3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Anycubic Kobra S1 Max vs ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Anycubic Kobra S1 Max vs ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra — documented properties and sources
PropertyAnycubic Kobra S1 MaxCOREXYELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESIN
Identity
BrandAnycubicELEGOO
ClassCOREXYRESIN
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Anycubic Kobra S1 Max[1]ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[2][3][4]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Listed on the Anycubic store from 16 January 2026 (Shopify publish date)[5]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$699.00 with a US plug on store.anycubic.com, Aug 2026, against a compare-at price of $899.00 ($804.00 for the EU plug variant)[5]$269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[4][3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)The large enclosed Anycubic. Against the Kobra S1: 350 mm cube against 250 (Anycubic claims 174% more volume), 350 C hardened-steel nozzle against 320 C, 65 C active chamber heating that the S1 lacks entirely, a titanium-alloy throat tube and hardened-steel extruder gears, an activated carbon filter, 720p camera against 480p, and 25.7 kg against 9.37 kg. Its engineering-filament list is correspondingly longer[1][6]Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[7][2][3][4]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable350 x 350 x 350 mm[1]153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)502.7 x 483 x 584 mm[1]260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[2]
Net weight (kg)25.7 kg net, 31 kg packaged[1]Approximately 8.8 kg[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFully enclosed CoreXY with 65 C active chamber heating, dual external-circulation cooling fans and an activated carbon filter, plus a temperature and moisture display[1]Open-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[2]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)65 C active chamber heating (manufacturer figure, actively heated rather than passive)[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY (stated outright in Anycubic's specification table)[1]MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)600 mm/s maximum print speed (manufacturer claim), 300 mm/s recommended[1]Not documented
Recommended/typical print speed300 mm/s recommended print speed (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 maximum acceleration, 10000 mm/s2 recommended[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive ("short distance extrusion") with hardened-steel extruder gears, which Anycubic rates at six times the life of brass on carbon-fibre filament[1]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Quick-release hotend with a titanium-alloy throat tube; 0.4 mm and 0.6 mm nozzles supplied, 0.25 and 0.8 mm optional; hardened steel[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)350 C maximum nozzle temperature[1]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit120 C maximum hotbed temperature on a PEI spring steel build plate[1]Not documented
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)LeviQ 3.0 auto-levelling[1]Automatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament detection with auto resume, entanglement detection and power-loss resume[1]Not documented
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathUp to 16-colour printing with ACE 2 Pro units, sold separately[1]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Activated carbon filter for odour removal; dual external-circulation cooling fans[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)Not documented100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Kobra OS with pressure advance and flow calibration supported[1]Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.3-inch capacitive touchscreen[1]4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen plus slicing software, Anycubic app and U-disk; AI spaghetti detection using an in-house algorithm and the 720p camera[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drivePrinter UI, slicing software, Anycubic app and U-disk[1]USB and Wi-Fi[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Standard HD camera, 720p, used for real-time AI anomaly detection[1]AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[2]
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?Not documentedAI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[2]
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printShips 95% pre-assembled; Anycubic claims unbox to print in 10 minutes[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listConsumer grades: PLA, PETG, TPU (95A), TPU for ACE, PET, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, PVA. Engineering grades: ABS, ASA, PC, PA, PA6-CF, PC-CF/GF, PET-CF[1]405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[2]
Safety
Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values)Not documentedOverheating protection activates above 80 °C[2]
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)48 dB or less in standard mode, as low as 45 dB in quiet mode - manufacturer figures with no distance or method stated[1]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)One year on the complete machine (excluding gifted and second-hand machines), with component warranty periods that vary by part; the period starts on the delivery date and is suspended while a replacement is in transit. Anycubic states it will follow longer local statutory periods where they apply[8]Not documented
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCDNot documented7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[2][4]
Light sourceNot documented25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[2]
Light uniformity & intensityNot documented92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[2]
Vertical print speedmm/hNot documented150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[2]
Layer exposure timesNot documented1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[2]
LCD life & replaceabilityNot documentedMasking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[2]
Resin vat & feedingNot documentedResin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Anycubic Kobra S1 Max product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Anycubic Kobra S1 Max Shopify product JSON (variant prices and store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Anycubic Kobra S1 product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Anycubic refund and warranty policy store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor