3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

ELEGOO Centauri Carbon 2 Combo vs ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

ELEGOO Centauri Carbon 2 Combo vs ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra — documented properties and sources
PropertyELEGOO Centauri Carbon 2 ComboCOREXYELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESIN
Identity
BrandELEGOOELEGOO
ClassCOREXYRESIN
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)ELEGOO Centauri Carbon 2 Combo[1]ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[2][3][4]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Listed on the ELEGOO US store from 9 August 2026 (Shopify publish date)[5]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$399.00 on us.elegoo.com, Aug 2026, against a compare-at price of $449.00[5]$269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[4][3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)The Centauri Carbon 2 sold with the CANVAS multicolour unit. Every printing figure matches the bare Centauri Carbon 2; what changes is the body - 500 x 480 x 743 mm and 19.35 kg with CANVAS fitted - and CANVAS capability being listed Yes. Against the first-generation Centauri Carbon: 350 C nozzle rather than 320 C, clog detection added, and a HEPA plus coconut-shell carbon filter stack rather than the nano mineral crystal filter. An ELEGOO x emoji collaboration edition of the same machine is also listed[1][6][7][8]Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[9][2][3][4]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable256 x 256 x 256 mm; printing platform 260 x 260 mm[1]153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)500 x 480 x 743 mm with the CANVAS unit fitted[1]260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[2]
Net weight (kg)19.35 kg net, 23.8 kg gross[1]Approximately 8.8 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialIntegrated die-cast aluminium construction (Centauri Carbon platform)[7]Not documented
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFully enclosed; the Centauri Carbon 2 uses a HEPA plus granulated coconut-shell activated-carbon filter stack rather than the first generation's nano mineral crystal filter, and adds a smart exhaust grille[6][7]Open-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY[1]MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[2]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashThree lead screws with three linear guide rods[1]Not documented
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)"Silent Drive (All Axes)"; no driver part number published[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)500 mm/s or less, with 250 mm/s given as the recommended speed[1]Not documented
Recommended/typical print speed250 mm/s recommended printing speed (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 maximum acceleration; default 10000 mm/s2[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDual-gear direct extruder with one fan[1]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Brass-hardened steel nozzle, 0.4 mm, titanium-alloy heat break[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)350 C claimed max nozzle temperature - 30 C above the first-generation Centauri Carbon[1][7]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit110 C max heated bed temperature at 25 C ambient[1]Not documented
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedDual-sided spring steel sheet, textured PEI plus a PLA-specific surface[1]Not documented
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)121-point auto-levelling with full-auto calibration[1]Automatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament run-out sensor, clog detection, auto filament unloading and power-loss recovery[1]Not documented
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathCANVAS multi-material capability included - the defining difference from the bare Centauri Carbon 2[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)"Powerful Self-Developed Motherboard" is all ELEGOO publishes[1]Not documented
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)Not documented100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[2]
Total rated power draw1100 W at 220 V, 350 W at 110 V rated; 24 V output[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)ELEGOO OS; ElegooSlicer recommended, Orca and Cura supported[1]Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch colour capacitive touch screen (the first-generation Centauri Carbon used a 4.3-inch panel)[1][7]4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Colour touch UI; LED lighting fitted; STL, OBJ, 3MF and STEP input[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB and Wi-Fi[1]USB and Wi-Fi[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Camera fitted[1]AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[2]
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?Not documentedAI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[2]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listIdeal: PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA. Capable: TPU, PC, PA, PET and fibre-reinforced filaments[1]405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[2]
Safety
Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values)Not documentedOverheating protection activates above 80 °C[2]
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Operating sound published as 45 dB or less - a manufacturer figure with no distance or method stated, and 10 dB below the first-generation Centauri Carbon's published figure[1][7]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)12 months on brand-new machines and parts, but ELEGOO's own table excludes a long list of parts from that: PEI plate / build plate / nozzle kit / PTFE tube / heater / thermistor / hot end / packaging / manual / tools carry no warranty at all, and the extruder, extruder kit and printhead kit get 6 months. Certified pre-owned machines carry no warranty[10]Not documented
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCDNot documented7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[2][4]
Light sourceNot documented25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[2]
Light uniformity & intensityNot documented92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[2]
Vertical print speedmm/hNot documented150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[2]
Layer exposure timesNot documented1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[2]
LCD life & replaceabilityNot documentedMasking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[2]
Resin vat & feedingNot documentedResin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. ELEGOO compare-products page, which embeds the full per-model specification JSON for every Neptune, Centauri and OrangeStorm machine us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. ELEGOO Centauri Carbon 2 Combo Shopify product JSON (price and store publish date) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. ELEGOO Centauri Carbon 2 product page (Centauri Carbon 2 vs Centauri Carbon side-by-side table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. ELEGOO Centauri Carbon product page (full specification table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. ELEGOO US store 3D printers collection (current line-up, Aug 2026) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  10. ELEGOO Refund & Warranty policy (warranty period table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor