Printer comparison
Sovol SV08 vs Sovol SV08 Max
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Sovol SV08 comparisonsMore Sovol SV08 Max comparisons
| Property | Sovol SV08COREXY | Sovol SV08 MaxCOREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Sovol | Sovol |
| Class | COREXY | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Sovol SV08 3D Printer[1][2] | Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer[3][2] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $549.00 on sovol3d.com against a $599.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026 (Canada warehouse quoted as shipping end of September)[1][2] | $1,099.00 on sovol3d.com against a $1,299.00 compare-at price (15% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026[3][2] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Sibling SV08 Max is a much larger 500x500x500 machine at $1,099 with a 50 mm3/s flow rate, TMC5160 XY drivers and CAN bus; the SV08 is 30 mm3/s with TMC2209s. Do not carry SV08 Max figures onto the SV08. An eddy-current scanning kit and a 5-inch touchscreen are sold as separate upgrades[2][3][4][1] | Much larger sibling of the SV08. Differences that matter in a spec box: 500x500x500 vs 350x350x345, 50 vs 30 mm3/s, TMC5160 XY drivers vs TMC2209, CAN bus, HDMI output, dual 0.4 mm nozzles in the box, and a separately sold chamber-heating module. A chamber heating module for the SV08 Max is listed at $69[3][5][1][2] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 350 x 350 x 345 mm advertised[1][4] | 500 x 500 x 500 mm advertised[3][5] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 550 x 537 x 575 mm. Sovol's page says this includes screen and filament holder; 3DJake says it excludes the spool holder[1][4] | 700 x 710 x 750 mm excluding the spool holder. Shipping cartons: 810 x 820 x 360 mm plus a 775 x 728 x 155 mm enclosure-kit box[3][5] |
| Net weight (kg) | 21.5 kg gross (3DJake). Sovol does not publish a net weight[4] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame; Sovol states the design is inspired by the Voron 2.4 and that software, firmware and hardware are open source with design files on GitHub, with $2 per unit donated to the Voron project[1] | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame supplied as a kit; Sovol ships it in two cartons, one of which is an enclosure kit[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame as shipped; Sovol sells an enclosure kit separately (an enclosure-kit package is listed for the SV08 Max)[1][3] | Enclosure kit shipped with the machine (separate carton). A chamber-heating module is sold separately at $69[3][2] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[1] | CoreXY[3][5] |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | TMC2209[1] | Z axis 4 x TMC2209; A axis 1 x TMC5160; B axis 1 x TMC5160. Toolhead communication over CAN bus[3][5] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][4] | 700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][5] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][4] | 40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][5] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | <=30 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[1][4] | 50 mm3/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][5] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Planetary-gear direct-drive extruder[1][4] | Direct drive with auxiliary (assisted) filament feeding[3][5] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Not documented | Ceramic heater. Two 0.4 mm nozzles supplied as standard; 0.4/0.6/0.8 mm optional[3][5] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | <=300 °C claimed[1][4] | <=300 °C claimed[3][5] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 0.4 mm included; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | <=100 °C claimed[1][4] | <=100 °C claimed[3][5] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Powder-coated PEI steel plate[1][4] | Not documented |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Inductive sensor plus a pressure (load) sensor. An eddy-current scanning kit is sold as an upgrade[1][4][2] | Not stated on the SV08 Max page; the SV08 family uses an inductive sensor plus pressure sensor[3] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament sensor fitted, with filament-runout resume; type and location not published[1][4] | Filament runout detection plus filament tangle/clog detection. Sovol does not describe the tangle or clog mechanism[3][5] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Allwinner H616 quad-core Cortex-A53, 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[1][4] | 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[3][5] |
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | Conflicting: Sovol's spec table says 150 W / 24 V, while 3DJake's table gives a rated power of 1000 W at both 110 V and 220 V. The two are only reconcilable if the bed is mains-heated separately from the 24 V logic supply, which Sovol does not state[1][4] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Klipper. Sovol publishes the design files on GitHub and describes software, firmware and hardware as fully open source[1][4] | Klipper (3DJake's table renders it as "Clipper"). OrcaSlicer is the supported slicer[3][5] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 explicitly not supported)[1][4] | USB, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, HDMI, Ethernet[3][5] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Camera listed as fitted by Sovol; 3DJake lists a camera as an accessory. Resolution not published[1][4] | Not documented |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Not documented | Power-loss resume printing supported; mechanism not published[3][5] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS and others[1] | 1.75 mm filament; Sovol does not publish a per-material list on this page[3][5] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 Max technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor