Printer comparison
ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga comparisonsMore UltiMaker S5 comparisons
| Property | ELEGOO OrangeStorm GigaINDUSTRIAL | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | ELEGOO | UltiMaker |
| Class | INDUSTRIAL | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga[1] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Listed on the ELEGOO US store from 17 October 2024 (Shopify publish date)[3] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $2,499.00 on us.elegoo.com, Aug 2026, against a compare-at price of $3,125.00[3] | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Sold bare and in bundles; dual-printhead and quad-printhead upgrade kits are separate products, so a Giga's nozzle count depends on which kit was bought. The four printheads sit on the same X axis and print four copies of the same model in parallel (or the same model in four colours) - this is not an IDEX or a toolchanger[1][4] | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][5][6] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][5][6] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 800 x 800 x 1000 mm; the platform is 820 x 820 mm made up of four independent 410 x 410 mm PEI plates[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[2] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 1224 x 1164 x 1425 mm; ELEGOO's maximum size for machine activity is 1224 x 1520 x 1570 mm. This is a floor-standing machine, not a desktop one[1] | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2] |
| Net weight (kg) | 104 kg net, 145 kg gross, and it ships in multiple crates (bottom + XY axis components, then two Z-axis components)[1] | 20.6 kg[2] |
| Frame construction & material | CNC-machined aluminium extrusion frame; the X and Y axes run on linear guides and the machine sits on carbon steel round bases with rubber anti-slip pads[1] | Fully assembled professional chassis[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame, no enclosure[1] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Cartesian gantry with a fixed bed - the printhead moves in X and Y on linear guides and the gantry moves in Z, so nothing about the bed moves during a print[1] | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2] |
| X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size) | Linear guide on the X axis[1] | Not documented |
| Y-axis guide type | Linear guide on the Y axis[1] | Not documented |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Four lead screws with four linear guide rods[7] | Not documented |
| Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?) | X/Y belts with knob-adjustable tensioners[1] | Not documented |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | "Silent Drive (All Axes)"; no driver part number published[7] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 30-300 mm/s, with 150 mm/s given by ELEGOO as the recommended speed - far below the 500-600 mm/s claimed for desktop machines, which is the honest consequence of moving a gantry this size[1][7] | Not documented |
| Recommended/typical print speed | 150 mm/s recommended printing speed (manufacturer figure)[7] | Not documented |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 5000 mm/s2 maximum acceleration, which is also the default - four times lower than the Centauri machines[7] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Dual-gear direct extruder with 2 fans[7] | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[2] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Brass nozzle - and note the standard diameter here is 0.6 mm, not the 0.4 mm used across the rest of the ELEGOO range[7] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1] | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 100 C max heated bed temperature at 25 C ambient, across four independent 410 x 410 mm PEI magnetic high-temperature platforms[1] | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Four independent 410 x 410 mm PEI magnetic platforms rather than one large plate[1] | Heated glass build plate[2] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Manual levelling combined with 100-point auto-levelling (the desktop ELEGOO machines use a 121-point mesh)[7][8] | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament detection and power-loss resume printing[1] | Not documented |
| Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade path | Up to three additional printheads can be added on the X axis for four-nozzle simultaneous printing - four copies of one model at once, or the same model in four colours[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | "Klipper High-Speed Quiet Motherboard" is all ELEGOO publishes[7] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | 1530 W with a single head, plus 100 W per additional head, to a stated maximum of 1830 W with four nozzles; 100-120 VAC / 220-240 VAC, 50/60 Hz[1][7] | 500 W maximum power output[2] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Klipper[7] | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 10.1-inch colour capacitive touch screen - by far the largest in the ELEGOO range[7] | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2] |
| On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.) | Colour capacitive touch UI; ElegooSlicer recommended, Orca and Cura supported[7] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, USB and LAN file transfer[1] | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | The product page lists PLA, PETG and TPU; ELEGOO's compare page adds Nylon to the same machine. Either way it is a much shorter list than the Neptune bed-slingers[1][7] | Not documented |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | 12 months on brand-new machines and parts, but ELEGOO's own table excludes a long list of parts from that: PEI plate / build plate / nozzle kit / PTFE tube / heater / thermistor / hot end / packaging / manual / tools carry no warranty at all, and the extruder, extruder kit and printhead kit get 6 months. Certified pre-owned machines carry no warranty[9] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga product page (Specification table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga Shopify product JSON (price and store publish date) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO US store 3D printers collection (current line-up, Aug 2026) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO compare-products page, which embeds the full per-model specification JSON for every Neptune, Centauri and OrangeStorm machine us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO Centauri Carbon product page (full specification table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO Refund & Warranty policy (warranty period table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor