Printer comparison
UltiMaker Factor 4 vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore UltiMaker Factor 4 comparisonsMore UltiMaker S5 comparisons
| Property | UltiMaker Factor 4INDUSTRIAL | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | UltiMaker | UltiMaker |
| Class | INDUSTRIAL | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | UltiMaker Factor 4[1] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Announced 22 April 2024, shown at HANNOVER MESSE 2024 (22-26 April) and TCT Asia (7-9 May 2024)[1] | Not documented |
| Launch MSRP (USD) | Starting at approximately $20,000[1] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | Not documented | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Shares the 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope with the UltiMaker S5, S7 and S8, which is the single most contaminated figure in UltiMaker's range. What separates the Factor 4 is the actively controlled 70 °C build volume, the climate-controlled 6-spool material station holding humidity below 15%, and HEPA filtration. UltiMaker also sells a Factor 4 Plus[1] | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][3][4] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][3][4] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[2] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | Not documented | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2] |
| Net weight (kg) | Not documented | 20.6 kg[2] |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Fully assembled professional chassis[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Enclosed with actively controlled chamber airflow and a HEPA filter[1] | Not documented |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Build volume temperature controlled up to 70 °C with actively controlled chamber airflow (manufacturer specification)[1] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Direct-drive dual extrusion; kinematic layout not stated in the source checked[1] | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct-drive dual extrusion[1] | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2] |
| Filament diameter | 2.85 mm[1] | 2.85 mm[2] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 340 °C maximum with the high-temperature print core (manufacturer claim)[1] | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Not documented | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Not documented | Heated glass build plate[2] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Not documented | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibility | Automatic climate-controlled material handling and storage station holding humidity below 15%, storing up to six spools[1] | Not documented |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | HEPA filter[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | 500 W maximum power output[2] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not documented | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | Not documented | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Not documented | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | UltiMaker-branded PPS CF, PLA, Tough PLA, Nylon, PETG, PET CF and PVA, plus validated third-party materials from BASF Forward AM, Kimya, Polymaker, LEHVOSS and Jabil[1] | Not documented |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Dimensional accuracy within +/-0.2 mm or +/-0.2% of feature nominal length; UltiMaker states it tested over 95% print-completion success. Manufacturer figures, not independent measurements[1] | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- UltiMaker Factor 4: technical specifications and pricing 3dprintingindustry.com · 2026-08 · review
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor