3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Bambu Lab H2D vs ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Bambu Lab H2D vs ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra — documented properties and sources
PropertyBambu Lab H2DCOREXYELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESIN
Identity
BrandBambu LabELEGOO
ClassCOREXYRESIN
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Bambu Lab H2D[1]ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[2][3][4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)From $1,549.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026, against a stated typical price of $1,749.00; the product page shows $1,749.00 (typical $1,999.00) with a combo variant selected[5][6]$269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[4][3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Six SKUs on one product page including H2D, H2D AMS Combo and H2D Laser Full Combo. The Laser Edition adds laser safety windows and the air-assist pump; a plain H2D can be upgraded with a Laser Upgrade Kit. The BirdsEye camera is only fitted on the Laser Edition. Siblings in the same family are the H2S (single nozzle, 340x320x340 mm, 30 kg) and H2C (dual nozzle, 305x320x325 mm single-nozzle volume, 32.5 kg, four cameras as standard) - all three share the 492x514x626 mm body, so body dimensions alone will not tell them apart[1][7][8]Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[9][2][3][4]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Current model; the H2C sits above it in the same body at $2,199 and the H2S below it at $1,199[5]Not documented
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usableSingle-nozzle printing 325 x 320 x 325 mm; dual-nozzle printing 300 x 320 x 320 mm; total volume across the two nozzles 350 x 320 x 320 mm. The sortable figure is the single-nozzle volume[1]153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)492 x 514 x 626 mm[1]260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[2]
Net weight (kg)31 kg net[1]Approximately 8.8 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialAluminium, steel, plastic and glass chassis and shell[1]Not documented
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFully enclosed with a door sensor; active chamber heating to 65 C, chamber exhaust and heat-circulation fans, and a G3 + H12 HEPA + granulated coconut-shell carbon filter stack[1]Open-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[2]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Active chamber heating, maximum 65 C (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY - not named in the spec sheet; Bambu groups the H2 series with its enclosed CoreXY machines at 20000 mm/s2[1]MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)1000 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)40 mm3/s with the standard-flow hotend, 65 mm3/s with the optional high-flow hotend; both measured by Bambu on a 250 mm round single-wall model in Bambu ABS at 280 C[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDual direct-drive extruders with hardened-steel gears, driven by Bambu high-precision permanent-magnet synchronous motors[1]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)All-metal hotend with hardened-steel nozzle, 0.4 mm included, 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported; an optional high-flow hotend is offered[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)350 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit120 C max heatbed temperature[1]Not documented
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedTextured PEI plate and Smooth PEI plate supported[1]Not documented
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Not documentedAutomatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Yes - run-out sensor, tangle sensor and door sensor; odometry with AMS[1]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designPart-cooling fan, auxiliary part-cooling fan, chamber heat-circulation fan, hotend cooling fan, main control board fan and chamber exhaust fan, all closed-loop controlled[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)Not documented100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[2]
Total rated power draw100-120 VAC / 200-240 VAC 50/60 Hz; 2200 W at 220 V, 1320 W at 110 V. The US store page states the H2D it sells is the 100-120 V version[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[10]Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch 720x1280 touchscreen[1]4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen plus Bambu Studio, Bambu Suite and Bambu Handy[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveDual-band Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n, 2.4 and 5 GHz), built-in 8 GB eMMC and a USB port[1]USB and Wi-Fi[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Four cameras listed: live view 1920x1080, nozzle camera 1920x1080, toolhead camera 1920x1080, and a 3264x2448 BirdsEye camera fitted only on the Laser Edition[1]AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[2]
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?Not documentedAI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[2]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, PETG, TPU, PVA, BVOH, ABS, ASA, PC, PA, PET, plus carbon/glass-fibre reinforced PLA, PETG, PA, PET, PC, ABS, ASA, PPA-CF/GF, PPS and PPS-CF/GF[1]405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[2]
Safety
Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values)Not documentedOverheating protection activates above 80 °C[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[11]Not documented
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCDNot documented7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[2][4]
Light sourceNot documented25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[2]
Light uniformity & intensityNot documented92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[2]
Vertical print speedmm/hNot documented150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[2]
Layer exposure timesNot documented1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[2]
LCD life & replaceabilityNot documentedMasking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[2]
Resin vat & feedingNot documentedResin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Bambu Lab H2D - Technical Specifications bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Bambu Lab H2D store page us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Bambu Lab H2S & H2S Laser Edition Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  8. Bambu Lab H2C Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  9. Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  10. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  11. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor