Printer comparison
Anycubic Kobra X vs Sovol SV08
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Anycubic Kobra X comparisonsMore Sovol SV08 comparisons
| Property | Anycubic Kobra XBEDSLINGER | Sovol SV08COREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Anycubic | Sovol |
| Class | BEDSLINGER | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Anycubic Kobra X (store variant title "Kobra X (4 Colors)")[1] | Sovol SV08 3D Printer[2][3] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Listed on the Anycubic store from 25 December 2025 (Shopify publish date)[4] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $299.00 with a US plug on store.anycubic.com, Aug 2026, against a compare-at price of $399.00 ($344.00 for the EU plug variant). The collection page headline reads "Kobra X - Price from $289"[4][5] | $549.00 on sovol3d.com against a $599.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026 (Canada warehouse quoted as shipping end of September)[2][3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Same 260 mm cube and the same machine dimensions as the Kobra 4 (455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm) - the difference is that the Kobra X has native 4-colour printing built in, expandable to 19 colours, where the Kobra 4 needs an ACE 2 Pro for any multicolour at all. The Kobra X also takes a wider filament list (adds PVA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, ASA) but still needs an ACE 2 Pro for active drying[1][6] | Sibling SV08 Max is a much larger 500x500x500 machine at $1,099 with a 50 mm3/s flow rate, TMC5160 XY drivers and CAN bus; the SV08 is 30 mm3/s with TMC2209s. Do not carry SV08 Max figures onto the SV08. An eddy-current scanning kit and a 5-inch touchscreen are sold as separate upgrades[3][7][8][2] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 260 x 260 x 260 mm[1] | 350 x 350 x 345 mm advertised[2][8] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm for the printer; the ACE 2 Pro, if added, is a separate 368 x 291.5 x 236.5 mm unit[1] | 550 x 537 x 575 mm. Sovol's page says this includes screen and filament holder; 3DJake says it excludes the spool holder[2][8] |
| Net weight (kg) | About 9.5 kg for the printer (Anycubic's own figure is approximate); packaged 13.2 kg bare or 18 kg as the Combo[1] | 21.5 kg gross (3DJake). Sovol does not publish a net weight[8] |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame; Sovol states the design is inspired by the Voron 2.4 and that software, firmware and hardware are open source with design files on GitHub, with $2 per unit donated to the Voron project[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame, no enclosure[1] | Open frame as shipped; Sovol sells an enclosure kit separately (an enclosure-kit package is listed for the SV08 Max)[2][7] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Anycubic does not state a construction type for the Kobra X, but its dimensions, price and feature set match the gantry/bed-slinger Kobra 4 rather than the CoreXY S1 series[1][6] | CoreXY[2] |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | Not documented | TMC2209[2] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 600 mm/s maximum print speed (manufacturer claim), 300 mm/s recommended[1] | 700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][8] |
| Recommended/typical print speed | 300 mm/s recommended print speed (manufacturer figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 20000 mm/s2 maximum acceleration, 10000 mm/s2 recommended[1] | 40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][8] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | <=30 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[2][8] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct drive ("short distance extrusion")[1] | Planetary-gear direct-drive extruder[2][8] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Hardened-steel nozzle, 0.4 mm standard, expandable to 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm[1] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 C maximum nozzle temperature[1] | <=300 °C claimed[2][8] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm included; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[2] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 100 C maximum hotbed temperature on a PEI spring steel build plate[1] | <=100 °C claimed[2][8] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Not documented | Powder-coated PEI steel plate[2][8] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | LeviQ 3.0 auto-levelling with Z-offset and area levelling[1] | Inductive sensor plus a pressure (load) sensor. An eddy-current scanning kit is sold as an upgrade[2][8][3] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament detection with auto resume, entanglement detection and power-loss resume[1] | Filament sensor fitted, with filament-runout resume; type and location not published[2][8] |
| Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade path | Native 4-colour printing built in, expandable to 19 colours; active drying still needs a separate ACE 2 Pro[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Not documented | Allwinner H616 quad-core Cortex-A53, 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[2][8] |
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | Not documented | Conflicting: Sovol's spec table says 150 W / 24 V, while 3DJake's table gives a rated power of 1000 W at both 110 V and 220 V. The two are only reconcilable if the bed is mains-heated separately from the 24 V logic supply, which Sovol does not state[2][8] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Kobra OS with pressure advance and flow calibration supported[1] | Klipper. Sovol publishes the design files on GitHub and describes software, firmware and hardware as fully open source[2][8] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.) | Control from the printer, the slicing software, the Anycubic app and USB (print only); AI spaghetti detection and object skip supported[1] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Printer UI, slicing software, Anycubic app and USB drive (print only)[1] | Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 explicitly not supported)[2][8] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Standard HD camera fitted, 720p[1] | Camera listed as fitted by Sovol; 3DJake lists a camera as an accessory. Resolution not published[2][8] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, ASA[1] | PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS and others[2] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | 48 dB or less - a manufacturer figure with no mode, distance or method stated[1] | Not documented |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | One year on the complete machine (excluding gifted and second-hand machines), with component warranty periods that vary by part; the period starts on the delivery date and is suspended while a replacement is in transit. Anycubic states it will follow longer local statutory periods where they apply[9] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Anycubic Kobra X product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic Kobra X Shopify product JSON (variant prices and store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic store 3D printers collection (current line-up and headline prices, Aug 2026) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic Kobra 4 product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic refund and warranty policy store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor