Printer comparison
QIDI X-Max 3 vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore QIDI X-Max 3 comparisonsMore UltiMaker S5 comparisons
| Property | QIDI X-Max 3COREXY | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | QIDI | UltiMaker |
| Class | COREXY | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | QIDI X-Max 3, listed by QIDI as "Qidi Tech X-Max 3 3D Printer" and in navigation as X-Max3[1][2] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[3] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not published by QIDI; the product page carries a discontinuation notice rather than a launch date (checked Aug 2026)[1] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $899.00 (from a $999.00 sale reference) on us.qidi3d.com but marked Sold Out and discontinued, checked Aug 2026. 3D Printers Online Store lists $1,099 USD, also out of stock[1][4] | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Same-generation siblings X-Plus 3 (280x280x270, 500 mm/s, 800 W) and X-Smart 3 (175x180x170, no chamber heating, 300 °C, 350 W). All three share the Cortex-A53 1.5 GHz / 1 GB DDR3 / 8 GB eMMC control board, so shared-board specs are not evidence of shared print specs. Replaced by the Max4[2][5][6][7] | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[3][8][9] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Discontinued and out of production; QIDI directs buyers to the Max4[1] | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[3][8][9] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 325 x 325 x 315 mm advertised[1][2][4] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 553 x 553 x 601 mm[2][4] | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[3] |
| Net weight (kg) | 30.2 kg net[2][4] | 20.6 kg[3] |
| Frame construction & material | Enclosed CoreXY chassis, fully assembled from the factory. QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[2] | Fully assembled professional chassis[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Fully enclosed, with a chamber circulation blower and activated-carbon air filter[2] | Not documented |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | 65 °C maximum, independent chamber heating (manufacturer claim)[1][2] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[2] | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[3] |
| X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size) | Linear optical axis (polished steel rod) of high-strength steel[2] | Not documented |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Double Z axis[2] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | <=600 mm/s (manufacturer claim)[1][2][4] | Not documented |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 20,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[1] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | 35 mm3/s extruder flow (manufacturer claim)[2] | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[3] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | High-flow direct-drive extruder; QIDI states a 9.5:1 gear ratio for this model[1][2] | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[3] |
| Gear ratio & drive gear material | 9.5:1[1] | Not documented |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Ceramic heating core. Two interchangeable nozzle-head sets shipped: copper alloy for standard materials, hardened steel for abrasives. 0.4 mm stock, 0.2/0.6/0.8 mm optional[1][2] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | <=350 °C claimed[1][2][4] | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[3] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[3] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | <=120 °C claimed[2][4] | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[3] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Double-sided flexible magnetic plate (QIDI's "HF" plate)[1][2] | Heated glass build plate[3] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling via Klipper adaptive meshing; probe technology not named by QIDI[1] | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[3] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament detection fitted; type and location not published[2] | Not documented |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Auxiliary part-cooling fan? | Additional (auxiliary) cooling fan fitted[2] | Not documented |
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | Chamber circulation blower with activated-carbon air filter[2] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Cortex-A53 64-bit at 1.5 GHz, 1 GB DDR3, 8 GB eMMC[1][2] | Not documented |
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 100-240 VAC, 50/60 Hz[2] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | 900 W rated[2][4] | 500 W maximum power output[3] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Klipper with the Fluidd web console. Fork and version not published[1] | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 5-inch touchscreen, 800 x 480[2] | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[3] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi (QIDI states 150M 2.4G), Ethernet, USB flash drive[2] | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[3] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | ABS, PLA, PETG, TPU, nylon, carbon fibre, PC[4] | Not documented |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | 1-year coverage[1] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- QIDI X-Max 3 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech X-Max 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Qidi Tech X-Max 3 FDM 3D Printer listing 3dprintersonlinestore.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech X-Plus 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech X-Smart 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor