Printer comparison
Sovol SV08 Max vs Voron 0.2
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Sovol SV08 Max comparisonsMore Voron 0.2 comparisons
| Property | Sovol SV08 MaxCOREXY | Voron 0.2COREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Sovol | Voron Design |
| Class | COREXY | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer[1][2] | Voron 0.2, current revision R1. Sold under kit vendors' names: "Voron V0.2-S1 (R1) 3D Printer Kit by LDO & HoneyBadger", "Voron 0.2 R1 Latest Version CoreXY 3D Printer Kit" (Formbot)[3][4] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $1,099.00 on sovol3d.com against a $1,299.00 compare-at price (15% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026[1][2] | There is no single price: Voron is an open design and kits come from several vendors. Formbot's kit is $328.06 (was $349.00, 6% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026. The LDO & HoneyBadger V0.2-S1 kit is $639.99 but sold out. Neither figure includes printed parts unless the option is selected[3][4] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Much larger sibling of the SV08. Differences that matter in a spec box: 500x500x500 vs 350x350x345, 50 vs 30 mm3/s, TMC5160 XY drivers vs TMC2209, CAN bus, HDMI output, dual 0.4 mm nozzles in the box, and a separately sold chamber-heating module. A chamber heating module for the SV08 Max is listed at $69[1][5][6][2] | Two things get conflated. First, revision: R1 is the current one, adding a filament-runout sensor, MR85 bearings and fastener changes. Second, kit vendor: the LDO/HoneyBadger S1 kit ships an SKR Pico, E3D Revo, HoneyBadger dual-sided PEI/CF bed and 200 W supply, while the Formbot kit ships a TZ V6 or Dragon hotend and a 150 W supply, so hotend and PSU specs are vendor-specific, not model-specific. Printed parts are an extra on both[3][4] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 500 x 500 x 500 mm advertised[1][5] | 120 x 120 x 120 mm[3][4] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 700 x 710 x 750 mm excluding the spool holder. Shipping cartons: 810 x 820 x 360 mm plus a 775 x 728 x 155 mm enclosure-kit box[1][5] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame supplied as a kit; Sovol ships it in two cartons, one of which is an enclosure kit[1] | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame with acrylic panels (LDO kit); the LDO/HoneyBadger build uses a 100 mm top hat. X axis on a genuine HIWIN rail, Y and Z on HoneyBadger stainless rails[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Enclosure kit shipped with the machine (separate carton). A chamber-heating module is sold separately at $69[1][2] | Enclosed by acrylic panels in the LDO kit[3] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[1][5] | CoreXY with the build plate moving in Z[3][4] |
| X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size) | Not documented | Genuine HIWIN linear rail on X in the LDO kit[3] |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | Z axis 4 x TMC2209; A axis 1 x TMC5160; B axis 1 x TMC5160. Toolhead communication over CAN bus[1][5] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][5] | 250 mm/s max print speed, 300 mm/s max travel (Formbot kit listing). This is a kit-vendor figure, not a Voron Design specification[4] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][5] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | 50 mm3/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][5] | Not documented |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct drive with auxiliary (assisted) filament feeding[1][5] | Direct drive in a Mini Stealthburner toolhead with a picobilical board and umbilical cable (LDO kit)[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Ceramic heater. Two 0.4 mm nozzles supplied as standard; 0.4/0.6/0.8 mm optional[1][5] | Kit-dependent: E3D Revo (Voron edition) in the LDO kit; TZ V6, Dragon standard-flow or Dragon high-flow in the Formbot kit[3][4] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | <=300 °C claimed[1][5] | 300 °C on the Formbot kit listing. The LDO kit's E3D Revo has its own limit, not stated on the listing[4] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | <=100 °C claimed[1][5] | 110 °C (Formbot kit listing)[4] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Not documented | HoneyBadger dual-sided P-series plate in the LDO kit: smooth black PEI on one face, carbon fibre on the other, on a Kirigami mount with an edge-to-edge polyimide film heater[3] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Not stated on the SV08 Max page; the SV08 family uses an inductive sensor plus pressure sensor[1] | Not documented |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament runout detection plus filament tangle/clog detection. Sovol does not describe the tangle or clog mechanism[1][5] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | Not documented | Kit-dependent. LDO kit: SKR Pico (LDO Edition) with a Raspberry Pi 4B as host[3] |
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[1][5] | Not documented |
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | Not documented | 200 W (LDO kit) or 150 W (Formbot kit)[3][4] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Klipper (3DJake's table renders it as "Clipper"). OrcaSlicer is the supported slicer[1][5] | Klipper[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | USB, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, HDMI, Ethernet[1][5] | Not documented |
| Calibration Routines & QoL | ||
| Assembly level & time from unbox to first print | Not documented | Self-assembly kit. Printed parts are not included in the LDO kit (sourced separately, e.g. through Voron's Print It Forward); the Formbot kit offers them as an option[3][4] |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Power-loss resume printing supported; mechanism not published[1][5] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | 1.75 mm filament; Sovol does not publish a per-material list on this page[1][5] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Voron V0.2-S1 (R1) kit by LDO & HoneyBadger fabreeko.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Voron 0.2 R1 CoreXY kit (Formbot) formbot3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 Max technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor