Printer comparison
Sovol Zero vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Sovol Zero comparisonsMore UltiMaker S5 comparisons
| Property | Sovol ZeroCOREXY | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Sovol | UltiMaker |
| Class | COREXY | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Sovol Zero 3D Printer[1][2] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[3] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $389.00 on sovol3d.com against a $499.00 compare-at price, but marked Sold out, checked Aug 2026. Sovol's own announcement article quotes from $359.00[1][2][4] | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | No sibling variants at the time of checking. Sovol positions it against the Voron 0 and Bambu Lab P1P. Note the bed and nozzle limits are higher than the larger SV08 (120 vs 100 °C bed, 350 vs 300 °C nozzle), so SV08 figures must not be carried across[1][4][5] | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[3][6][7] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[3][6][7] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 152.4 x 152.4 x 152.5 mm advertised[1][4] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 345 x 420 x 475 mm[1] | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[3] |
| Net weight (kg) | Not documented | 20.6 kg[3] |
| Frame construction & material | Full linear rails on all axes; CoreXY with two motors sharing the moving mass[4] | Fully assembled professional chassis[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Fully enclosed[4] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[4] | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[3] |
| X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size) | Linear rails on all axes[4] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 1200 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim). Sovol's own material acknowledges 700 mm/s as the realistic figure for detailed prints[1][4] | Not documented |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][4] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | <=50 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[1] | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[3] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Planetary-gear direct-drive extruder[1] | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[3] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Ceramic heating plate. Brass or hardened-steel nozzles in 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8/1.0 mm[1] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | <=350 °C claimed[1][4] | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[3] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[3] |
| Stock nozzle material (brass / hardened steel / plated copper / composite tip) | Brass or hardened steel, buyer's choice[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | <=120 °C claimed; Sovol states the bed is AC-heated[1][4] | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[3] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Double-sided PEI steel plate[1] | Heated glass build plate[3] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Eddy-current scanning combined with pressure (force) sensing — Sovol describes it as an inductive sensor plus force sensor[1][4] | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[3] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament sensor fitted; type and location not published[1][4] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Allwinner H616, 1 GB RAM, 8 GB eMMC, 64-bit[1] | Not documented |
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | 150 W / 24 V (this is the DC supply; the bed is separately AC-heated per Sovol)[1][4] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | 500 W maximum power output[3] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not named on the product page beyond OTA updates and OrcaSlicer support; Sovol markets the machine as open source[1][4] | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | Not documented | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[3] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 not supported)[1][4] | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[3] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Built-in camera for monitoring; resolution not published[1][4] | Not documented |
| Calibration Routines & QoL | ||
| Assembly level & time from unbox to first print | Arrives preassembled[4] | Not documented |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Power-loss recovery supported; mechanism not published[1][4] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS, ASA, PA, PC[1] | Not documented |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Sovol Zero 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol Zero announcement article (Sovol blog) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor