3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Sovol SV06 vs UltiMaker Factor 4

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Sovol SV06 vs UltiMaker Factor 4 — documented properties and sources
PropertySovol SV06BEDSLINGERUltiMaker Factor 4INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandSovolUltiMaker
ClassBEDSLINGERINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Sovol SV06[1]UltiMaker Factor 4[2]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Not documentedAnnounced 22 April 2024, shown at HANNOVER MESSE 2024 (22-26 April) and TCT Asia (7-9 May 2024)[2]
Launch MSRP (USD)Not documentedStarting at approximately $20,000[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Base model of a four-way family: SV06 (220x220x250, Marlin-era silent board), SV06 Plus (300x300x340), SV06 ACE and SV06 Plus ACE (both Klipper, ceramic hotend, camera, 4.3-inch touchscreen). ACE specs must not be applied to the non-ACE machines[1][3][4]Shares the 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope with the UltiMaker S5, S7 and S8, which is the single most contaminated figure in UltiMaker's range. What separates the Factor 4 is the actively controlled 70 °C build volume, the climate-controlled 6-spool material station holding humidity below 15%, and HEPA filtration. UltiMaker also sells a Factor 4 Plus[2]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?No longer listed on Sovol's own store: the current 3D-printer collection contains only SV08, SV08 Max, Zero, SV06 ACE and SV06 Plus ACE. 3DJake also shows it sold out and delisted. Superseded by the SV06 ACE[5][1]Not documented
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable220 x 220 x 250 mm advertised[1]330 x 240 x 300 mm[2]
Frame construction & materialOpen i3-style frame, supplied as an assembly kit[1]Not documented
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[1]Enclosed with actively controlled chamber airflow and a HEPA filter[2]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Not documentedBuild volume temperature controlled up to 70 °C with actively controlled chamber airflow (manufacturer specification)[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Cartesian i3 bedslinger[1]Direct-drive dual extrusion; kinematic layout not stated in the source checked[2]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashDual Z-axis motors[1]Not documented
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)TMC2209 drivers on a 32-bit silent board (Sovol description, not verified against a board photo)[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameAll-metal direct-drive extruder with planetary gear reduction[1]Direct-drive dual extrusion[2]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)All-metal hotend rated to 300 °C. MK8-style nozzle[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 °C claimed[1]340 °C maximum with the high-temperature print core (manufacturer claim)[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedFlexible PEI build surface[1]Not documented
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling over 25 points; probe technology not stated on the listing[1]Not documented
Mesh grid size (probe point count — firmware evidence)25 points (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Filament Handling & Detection
Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibilityNot documentedAutomatic climate-controlled material handling and storage station holding humidity below 15%, storing up to six spools[2]
Cooling & Air Handling
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Not documentedHEPA filter[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB connection; micro-SD card. No Wi-Fi[1]Not documented
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Resume-after-power-loss supported; mechanism not published[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament list1.75 mm filament; Sovol does not publish a per-material list for this model beyond the 300 °C hotend rating[1]UltiMaker-branded PPS CF, PLA, Tough PLA, Nylon, PETG, PET CF and PVA, plus validated third-party materials from BASF Forward AM, Kimya, Polymaker, LEHVOSS and Jabil[2]
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedDimensional accuracy within +/-0.2 mm or +/-0.2% of feature nominal length; UltiMaker states it tested over 95% print-completion success. Manufacturer figures, not independent measurements[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Sovol SV06 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. UltiMaker Factor 4: technical specifications and pricing 3dprintingindustry.com · 2026-08 · review
  3. Sovol SV06 Plus technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Sovol SV06 Plus ACE 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor