Printer comparison
Bambu Lab P1P vs FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Bambu Lab P1P comparisonsMore FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra comparisons
| Property | Bambu Lab P1PCOREXY | FlashForge Guider 3 UltraINDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Bambu Lab | FlashForge |
| Class | COREXY | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Bambu Lab P1P. Bambu documents it alongside the P1S in a single two-column parameters table[1] | Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra; the FlashForge spec table gives the machine name as "Guider 3 Ultra"[2] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | Not documented | $2,399.00 against a $3,499.00 regular price on flashforge.com, but the listing checked is the refurbished SKU and is marked Sold out (Aug 2026)[2] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | P1P is the open-frame version; the P1S is the same motion platform in an enclosure with plastic and glass panels. Bambu's own comparison table shows what the P1P lacks: control-board fan, chamber temperature regulator fan, auxiliary part-cooling fan and air filter are all listed "Optional" on the P1P and "Closed Loop Control"/"Activated Carbon Filter" on the P1S. The P1P is also lighter, 9.65 kg vs 12.95 kg, and 386 mm deep vs 389 mm. A P1P Enclosure Kit is sold as a spare part. Filament support differs accordingly: ABS/ASA are "Capable" on the P1P but "Ideal" on the P1S[1] | Top of the Guider 3 series. Build size depends on which head is used: 330 x 330 x 600 mm with one extruder, 300 x 330 x 600 mm with both. Siblings Guider 3 (300x250x340) and Guider 3 Plus (350x350x600) are both single-extruder. A refurbished SKU exists alongside the new machine, so check which one a price refers to[2][3][4] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Superseded. No longer listed in the Bambu Lab US store 3D-printer collection in Aug 2026 (the collection carries A1, A1 mini, A2L, P1S, P2S, X2D, H2S, H2D, H2C); /products/p1p redirects to the collection page and only P1P spare parts remain in the store sitemap. No live first-party price could therefore be recorded[5][1] | Not documented |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 256 x 256 x 256 mm advertised. Bambu's own footnote limits the default printable height in Bambu Studio to 250 mm to avoid heatbed collisions, and warns that the collapsible filament-cutter stopper takes part of the printing area when popped out[1] | 330 x 330 x 600 mm with a single extruder; 300 x 330 x 600 mm when both extruders are in use[2] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 386 x 389 x 458 mm (P1P). Bambu prints P1P and P1S dimensions in the same cell - the P1S is 389 x 389 x 458 mm[1] | 635 x 550 x 1070 mm; packaging 775 x 690 x 1235 mm[2] |
| Net weight (kg) | 9.65 kg net, 14.30 kg gross[1] | 70 kg net, 86 kg gross[2] |
| Frame construction & material | Open frame; Bambu offers printable mod-plates for the side panels[1] | Enclosed professional chassis; FlashForge describes a lightweight, stable structure for high-speed operation[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame. An official P1P Enclosure Kit exists as a spare part, and the enclosed version of the same platform is sold as the P1S[1][5] | Closed design with an air filter fitted[2] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY driven by two stepper motors, each with its own belt to the printhead. Bambu's wiki states the P1P and P1S share the same motion system[6] | CoreXY with two extruders, per a third-party buyer's guide. FlashForge's own spec table does not state the kinematics[7][2] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Three leadscrews driven from a single stepper motor through a belt; the whole bed drops in Z. There is no motorised Z-tilt - bed tramming is by three manual knobs under the bed[6] | Not documented |
| Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?) | Adjustable belt tensioners at the rear; a Belt Tension Monitor reports when tension drifts out of range[6] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 500 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[1] | 10-500 mm/s printing speed, 500 mm/s maximum travel speed (manufacturer figures)[2] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 20 m/s2 = 20000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1] | 20,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2] |
| Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping | ||
| Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary) | Not documented | Active vibration compensation, which FlashForge says was enhanced for this model. Implementation not named[2] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct drive; Bambu sells a "Stainless Steel Extruder Unit (P1 series)" as the service part[6] | Two extruders[2] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | All-metal all-in-one hotend: the nozzle is integrated into the heatblock and joined to the heatsink by a thin metal tube, so the hotend is replaced as a unit. 0.4 mm stainless-steel nozzle included; 0.2/0.6/0.8 mm optional[1][6] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 C claimed max hot-end temperature[1] | 350 °C maximum extruder temperature (manufacturer claim)[2] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm default; 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[2] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 100 C max build-plate temperature[1] | 120 °C bed setting supported (manufacturer figure)[2] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Textured PEI plate; Cool Plate, Engineering Plate and High Temperature Plate compatible[1] | Replaceable flexible steel-plate platform, magnetic. No glass bed[2] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Nozzle-touch probing against three ceramic force (piezo) sensors under the heatbed: Z homing works by detecting the force of the nozzle contacting the heatbed. Three manual levelling knobs are also fitted[8][6] | Full-auto one-click levelling; probe technology not named[2] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Yes - filament run-out sensor[1] | Filament run-out reminder[2] |
| Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade path | Compatible with AMS and the AMS hub, up to 16 colours with four AMS units[6] | Not documented |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting design | Part-cooling fan fitted; the control-board fan, chamber temperature regulator fan and auxiliary part-cooling fan that the P1S has under closed-loop control are all listed as Optional on the P1P[1] | Not documented |
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | Not documented | Air filter fitted; filter media not specified in the FlashForge table[2] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | Not documented | AC 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz[2] |
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | 850 W maximum[2] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[9] | Not named; slicers are Orca-Flashforge and FlashPrint 5, with OrcaSlicer listed as compatible[2] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 2.7-inch 192x64 monochrome screen, not a touchscreen - control is by button, app or PC application[6] | 7-inch touch LCD[2] |
| On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.) | Button-driven on-device UI on a 192x64 monochrome panel; most interaction is expected to happen in Bambu Studio or Bambu Handy[6] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and Bambu-Bus; microSD card storage; 5 V/1.5 A USB output power[6] | USB, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, plus cloud[2] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Low-rate chamber monitoring camera, 1280x720 at 0.5 fps, timelapse supported - the 0.5 fps figure is Bambu's own and is far below video rate[1] | Remote camera monitoring and time-lapse video supported; resolution not published[2] |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Not documented | Power-loss recovery supported; mechanism not published. Automatic shutdown also supported[2] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | Ideal: PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA, PET. Capable: PA, PC, ABS, ASA - the open frame is the limiting factor, and the same table upgrades ABS/ASA to Ideal for the enclosed P1S[1] | PLA, ABS, HIPS, ASA, PETG, CoPA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, PAHT-CF, PAHT-GF, PET-CF, PET-GF, PA12-CF, PA-CF, PA-GF, NexPA-CF25[2] |
| Safety | ||
| Certifications (UL/ETL/CE/FCC — verify, don't assume) | Not documented | CE, FCC, RoHS (as printed in FlashForge's own spec table)[2] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | 2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[10] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Bambu Lab P1S store page - 'Parameters Comparison' table giving P1P and P1S in separate columns us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra product page (refurbished listing) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- FlashForge Guider 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- FlashForge Guider 3 Plus technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Bambu Lab Wiki - Introduction to P1 series wiki.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · doc
- Flashforge printer buyer's guide, 5M to Creator 5 eolasprints.com · 2026-08 · review
- Bambu Lab Wiki - Replace the Heatbed Sensor Unit / Heatbed Piezo Interface Board wiki.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · doc
- GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
- Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor