Printer comparison
Raise3D Pro3 vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Raise3D Pro3 comparisonsMore UltiMaker S5 comparisons
| Property | Raise3D Pro3IDEX | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Raise3D | UltiMaker |
| Class | IDEX | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Raise3D Pro3 3D Printer[1][2] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[3] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $2,999.00 on Raise3D's own store, available, checked Aug 2026[2] | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | A crowded family with materially different prices: Pro3 $2,999, Pro3 Hyper Speed Package $4,999, Pro3 HS $4,599, Pro3 Plus HS $6,099. Build volume also changes with head count: 300 x 300 x 300 mm single-head, 255 x 300 x 300 mm dual-head. Raise3D's smaller E-series (E2 $1,999, E2CF $2,499, E3 $2,499) and the resin DF2 line are separate machines entirely[2][4][1] | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[3][5][6] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[3][5][6] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 300 x 300 x 300 mm with one extruder; 255 x 300 x 300 mm with both[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 620 x 626 x 760 mm[1] | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[3] |
| Net weight (kg) | 52.5 kg net[1] | 20.6 kg[3] |
| Frame construction & material | Fully assembled enclosed professional chassis[1] | Fully assembled professional chassis[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Enclosed with a HEPA and activated-charcoal filter[1] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Dual-head with an electronic lifting system[1] | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[3] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max travel speed | Print-head travel speed 30-150 mm/s (manufacturer figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[3] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Dual print heads, 1.75 mm filament[1] | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[3] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 °C maximum nozzle temperature[1] | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[3] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 0.4 mm default; 0.2, 0.6, 0.8 and 1.0 mm available[1] | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[3] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 120 °C maximum build-plate temperature, silicone heater[1] | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[3] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Flexible steel plate with BuildTak[1] | Heated glass build plate[3] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Mesh levelling with flatness detection[1] | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[3] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | HEPA filter with activated charcoal[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | Motion controller Atmel ARM Cortex-M4 at 120 MHz with FPU; logic controller NXP ARM Cortex-A9 quad-core at 1 GHz[1] | Not documented |
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | 1 GB RAM, 8 GB onboard flash, embedded Linux[1] | Not documented |
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 100-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz input; 24 V DC, 600 W output[1] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | 600 W output[1] | 500 W maximum power output[3] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Embedded Linux on the logic controller; slicing is ideaMaker. Firmware base not published[1] | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 7-inch touchscreen, 1024 x 600[1] | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[3] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB 2.0 x2; live camera[1] | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[3] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Live camera fitted; resolution not published[1] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, ABS, HIPS, PC, TPU, TPE, PETG, ASA, PP, PVA, nylon, composites and metal/wood-filled grades[1] | Not documented |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Under 55 dB(A) while printing, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[1] | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | XYZ step size 0.78125 / 0.78125 / 0.078125 micron (manufacturer specification, not an accuracy measurement)[1] | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Raise3D Pro3 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Raise3D 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices) shop.raise3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Raise3D E2 3D Printer product page shop.raise3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor