Printer comparison
UltiMaker S5 vs UniFormation GKtwo
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore UltiMaker S5 comparisonsMore UniFormation GKtwo comparisons
| Property | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL | UniFormation GKtwoRESIN |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | UltiMaker | UniFormation |
| Class | INDUSTRIAL | RESIN |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[1] | UniFormation GKtwo 10.3" 8K Resin Printer[2][3] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[1] | $749.99 on uniformation3d.com but marked Sold out, checked Aug 2026 (the page shows a compare-at price of $0.00, i.e. none set)[2] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[1][4][5] | UniFormation lists GKtwo variants by region and bundle (GKtwo ALL, GKtwo ALL UK) rather than by hardware, so the hardware specification is common; what changes is what ships in the box. Not to be confused with the earlier GKone[2] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[1][4][5] | Not documented |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[1] | 228 x 128 x 245 mm[2][3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[1] | 350 x 315 x 455 mm[2][3] |
| Net weight (kg) | 20.6 kg[1] | 20 kg packaged (UniFormation publishes package weight, not net weight)[2][3] |
| Frame construction & material | Fully assembled professional chassis[1] | Not documented |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Not documented | Open-frame MSLA with a UV-blocking cover[2][3] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[1] | MSLA — photocuring LCD, single Z axis, straight-lift peel[2][3] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[1] | Not documented |
| Filament diameter | 2.85 mm[1] | Not documented |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[1] | Not documented |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[1] | Not documented |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Heated glass build plate[1] | Not documented |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | Not documented | 110/220 V[2][3] |
| Total rated power draw | 500 W maximum power output[1] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[1] | Not named. Slicers: CHITUBOX, the GKtwo slicer, and Lychee. File format STL[2][3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[1] | 5-inch touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[2][3] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[1] | USB file transfer[2][3] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | Not documented | 402.5-405 nm photopolymer resin. No closed compatibility list published[2][3] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[1] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[1] | Printing tolerance +/-0.1 mm for lengths up to 100 mm, +/-0.1% beyond — a manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement[2] |
| Resin & MSLA | ||
| Masking LCD | Not documented | 10.3-inch masking LCD, 7680 x 4320 px (8K), XY pixel pitch 29.6 um (manufacturer specification)[2][3] |
| Light source | Not documented | Photocuring LCD light engine at 402.5-405 nm. UniFormation does not publish the LED count or optical design on this page[2][3] |
| Layer exposure times | Not documented | 2-3 s per layer at 0.05 mm layer height (manufacturer figure — one of the few makers here that states the layer height its exposure figure assumes). Sortable value is the midpoint[2][3] |
| Layer height range | Not documented | 0.03, 0.05 and 0.1 mm (three discrete settings, not a continuous range)[2][3] |
| Resin vat & feeding | Not documented | Resin vat capacity 0.7 kg, with built-in resin heating: UniFormation quotes warming to 95 F (35 C) in 8 minutes from 50 F. No auto-refill and no level sensing published[2][3] |
| Fume extraction | Not documented | Built-in odour filter[2][3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UniFormation GKtwo 10.3" 8K resin printer product page uniformation3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UniFormation GKtwo technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor