3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

ANYCUBIC Photon Mono M7 Pro vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

ANYCUBIC Photon Mono M7 Pro vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyANYCUBIC Photon Mono M7 ProRESINUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandAnycubicUltiMaker
ClassRESININDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)ANYCUBIC Photon Mono M7 Pro[1][2]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[3]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$562.00 on store.anycubic.com against a $769.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026. A Wash & Cure 3 Plus bundle is $745.00; resin quantity and plug type are separate options that change the total[1]Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Shares the 223 x 126 x 230 mm envelope and 10.1-inch 14K LCD with the plain Photon Mono M7 but is a different machine: LighTurbo 3.0 (COB + Fresnel), a dynamically temperature-controlled vat with a peristaltic pump and heater, auto resin refill and withdrawal, and 170 mm/h against the M7's 150. Pixel counts are also published inconsistently — Anycubic's store says 13,320 x 5,120 while 3DJake's table says 13,312 x 5,120. Bundle SKUs at the same store are not printer-only prices[1][4][2]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[3][5][6]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedSuperseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[3][5][6]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable223 x 126 x 230 mm[1][2]330 x 240 x 300 mm[3]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)312 x 315 x 520 mm[2]495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[3]
Net weight (kg)12.8 kg[2]20.6 kg[3]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedFully assembled professional chassis[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen-frame MSLA with a UV-blocking cover[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)MSLA, single Z axis, straight-lift peel[1]Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[3]
Speed & Acceleration
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[3]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedDual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[3]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[3]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[3]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[3]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documentedHeated glass bed, 20-140 °C[3]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedHeated glass build plate[3]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Levelling-free[1][2]Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[3]
Electronics & Power
Total rated power drawNot documented500 W maximum power output[3]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not documentedNot published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[3]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?Not documented4.7-inch colour touchscreen[3]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveNot documentedWi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[3]
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?Failed-print detection, film-lifespan tracking and resin-residue detection[1][2]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedUnder 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)1 year on Anycubic 3D printers[1]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Tolerance +/-0.01 to 0.05 mm — a manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement[1][2]XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3]
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCD10.1-inch monochrome masking LCD at 14K, XY pixel pitch 16.8 x 24.8 um. Pixel count published as 13,320 x 5,120 by Anycubic and 13,312 x 5,120 by 3DJake[1][2]Not documented
Light sourceLighTurbo 3.0 — COB light source with a Fresnel lens[1][2]Not documented
Light uniformity & intensityOn-screen uniformity >90% (manufacturer claim; Anycubic writes >=90%, 3DJake >90%). No intensity figure published for this model and no independent measurement[1][2]Not documented
Vertical print speedmm/h170 mm/h with high-speed resin at 0.1 mm layer height; 130 mm/h with standard resin at the same layer height (manufacturer claims)[1][2]Not documented
Release filmACF film, rated at approximately 45,000 uses. The machine tracks film lifespan itself[2][1]Not documented
Resin vat & feedingResin vat with dynamic temperature control driven by a peristaltic pump and heater, plus an automatic resin management system with auto-fill and withdrawal and resin level detection. Anycubic does not publish the vat capacity or the heater setpoint[1][2]Not documented
Fume extractionNone fitted as standard. Anycubic offers the separately sold AirPure air purifier, which it says filters up to 99% of VOCs[2]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Anycubic Photon Mono M7 Pro product page store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Anycubic Photon Mono M7 Pro technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Anycubic Photon Mono M7 product page store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor