3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Snapmaker J1s vs Sovol SV08

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Snapmaker J1s vs Sovol SV08 — documented properties and sources
PropertySnapmaker J1sIDEXSovol SV08COREXY
Identity
BrandSnapmakerSovol
ClassIDEXCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Snapmaker J1S High Speed IDEX 3D Printer[1][2]Sovol SV08 3D Printer[3][4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$1,399.00 at MatterHackers, listed as currently unavailable with a pre-order option quoting roughly 5 weeks, checked Aug 2026[1]$549.00 on sovol3d.com against a $599.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026 (Canada warehouse quoted as shipping end of September)[3][4]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)The J1s differs from the original J1 by an additional part-cooling fan. Usable volume depends on the print mode: 300 x 200 x 200 mm in default and backup modes, 160 x 200 x 200 in copy mode, 150 x 200 x 200 in mirror mode[1][2]Sibling SV08 Max is a much larger 500x500x500 machine at $1,099 with a 50 mm3/s flow rate, TMC5160 XY drivers and CAN bus; the SV08 is 30 mm3/s with TMC2209s. Do not carry SV08 Max figures onto the SV08. An eddy-current scanning kit and a 5-inch touchscreen are sold as separate upgrades[4][5][6][3]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable300 x 200 x 200 mm in default and backup modes[1]350 x 350 x 345 mm advertised[3][6]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)539 x 401 x 464 mm[1]550 x 537 x 575 mm. Sovol's page says this includes screen and filament holder; 3DJake says it excludes the spool holder[3][6]
Net weight (kg)25 kg net[1]21.5 kg gross (3DJake). Sovol does not publish a net weight[6]
Frame construction & materialAluminium-alloy frame with one-piece die casting and linear rails; Snapmaker quotes rail repeatability of +/-0.03 mm in X/Y and +/-0.02 mm in Z[2]Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame; Sovol states the design is inspired by the Voron 2.4 and that software, firmware and hardware are open source with design files on GitHub, with $2 per unit donated to the Voron project[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidNot documentedOpen frame as shipped; Sovol sells an enclosure kit separately (an enclosure-kit package is listed for the SV08 Max)[3][5]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)IDEX — two independently driven extruders[1][2]CoreXY[3]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)Linear rails[2]Not documented
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not documentedTMC2209[3]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)350 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2]700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][6]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)10,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2]40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][6]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documented<=30 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[3][6]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedPlanetary-gear direct-drive extruder[3][6]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 °C maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][2]<=300 °C claimed[3][6]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm included; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[3]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit100 °C maximum (manufacturer claim)[1]<=100 °C claimed[3][6]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedCustom dual-sided PEI glass plate: glossy glass on one face, PEI coating on the other[1][2]Powder-coated PEI steel plate[3][6]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)3-point bed levelling, which Snapmaker contrasts with 9-16 point systems; assisted calibration quoted at about 10 minutes[2]Inductive sensor plus a pressure (load) sensor. An eddy-current scanning kit is sold as an upgrade[3][6][4]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Not documentedFilament sensor fitted, with filament-runout resume; type and location not published[3][6]
Electronics & Power
Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux1 GB RAM, 8 GB eMMC; the 5-inch display runs Android[1]Allwinner H616 quad-core Cortex-A53, 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[3][6]
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)Not documentedConflicting: Sovol's spec table says 150 W / 24 V, while 3DJake's table gives a rated power of 1000 W at both 110 V and 220 V. The two are only reconcilable if the bed is mains-heated separately from the 24 V logic supply, which Sovol does not state[3][6]
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)AC 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 4.4 A max input; DC 24 V, 400 W max output[1]Not documented
Total rated power draw400 W maximum output[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not named by Snapmaker; the supplied slicer is Luban, with third-party software supported[1]Klipper. Sovol publishes the design files on GitHub and describes software, firmware and hardware as fully open source[3][6]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch Android display, 1280 x 720[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi, USB cable, USB flash drive[1]Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 explicitly not supported)[3][6]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Not documentedCamera listed as fitted by Sovol; 3DJake lists a camera as an accessory. Resolution not published[3][6]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, ABS, HIPS, PC, TPU, TPE, PETG, ASA, PP, PVA, PA, PA-GF, PA-CF[1]PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS and others[3]
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Less than 50 dBA claimed by the manufacturer. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Snapmaker J1S High Speed IDEX 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Snapmaker J1s product page snapmaker.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Sovol SV08 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor