3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra vs ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra vs ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga — documented properties and sources
PropertyELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESINELEGOO OrangeStorm GigaINDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandELEGOOELEGOO
ClassRESININDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[1][2][3]ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga[4]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Not documentedListed on the ELEGOO US store from 17 October 2024 (Shopify publish date)[5]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[3][2]$2,499.00 on us.elegoo.com, Aug 2026, against a compare-at price of $3,125.00[5]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[6][1][2][3]Sold bare and in bundles; dual-printhead and quad-printhead upgrade kits are separate products, so a Giga's nozzle count depends on which kit was bought. The four printheads sit on the same X axis and print four copies of the same model in parallel (or the same model in four colours) - this is not an IDEX or a toolchanger[4][7]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[1]800 x 800 x 1000 mm; the platform is 820 x 820 mm made up of four independent 410 x 410 mm PEI plates[4]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[1]1224 x 1164 x 1425 mm; ELEGOO's maximum size for machine activity is 1224 x 1520 x 1570 mm. This is a floor-standing machine, not a desktop one[4]
Net weight (kg)Approximately 8.8 kg[1]104 kg net, 145 kg gross, and it ships in multiple crates (bottom + XY axis components, then two Z-axis components)[4]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedCNC-machined aluminium extrusion frame; the X and Y axes run on linear guides and the machine sits on carbon steel round bases with rubber anti-slip pads[4]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[1]Open frame, no enclosure[4]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[1]Cartesian gantry with a fixed bed - the printhead moves in X and Y on linear guides and the gantry moves in Z, so nothing about the bed moves during a print[4]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)Not documentedLinear guide on the X axis[4]
Y-axis guide typeNot documentedLinear guide on the Y axis[4]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashNot documentedFour lead screws with four linear guide rods[8]
Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?)Not documentedX/Y belts with knob-adjustable tensioners[4]
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not documented"Silent Drive (All Axes)"; no driver part number published[8]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)Not documented30-300 mm/s, with 150 mm/s given by ELEGOO as the recommended speed - far below the 500-600 mm/s claimed for desktop machines, which is the honest consequence of moving a gantry this size[4][8]
Recommended/typical print speedNot documented150 mm/s recommended printing speed (manufacturer figure)[8]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)Not documented5000 mm/s2 maximum acceleration, which is also the default - four times lower than the Centauri machines[8]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedDual-gear direct extruder with 2 fans[8]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Not documentedBrass nozzle - and note the standard diameter here is 0.6 mm, not the 0.4 mm used across the rest of the ELEGOO range[8]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[4]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documented100 C max heated bed temperature at 25 C ambient, across four independent 410 x 410 mm PEI magnetic high-temperature platforms[4]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedFour independent 410 x 410 mm PEI magnetic platforms rather than one large plate[4]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[1]Manual levelling combined with 100-point auto-levelling (the desktop ELEGOO machines use a 121-point mesh)[8][9]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Not documentedFilament detection and power-loss resume printing[4]
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathNot documentedUp to three additional printheads can be added on the X axis for four-nozzle simultaneous printing - four copies of one model at once, or the same model in four colours[4]
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Not documented"Klipper High-Speed Quiet Motherboard" is all ELEGOO publishes[8]
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[1]Not documented
Total rated power drawNot documented1530 W with a single head, plus 100 W per additional head, to a stated maximum of 1830 W with four nozzles; 100-120 VAC / 220-240 VAC, 50/60 Hz[4][8]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[1]Klipper[8]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1]10.1-inch colour capacitive touch screen - by far the largest in the ELEGOO range[8]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Not documentedColour capacitive touch UI; ElegooSlicer recommended, Orca and Cura supported[8]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB and Wi-Fi[1]Wi-Fi, USB and LAN file transfer[4]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[1]Not documented
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?AI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament list405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[1]The product page lists PLA, PETG and TPU; ELEGOO's compare page adds Nylon to the same machine. Either way it is a much shorter list than the Neptune bed-slingers[4][8]
Safety
Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values)Overheating protection activates above 80 °C[1]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)Not documented12 months on brand-new machines and parts, but ELEGOO's own table excludes a long list of parts from that: PEI plate / build plate / nozzle kit / PTFE tube / heater / thermistor / hot end / packaging / manual / tools carry no warranty at all, and the extruder, extruder kit and printhead kit get 6 months. Certified pre-owned machines carry no warranty[10]
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCD7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[1][3]Not documented
Light source25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[1]Not documented
Light uniformity & intensity92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[1]Not documented
Vertical print speedmm/h150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[1]Not documented
Layer exposure times1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[1]Not documented
LCD life & replaceabilityMasking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[1]Not documented
Resin vat & feedingResin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga product page (Specification table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga Shopify product JSON (price and store publish date) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. ELEGOO US store 3D printers collection (current line-up, Aug 2026) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. ELEGOO compare-products page, which embeds the full per-model specification JSON for every Neptune, Centauri and OrangeStorm machine us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. ELEGOO Centauri Carbon product page (full specification table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  10. ELEGOO Refund & Warranty policy (warranty period table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor