Printer comparison
Sovol SV07 vs Sovol SV08
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
| Property | Sovol SV07BEDSLINGER | Sovol SV08COREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Sovol | Sovol |
| Class | BEDSLINGER | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Sovol SV07[1][2] | Sovol SV08 3D Printer[3][4] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $299 at 3D Printers Online Store but Out of Stock, checked Aug 2026. Sovol's own comparison article quotes $259. No in-stock listing found[2][5] | $549.00 on sovol3d.com against a $599.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026 (Canada warehouse quoted as shipping end of September)[3][4] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Base of a two-model pair with the SV07 Plus (300x300x350, 600 W MeanWell PSU, 25-point levelling, adds USB Type-C). The SV07 has a 350 W MeanWell PSU. Both are quoted by Sovol at 500 mm/s and 300 °C, so PSU wattage and build volume are the reliable discriminators[5][2][6] | Sibling SV08 Max is a much larger 500x500x500 machine at $1,099 with a 50 mm3/s flow rate, TMC5160 XY drivers and CAN bus; the SV08 is 30 mm3/s with TMC2209s. Do not carry SV08 Max figures onto the SV08. An eddy-current scanning kit and a 5-inch touchscreen are sold as separate upgrades[4][7][8][3] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Delisted by Sovol; not present in the current 3D-printer collection. 3DJake shows it sold out and no longer stocked[4][1] | Not documented |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 220 x 220 x 250 mm advertised[1][2] | 350 x 350 x 345 mm advertised[3][8] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 460 x 457 x 625 mm[2] | 550 x 537 x 575 mm. Sovol's page says this includes screen and filament holder; 3DJake says it excludes the spool holder[3][8] |
| Net weight (kg) | 9.8 kg machine weight; 12.9 kg boxed[2] | 21.5 kg gross (3DJake). Sovol does not publish a net weight[8] |
| Frame construction & material | Open frame, supplied as an assembly kit[1] | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame; Sovol states the design is inspired by the Voron 2.4 and that software, firmware and hardware are open source with design files on GitHub, with $2 per unit donated to the Voron project[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame; 3DJake records "Heated chamber: No"[1] | Open frame as shipped; Sovol sells an enclosure kit separately (an enclosure-kit package is listed for the SV08 Max)[3][7] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Cartesian i3 bedslinger[1] | CoreXY[3] |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | Not documented | TMC2209[3] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | Conflicting manufacturer figures: Sovol's own comparison says up to 500 mm/s, 3DJake's feature text says up to 250 mm/s, and the retailer listing gives a 250-500 mm/s range. 500 is the headline claim, 250 the working figure[5][1][2] | 700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][8] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | Not documented | 40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][8] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | <=30 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[3][8] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | All-metal dual-gear direct drive with a planetary gearbox[1][5] | Planetary-gear direct-drive extruder[3][8] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | All-metal hotend to 300 °C[1][5] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | <=300 °C claimed[1][2][5] | <=300 °C claimed[3][8] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm included; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[3] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | <=100 °C claimed[2] | <=100 °C claimed[3][8] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Reversible PEI build plate[1] | Powder-coated PEI steel plate[3][8] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic bed levelling over 25 points; probe technology not stated[1] | Inductive sensor plus a pressure (load) sensor. An eddy-current scanning kit is sold as an upgrade[3][8][4] |
| Mesh grid size (probe point count — firmware evidence) | 25 points (manufacturer claim)[1] | Not documented |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Not documented | Filament sensor fitted, with filament-runout resume; type and location not published[3][8] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting design | Triple-fan cooling (Sovol's description; fan sizes and duct design not published)[1][5] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Not documented | Allwinner H616 quad-core Cortex-A53, 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[3][8] |
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | 350 W MeanWell, 24 V, 115/230 V AC input[5][2] | Conflicting: Sovol's spec table says 150 W / 24 V, while 3DJake's table gives a rated power of 1000 W at both 110 V and 220 V. The two are only reconcilable if the bed is mains-heated separately from the 24 V logic supply, which Sovol does not state[3][8] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Klipper[1][5] | Klipper. Sovol publishes the design files on GitHub and describes software, firmware and hardware as fully open source[3][8] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 5-inch touchscreen (Sovol markets it as a "5-inch HD Klipper screen")[1][5] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi and USB Type-C[1][5][2] | Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 explicitly not supported)[3][8] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Not documented | Camera listed as fitted by Sovol; 3DJake lists a camera as an accessory. Resolution not published[3][8] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, PETG, TPU, ABS, wood-filled; Sovol also lists carbon fibre[2][5] | PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS and others[3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Sovol SV07 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV07 Klipper 3D Printer listing 3dprintersonlinestore.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- SV07 vs SV07 Plus comparison (Sovol blog) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV07 Plus Large Klipper 3D Printer listing 3dprintersonlinestore.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor