[1] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Positional resolution 0.01 mm in X/Y and 0.002 mm in Z (manufacturer specification)[1] | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- LulzBot TAZ Pro Long Bed 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- LulzBot TAZ Pro product page buy.lulzbot.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor