Printer comparison
ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra vs LulzBot TAZ Pro
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra comparisonsMore LulzBot TAZ Pro comparisons
| Property | ELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESIN | LulzBot TAZ ProBEDSLINGER |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | ELEGOO | LulzBot |
| Class | RESIN | BEDSLINGER |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[1][2][3] | LulzBot TAZ Pro (LulzBot's own store lists it under Legacy LulzBot printers)[4] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[3][2] | $4,950.00 on buy.lulzbot.com, in stock, checked Aug 2026[4] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[5][1][2][3] | Several TAZ Pro derivatives exist and their specs differ substantially: TAZ Pro S, TAZ Pro XT+, and TAZ Pro Long Bed (282 x 582 x 285 mm, 1.2 mm GammaMaster steel nozzle, 80 °C bed cap, 150 mm/s travel, BLTouch 32-point mesh). The base TAZ Pro is 285 mm cubed with a 0.5 mm hardened-steel nozzle, a 110 °C bed and 300 mm/s travel — do not mix the two spec sets[4][6] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[1] | 285 x 285 x 285 mm[4] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[1] | Not documented |
| Net weight (kg) | Approximately 8.8 kg[1] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Open frame; movement on GT2 belts with Igus SST rods and polymer bushings[4] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[1] | Open frame, no enclosure[4] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[1] | Cartesian bedslinger[4] |
| Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?) | Not documented | GT2 belt drive[4] |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | Not documented | Trinamic TMC2130[4] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max travel speed | Not documented | 300 mm/s maximum travel speed (manufacturer figure)[4] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Not documented | Pro Dual Extruder tool head — two active-lifting hot ends for true dual-material printing[4] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm standard, 1.75 mm optional[4] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | Not documented | 290 °C maximum hot end temperature[4] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.5 mm hardened steel[4] |
| Stock nozzle material (brass / hardened steel / plated copper / composite tip) | Not documented | Hardened steel[4] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Not documented | 110 °C maximum bed temperature[4] |
| Bed heater type (DC/AC mains) & wattage | Not documented | 360 W, 24 V silicone bed heater[4] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Not documented | Dual-sided borosilicate glass with PEI film[4] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[1] | Automatic 4-point mesh levelling using a 5 V contact circuit, plus automatic X-axis tramming, Z-offset and backlash compensation[4] |
| Mesh grid size (probe point count — firmware evidence) | Not documented | 4-point mesh[4] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Not documented | Filament sensor with both runout and stripping detection[4] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | Not documented | 32-bit Archim 2.2b with Trinamic TMC2130 drivers[4] |
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | Not documented | 500 W 24 V Mean Well, auto-switching, 100-240 VAC input[4] |
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[1] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[1] | Marlin[4] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1] | 5-inch full-colour resistive touchscreen[4] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | USB and Wi-Fi[1] | USB serial; a 16 GB flash drive is included for standalone printing[4] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[1] | Not documented |
| Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it? | AI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[1] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | 405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[1] | PLA, TPU, ABS, PETG, PVA, PVB, nylon, PC and other materials below 290 °C[4] |
| Safety | ||
| Certifications (UL/ETL/CE/FCC — verify, don't assume) | Not documented | FCC, CE, RCM, ETL, CSA, OSHWA and WEEE. The OSHWA listing is the open-hardware certification[4] |
| Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values) | Overheating protection activates above 80 °C[1] | Not documented |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | Not documented | 1 year standard, with extended options. Made in the USA[4] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | Positional resolution 0.01 mm in X/Y and 0.002 mm in Z (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[4] |
| Resin & MSLA | ||
| Masking LCD | 7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[1][3] | Not documented |
| Light source | 25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[1] | Not documented |
| Light uniformity & intensity | 92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[1] | Not documented |
| Vertical print speedmm/h | 150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[1] | Not documented |
| Layer exposure times | 1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[1] | Not documented |
| LCD life & replaceability | Masking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[1] | Not documented |
| Resin vat & feeding | Resin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- LulzBot TAZ Pro product page buy.lulzbot.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- LulzBot TAZ Pro Long Bed 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor