Printer comparison
ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra vs Voron 0.2
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra comparisonsMore Voron 0.2 comparisons
| Property | ELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESIN | Voron 0.2COREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | ELEGOO | Voron Design |
| Class | RESIN | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[1][2][3] | Voron 0.2, current revision R1. Sold under kit vendors' names: "Voron V0.2-S1 (R1) 3D Printer Kit by LDO & HoneyBadger", "Voron 0.2 R1 Latest Version CoreXY 3D Printer Kit" (Formbot)[4][5] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[3][2] | There is no single price: Voron is an open design and kits come from several vendors. Formbot's kit is $328.06 (was $349.00, 6% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026. The LDO & HoneyBadger V0.2-S1 kit is $639.99 but sold out. Neither figure includes printed parts unless the option is selected[4][5] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[6][1][2][3] | Two things get conflated. First, revision: R1 is the current one, adding a filament-runout sensor, MR85 bearings and fastener changes. Second, kit vendor: the LDO/HoneyBadger S1 kit ships an SKR Pico, E3D Revo, HoneyBadger dual-sided PEI/CF bed and 200 W supply, while the Formbot kit ships a TZ V6 or Dragon hotend and a 150 W supply, so hotend and PSU specs are vendor-specific, not model-specific. Printed parts are an extra on both[4][5] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[1] | 120 x 120 x 120 mm[4][5] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[1] | Not documented |
| Net weight (kg) | Approximately 8.8 kg[1] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame with acrylic panels (LDO kit); the LDO/HoneyBadger build uses a 100 mm top hat. X axis on a genuine HIWIN rail, Y and Z on HoneyBadger stainless rails[4] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[1] | Enclosed by acrylic panels in the LDO kit[4] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[1] | CoreXY with the build plate moving in Z[4][5] |
| X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size) | Not documented | Genuine HIWIN linear rail on X in the LDO kit[4] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | Not documented | 250 mm/s max print speed, 300 mm/s max travel (Formbot kit listing). This is a kit-vendor figure, not a Voron Design specification[5] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Not documented | Direct drive in a Mini Stealthburner toolhead with a picobilical board and umbilical cable (LDO kit)[4] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Not documented | Kit-dependent: E3D Revo (Voron edition) in the LDO kit; TZ V6, Dragon standard-flow or Dragon high-flow in the Formbot kit[4][5] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | Not documented | 300 °C on the Formbot kit listing. The LDO kit's E3D Revo has its own limit, not stated on the listing[5] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Not documented | 110 °C (Formbot kit listing)[5] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Not documented | HoneyBadger dual-sided P-series plate in the LDO kit: smooth black PEI on one face, carbon fibre on the other, on a Kirigami mount with an edge-to-edge polyimide film heater[4] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | Not documented | Kit-dependent. LDO kit: SKR Pico (LDO Edition) with a Raspberry Pi 4B as host[4] |
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | Not documented | 200 W (LDO kit) or 150 W (Formbot kit)[4][5] |
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[1] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[1] | Klipper[4] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | USB and Wi-Fi[1] | Not documented |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[1] | Not documented |
| Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it? | AI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[1] | Not documented |
| Calibration Routines & QoL | ||
| Assembly level & time from unbox to first print | Not documented | Self-assembly kit. Printed parts are not included in the LDO kit (sourced separately, e.g. through Voron's Print It Forward); the Formbot kit offers them as an option[4][5] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | 405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[1] | Not documented |
| Safety | ||
| Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values) | Overheating protection activates above 80 °C[1] | Not documented |
| Resin & MSLA | ||
| Masking LCD | 7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[1][3] | Not documented |
| Light source | 25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[1] | Not documented |
| Light uniformity & intensity | 92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[1] | Not documented |
| Vertical print speedmm/h | 150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[1] | Not documented |
| Layer exposure times | 1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[1] | Not documented |
| LCD life & replaceability | Masking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[1] | Not documented |
| Resin vat & feeding | Resin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Voron V0.2-S1 (R1) kit by LDO & HoneyBadger fabreeko.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Voron 0.2 R1 CoreXY kit (Formbot) formbot3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor