Printer comparison
QIDI X-Smart 3 vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore QIDI X-Smart 3 comparisonsMore UltiMaker S5 comparisons
| Property | QIDI X-Smart 3COREXY | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | QIDI | UltiMaker |
| Class | COREXY | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | QIDI X-Smart 3, listed in QIDI navigation as X-Smart3[1][2] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[3] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not published by QIDI on the pages checked (Aug 2026)[1][2] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $399 on QIDI's official US page, which routes purchases to its AliExpress and Amazon stores; checked Aug 2026[2] | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Entry model of the 3-series. Unlike the X-Plus 3 and X-Max 3 it has no heated chamber, a 300 °C rather than 350 °C hotend, a brass rather than copper-alloy/hardened-steel nozzle head, and no Ethernet. It shares the Cortex-A53 board with them, so control-board specs must not be read as shared print specs[1][4][5] | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[3][6][7] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[3][6][7] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 175 x 180 x 170 mm advertised[1][2] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 370 x 362 x 397 mm[1] | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[3] |
| Net weight (kg) | 10.5 kg[1] | 20.6 kg[3] |
| Frame construction & material | QIDI publishes no frame-material breakdown for this model[1] | Fully assembled professional chassis[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | No heated chamber. 3DJake's table records "Heated chamber: No"; QIDI does not describe an enclosure for this model[1] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[1][2] | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[3] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | <=500 mm/s (manufacturer claim)[1][2] | Not documented |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 20,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[2] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | 30 mm3/s extruder flow (manufacturer claim)[1][2] | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[3] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct-drive extruder, single, 1.75 mm filament[1][2] | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[3] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Brass nozzle head. 0.4 mm stock, 0.2/0.6/0.8 mm optional[1][2] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | <=300 °C claimed[1][2] | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[3] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[3] |
| Stock nozzle material (brass / hardened steel / plated copper / composite tip) | Brass[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | <=120 °C claimed[1][2] | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[3] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Double-sided flexible magnetic RF plate[1] | Heated glass build plate[3] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | 16-point automatic bed levelling per QIDI's US page; probe technology not named[2] | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[3] |
| Mesh grid size (probe point count — firmware evidence) | 16 points (QIDI's US page). Not verified against firmware[2] | Not documented |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament detection fitted; type and location not published[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Cortex-A53 64-bit at 1.5 GHz, 1 GB DDR3, 8 GB eMMC[1] | Not documented |
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 100-240 VAC, 50/60 Hz[1] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | 350 W rated[1] | 500 W maximum power output[3] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Klipper[2] | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4.3-inch touchscreen[2] | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[3] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi and USB. No Ethernet listed for this model[1][2] | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[3] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | 1-year coverage (QIDI standard store terms)[8] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- QIDI Tech X-Smart 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI X-Smart 3 official US page qidiusa.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech X-Plus 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech X-Max 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor