3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Creality K1 vs ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Creality K1 vs ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra — documented properties and sources
PropertyCreality K1COREXYELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESIN
Identity
BrandCrealityELEGOO
ClassCOREXYRESIN
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Creality K1 (store title "Creality K1 Speedy 3D Printer")[1][2]ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[3][4][5]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$299.00 on store.creality.com, Aug 2026. Creality's own K1-series comparison page shows $389 against a struck-through $599 on the same day[2][1]$269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[5][4]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Base model of the K1 family. The differences that matter are in the hotend: the K1 uses a metal + PTFE-tube hotend with a copper nozzle, while the K1C is all-metal with a steel-tipped nozzle integrated with the heatbreak and adds an air filter and a 1080p AI camera. Creality's own comparison table annotates the K1 hotend "Changing to All-metal Soon", so the hotend on a given unit depends on when it was built - check before buying. The K1 Max is the 300 mm version with 1000 W rated power and Ethernet; the K1 SE has a PA+30%GF hotend and an epoxy plate[1][6]Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[7][3][4][5]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable220 x 220 x 250 mm[1]153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[3]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)355 x 355 x 480 mm[1]260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[3]
Net weight (kg)12.5 kg (Tom's Hardware measurement)[8]Approximately 8.8 kg[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidEnclosed with passive chamber heating only - Creality's comparison table lists "Passive Heating" for the K1, K1C and K1 Max and no chamber heating for the K1 SE[1]Open-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[3]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY (Creality's own K1-series comparison table)[1]MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[3]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)600 mm/s max printing speed (manufacturer claim). Creality's own footnote says the 600 mm/s figure was achieved in Creality Lab and that the typical speed is 300 mm/s[1][6]Not documented
Recommended/typical print speed300 mm/s typical printing speed with 12000 mm/s2 typical acceleration, stated by Creality alongside the 600 mm/s headline[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 max acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDual-gear direct-drive extruder[1]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Metal hotend with a PTFE (Teflon) tube in the filament path and a copper nozzle. Creality's own comparison table adds "(Changing to All-metal Soon)", so this is a moving target across production runs[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit100 C max heatbed temperature[1]Not documented
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedCoated steel flex plate, heated, removable[8]Not documented
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic bed levelling (Tom's Hardware); unlike the K1 Max there is no lidar[8][9]Automatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[3]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament run-out sensor fitted[8]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designClosed-loop part-cooling fan; PWM hotend cooling fan[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)Not documented100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[3]
Total rated power draw350 W rated power[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Creality OS, a Klipper derivative. Creality publishes the source as CrealityOfficial/K1_Series_Klipper on GitHub, whose own description is "clone from https://github.com/Klipper3d/klipper/", GPL-3.0, last pushed December 2025[10][11][1]Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[3]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.3-inch 800x480 colour touchscreen[1]4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[3]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Colour touch UI; remote monitoring, time-lapse, failure detection and build-surface detection are all optional on the K1 because they depend on the optional AI camera[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi only - no Ethernet (the K1 Max adds RJ45); 8 GB of on-board storage[1]USB and Wi-Fi[3]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera optional, not fitted as standard - unlike the K1C and K1 Max, which include a 1080p camera[1]AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[3]
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?Not documentedAI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[3]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listHyper PLA, PLA, PETG, TPU, ABS - a notably shorter list than the K1C, because of the PTFE-lined hotend[1]405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[3]
Safety
Thermal runaway protection (verify in firmware source if at all possible)Not verified directly. Creality's published firmware for the K1 series (CrealityOfficial/K1_Series_Klipper, GPL-3.0) is described by Creality itself as a clone of upstream Klipper, and upstream Klipper ships the verify_heater thermal-runaway check; whether Creality's stock printer.cfg enables it, and with what thresholds, was not checked here[10][11]Not documented
Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values)Not documentedOverheating protection activates above 80 °C[3]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)Creality's US store states "Up to 12-Month Warranty", a 14-day return and refund window and "Lifetime Customer Support" on its printer product pages. The "up to" wording means the term is not uniform across parts[2]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Review scores from major outlets (list outlet + score + date)Tom's Hardware rating 4 out of 5 in the page's structured data - the lowest of the K1 family, where the K1C and K1 Max both score 4.5[8][9][12]Not documented
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCDNot documented7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[3][5]
Light sourceNot documented25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[3]
Light uniformity & intensityNot documented92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[3]
Vertical print speedmm/hNot documented150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[3]
Layer exposure timesNot documented1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[3]
LCD life & replaceabilityNot documentedMasking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[3]
Resin vat & feedingNot documentedResin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[3]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Creality - Compare K1 Flagship Series (K1 / K1C / K1 Max / K1 SE side-by-side spec table) creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Creality US store - K1 3D Printer product page (live price, warranty and returns banner) store.creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Creality K1C product page (full specification table) creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Tom's Hardware - Creality K1 Review (spec box) tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review
  9. Tom's Hardware - Creality K1 Max Review (spec box) tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review
  10. GitHub API - CrealityOfficial/K1_Series_Klipper repository metadata ("clone from https://github.com/Klipper3d/klipper/", GPL-3.0, last push Dec 2025) api.github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  11. GitHub - CrealityOfficial organisation repositories (per-model firmware sources) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  12. Tom's Hardware - Creality K1C Review (spec box and measured print time) tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review