Printer comparison
Sovol SV06 vs Sovol SV08 Max
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Sovol SV06 comparisonsMore Sovol SV08 Max comparisons
| Property | Sovol SV06BEDSLINGER | Sovol SV08 MaxCOREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Sovol | Sovol |
| Class | BEDSLINGER | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Sovol SV06[1] | Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer[2][3] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | Not documented | $1,099.00 on sovol3d.com against a $1,299.00 compare-at price (15% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026[2][3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Base model of a four-way family: SV06 (220x220x250, Marlin-era silent board), SV06 Plus (300x300x340), SV06 ACE and SV06 Plus ACE (both Klipper, ceramic hotend, camera, 4.3-inch touchscreen). ACE specs must not be applied to the non-ACE machines[1][4][5] | Much larger sibling of the SV08. Differences that matter in a spec box: 500x500x500 vs 350x350x345, 50 vs 30 mm3/s, TMC5160 XY drivers vs TMC2209, CAN bus, HDMI output, dual 0.4 mm nozzles in the box, and a separately sold chamber-heating module. A chamber heating module for the SV08 Max is listed at $69[2][6][7][3] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | No longer listed on Sovol's own store: the current 3D-printer collection contains only SV08, SV08 Max, Zero, SV06 ACE and SV06 Plus ACE. 3DJake also shows it sold out and delisted. Superseded by the SV06 ACE[3][1] | Not documented |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 220 x 220 x 250 mm advertised[1] | 500 x 500 x 500 mm advertised[2][6] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | Not documented | 700 x 710 x 750 mm excluding the spool holder. Shipping cartons: 810 x 820 x 360 mm plus a 775 x 728 x 155 mm enclosure-kit box[2][6] |
| Frame construction & material | Open i3-style frame, supplied as an assembly kit[1] | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame supplied as a kit; Sovol ships it in two cartons, one of which is an enclosure kit[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame, no enclosure[1] | Enclosure kit shipped with the machine (separate carton). A chamber-heating module is sold separately at $69[2][3] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Cartesian i3 bedslinger[1] | CoreXY[2][6] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Dual Z-axis motors[1] | Not documented |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | TMC2209 drivers on a 32-bit silent board (Sovol description, not verified against a board photo)[1] | Z axis 4 x TMC2209; A axis 1 x TMC5160; B axis 1 x TMC5160. Toolhead communication over CAN bus[2][6] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | Not documented | 700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][6] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | Not documented | 40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][6] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | 50 mm3/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][6] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | All-metal direct-drive extruder with planetary gear reduction[1] | Direct drive with auxiliary (assisted) filament feeding[2][6] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | All-metal hotend rated to 300 °C. MK8-style nozzle[1] | Ceramic heater. Two 0.4 mm nozzles supplied as standard; 0.4/0.6/0.8 mm optional[2][6] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 °C claimed[1] | <=300 °C claimed[2][6] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Not documented | <=100 °C claimed[2][6] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Flexible PEI build surface[1] | Not documented |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling over 25 points; probe technology not stated on the listing[1] | Not stated on the SV08 Max page; the SV08 family uses an inductive sensor plus pressure sensor[2] |
| Mesh grid size (probe point count — firmware evidence) | 25 points (manufacturer claim)[1] | Not documented |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Not documented | Filament runout detection plus filament tangle/clog detection. Sovol does not describe the tangle or clog mechanism[2][6] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Not documented | 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[2][6] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not documented | Klipper (3DJake's table renders it as "Clipper"). OrcaSlicer is the supported slicer[2][6] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | USB connection; micro-SD card. No Wi-Fi[1] | USB, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, HDMI, Ethernet[2][6] |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Resume-after-power-loss supported; mechanism not published[1] | Power-loss resume printing supported; mechanism not published[2][6] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | 1.75 mm filament; Sovol does not publish a per-material list for this model beyond the 300 °C hotend rating[1] | 1.75 mm filament; Sovol does not publish a per-material list on this page[2][6] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Sovol SV06 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV06 Plus technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV06 Plus ACE 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 Max technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor