3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra vs Sovol SV08

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra vs Sovol SV08 — documented properties and sources
PropertyFlashForge Guider 3 UltraINDUSTRIALSovol SV08COREXY
Identity
BrandFlashForgeSovol
ClassINDUSTRIALCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra; the FlashForge spec table gives the machine name as "Guider 3 Ultra"[1]Sovol SV08 3D Printer[2][3]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$2,399.00 against a $3,499.00 regular price on flashforge.com, but the listing checked is the refurbished SKU and is marked Sold out (Aug 2026)[1]$549.00 on sovol3d.com against a $599.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026 (Canada warehouse quoted as shipping end of September)[2][3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Top of the Guider 3 series. Build size depends on which head is used: 330 x 330 x 600 mm with one extruder, 300 x 330 x 600 mm with both. Siblings Guider 3 (300x250x340) and Guider 3 Plus (350x350x600) are both single-extruder. A refurbished SKU exists alongside the new machine, so check which one a price refers to[1][4][5]Sibling SV08 Max is a much larger 500x500x500 machine at $1,099 with a 50 mm3/s flow rate, TMC5160 XY drivers and CAN bus; the SV08 is 30 mm3/s with TMC2209s. Do not carry SV08 Max figures onto the SV08. An eddy-current scanning kit and a 5-inch touchscreen are sold as separate upgrades[3][6][7][2]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable330 x 330 x 600 mm with a single extruder; 300 x 330 x 600 mm when both extruders are in use[1]350 x 350 x 345 mm advertised[2][7]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)635 x 550 x 1070 mm; packaging 775 x 690 x 1235 mm[1]550 x 537 x 575 mm. Sovol's page says this includes screen and filament holder; 3DJake says it excludes the spool holder[2][7]
Net weight (kg)70 kg net, 86 kg gross[1]21.5 kg gross (3DJake). Sovol does not publish a net weight[7]
Frame construction & materialEnclosed professional chassis; FlashForge describes a lightweight, stable structure for high-speed operation[1]Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame; Sovol states the design is inspired by the Voron 2.4 and that software, firmware and hardware are open source with design files on GitHub, with $2 per unit donated to the Voron project[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidClosed design with an air filter fitted[1]Open frame as shipped; Sovol sells an enclosure kit separately (an enclosure-kit package is listed for the SV08 Max)[2][6]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY with two extruders, per a third-party buyer's guide. FlashForge's own spec table does not state the kinematics[8][1]CoreXY[2]
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not documentedTMC2209[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)10-500 mm/s printing speed, 500 mm/s maximum travel speed (manufacturer figures)[1]700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][7]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1]40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][7]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documented<=30 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[2][7]
Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping
Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary)Active vibration compensation, which FlashForge says was enhanced for this model. Implementation not named[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameTwo extruders[1]Planetary-gear direct-drive extruder[2][7]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)350 °C maximum extruder temperature (manufacturer claim)[1]<=300 °C claimed[2][7]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box0.4 mm default; 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[1]0.4 mm included; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit120 °C bed setting supported (manufacturer figure)[1]<=100 °C claimed[2][7]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedReplaceable flexible steel-plate platform, magnetic. No glass bed[1]Powder-coated PEI steel plate[2][7]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Full-auto one-click levelling; probe technology not named[1]Inductive sensor plus a pressure (load) sensor. An eddy-current scanning kit is sold as an upgrade[2][7][3]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament run-out reminder[1]Filament sensor fitted, with filament-runout resume; type and location not published[2][7]
Cooling & Air Handling
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Air filter fitted; filter media not specified in the FlashForge table[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded LinuxNot documentedAllwinner H616 quad-core Cortex-A53, 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[2][7]
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)Not documentedConflicting: Sovol's spec table says 150 W / 24 V, while 3DJake's table gives a rated power of 1000 W at both 110 V and 220 V. The two are only reconcilable if the bed is mains-heated separately from the 24 V logic supply, which Sovol does not state[2][7]
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)AC 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz[1]Not documented
Total rated power draw850 W maximum[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not named; slicers are Orca-Flashforge and FlashPrint 5, with OrcaSlicer listed as compatible[1]Klipper. Sovol publishes the design files on GitHub and describes software, firmware and hardware as fully open source[2][7]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?7-inch touch LCD[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, plus cloud[1]Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 explicitly not supported)[2][7]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Remote camera monitoring and time-lapse video supported; resolution not published[1]Camera listed as fitted by Sovol; 3DJake lists a camera as an accessory. Resolution not published[2][7]
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Power-loss recovery supported; mechanism not published. Automatic shutdown also supported[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, ABS, HIPS, ASA, PETG, CoPA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, PAHT-CF, PAHT-GF, PET-CF, PET-GF, PA12-CF, PA-CF, PA-GF, NexPA-CF25[1]PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS and others[2]
Safety
Certifications (UL/ETL/CE/FCC — verify, don't assume)CE, FCC, RoHS (as printed in FlashForge's own spec table)[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra product page (refurbished listing) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. FlashForge Guider 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. FlashForge Guider 3 Plus technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Sovol SV08 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Flashforge printer buyer's guide, 5M to Creator 5 eolasprints.com · 2026-08 · review