Printer comparison
Snapmaker Artisan vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Snapmaker Artisan comparisonsMore UltiMaker S5 comparisons
| Property | Snapmaker ArtisanIDEX | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Snapmaker | UltiMaker |
| Class | IDEX | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Snapmaker Artisan 3-in-1 (3D printing, laser, CNC)[1] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $2,996.00 against a $5,046.00 compare-at price on us.snapmaker.com, but marked Unavailable, checked Aug 2026[1] | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | The 3D-printing work area depends on which nozzle is used: 350 x 400 x 400 mm in dual-nozzle mode, 375 x 400 x 400 with the left nozzle only, 400 x 400 x 400 with the right nozzle only. The bed is also zoned: a 260 x 260 mm inner zone reaches 110 °C while the outer zone stops at 80 °C. A quoted "400x400x400 / 110 °C" therefore describes no single real configuration. Laser module is 10 W or 40 W[1] | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][3][4] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][3][4] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 350 x 400 x 400 mm in dual-nozzle mode (400 x 400 x 400 with the right nozzle alone)[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[2] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 580 x 620 x 634 mm bare; 665 x 943 x 705 mm with the enclosure[1] | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2] |
| Net weight (kg) | Snapmaker publishes package weights rather than a net weight: 37.3 kg (package A) plus 25.2 kg (package B); the premium bundle splits as 37.3 + 19.5 + 1.91 kg[1] | 20.6 kg[2] |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Fully assembled professional chassis[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Enclosure available; the enclosed footprint is quoted separately at 665 x 943 x 705 mm[1] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | IDEX — two independently driven print heads[1] | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Z-axis lead 8 mm; X and Y leads 40 mm[1] | Not documented |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | TMC2209[1] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 180 mm/s maximum recommended print speed (manufacturer figure — a recommendation, not a peak claim)[1] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Not documented | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[2] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 °C maximum (manufacturer claim)[1] | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 0.4 mm standard; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[1] | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2] |
| Stock nozzle material (brass / hardened steel / plated copper / composite tip) | Brass standard, hardened steel optional[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 110 °C in the 260 x 260 mm inner zone; 80 °C in the outer zone[1] | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Dual-sided textured PEI sheet[1] | Heated glass build plate[2] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Not documented | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Total rated power draw | Integrated controller rated 300 W + 450 W[1] | 500 W maximum power output[2] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not named by Snapmaker; the controller runs Android and the supplied software is Snapmaker Luban, with third-party software supported[1] | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 7-inch touchscreen[1] | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, USB cable, USB flash drive[1] | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU (>=90 Shore A), breakaway support, PVA, HIPS, nylon, and carbon/glass-fibre reinforced variants[1] | Not documented |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Repeatability +/-0.05 mm (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[1] | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Snapmaker Artisan 3-in-1 product page us.snapmaker.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor