Printer comparison
Raise3D Pro3 vs UltiMaker S8
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Raise3D Pro3 comparisonsMore UltiMaker S8 comparisons
| Property | Raise3D Pro3IDEX | UltiMaker S8INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Raise3D | UltiMaker |
| Class | IDEX | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Raise3D Pro3 3D Printer[1][2] | UltiMaker S8 3D Printer[3][4] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not documented | Launched March 2025; the technical-specification and pricing announcement is dated 14 March 2025[4] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $2,999.00 on Raise3D's own store, available, checked Aug 2026[2] | Starting at $8,999 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The launch announcement quoted approximately $9,000[3][4] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | A crowded family with materially different prices: Pro3 $2,999, Pro3 Hyper Speed Package $4,999, Pro3 HS $4,599, Pro3 Plus HS $6,099. Build volume also changes with head count: 300 x 300 x 300 mm single-head, 255 x 300 x 300 mm dual-head. Raise3D's smaller E-series (E2 $1,999, E2CF $2,499, E3 $2,499) and the resin DF2 line are separate machines entirely[2][5][1] | Sold as printer-only or as a Pro Bundle. The bundle is not a trim level but a different machine footprint and weight: 495 x 500 x 1210.5 mm and 47.7 kg with the 6-spool Material Station, versus 495 x 585 x 800.5 mm and 30 kg for the printer alone. Print cores AA+ 0.40 x2 are included; BB, CC+ and DD 0.40 are separate purchases[3][4] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 300 x 300 x 300 mm with one extruder; 255 x 300 x 300 mm with both[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3][4] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 620 x 626 x 760 mm[1] | 495 x 585 x 800.5 mm printer only; 495 x 500 x 1210.5 mm as the Pro Bundle[3][4] |
| Net weight (kg) | 52.5 kg net[1] | 30 kg printer only; 47.7 kg as the Pro Bundle[3][4] |
| Frame construction & material | Fully assembled enclosed professional chassis[1] | Fully assembled, made in Europe[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Enclosed with a HEPA and activated-charcoal filter[1] | Enclosed, with an Air Manager UltiMaker says removes up to 95% of ultrafine particles[3][4] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Not documented | Build-volume temperature under 50 °C with open-loop control (manufacturer figure)[3][4] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Dual-head with an electronic lifting system[1] | Dual-extrusion print head with auto nozzle-lifting, flood detection and inductive probing. UltiMaker's Cheetah motion planner uses third-order continuous motion with corner blending[3][4] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | Not documented | Up to 500 mm/s in XY (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Max travel speed | Print-head travel speed 30-150 mm/s (manufacturer figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | Not documented | Up to 50,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Jerk / square-corner-velocity setting (exact value) | Not documented | Jerk up to 100,000,000 mm/s3 (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | Up to 35 mm3/s extrusion flow (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Dual print heads, 1.75 mm filament[1] | Dual gripper feeder with tension adjustment, release function and filament feed-rate control[3][4] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3][4] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Not documented | Swappable print cores; AA+ 0.40 x2 included, BB 0.40 / CC+ 0.40 / DD 0.40 sold separately[3][4] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 °C maximum nozzle temperature[1] | Up to 340 °C (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 0.4 mm default; 0.2, 0.6, 0.8 and 1.0 mm available[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 120 °C maximum build-plate temperature, silicone heater[1] | Up to 120 °C on a flexible PEI plate (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Flexible steel plate with BuildTak[1] | Flexible PEI plate[3][4] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Mesh levelling with flatness detection[1] | Inductive probing, integrated into the print head[3][4] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibility | Not documented | Dual spool holder with NFC recognition on the printer; the Pro Bundle substitutes a 6-spool Material Station with NFC and a dual-geared abrasion-resistant feeder[3][4] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | HEPA filter with activated charcoal[1] | Air Manager, which UltiMaker says removes up to 95% of ultrafine particles[3][4] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | Motion controller Atmel ARM Cortex-M4 at 120 MHz with FPU; logic controller NXP ARM Cortex-A9 quad-core at 1 GHz[1] | Not documented |
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | 1 GB RAM, 8 GB onboard flash, embedded Linux[1] | Not documented |
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 100-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz input; 24 V DC, 600 W output[1] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | 600 W output[1] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Embedded Linux on the logic controller; slicing is ideaMaker. Firmware base not published[1] | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura 5.10 or newer, fleet management via UltiMaker Digital Factory[3][4] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 7-inch touchscreen, 1024 x 600[1] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB 2.0 x2; live camera[1] | Wi-Fi 2.4 and 5 GHz (802.11a/b/g/n/ac), Gigabit Ethernet, USB 2.0[3][4] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Live camera fitted; resolution not published[1] | Full HD HDR camera[3][4] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, ABS, HIPS, PC, TPU, TPE, PETG, ASA, PP, PVA, nylon, composites and metal/wood-filled grades[1] | UltiMaker cites 301+ compatible materials including its own PLA, PETG, ABS, CPE, CPE+, PC, TPU and PET-CF, plus third-party grades[3] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Under 55 dB(A) while printing, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[1] | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3][4] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | Not documented | 12 months, extendable to 5 years with an UltiMakerCare plan[3][4] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | XYZ step size 0.78125 / 0.78125 / 0.078125 micron (manufacturer specification, not an accuracy measurement)[1] | Dimensional accuracy +/-0.15 mm +/-0.15% of feature nominal length (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3][4] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Raise3D Pro3 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Raise3D 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices) shop.raise3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- New UltiMaker S8 high-speed 3D printer: technical specifications and pricing 3dprintingindustry.com · 2026-08 · review
- Raise3D E2 3D Printer product page shop.raise3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor