3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

QIDI Plus5 vs Sovol SV08

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

QIDI Plus5 vs Sovol SV08 — documented properties and sources
PropertyQIDI Plus5COREXYSovol SV08COREXY
Identity
BrandQIDISovol
ClassCOREXYCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)QIDI Plus5, sold as "QIDI Plus5 3D Printer"[1][2]Sovol SV08 3D Printer[3][4]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Launched 5 August 2026, 09:00 EDT / 15:00 CEST[5]Not documented
Launch MSRP (USD)$749 regular launch price; a launch-window member discount put it under $700[5]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$749.00 for the standard model on us.qidi3d.com, checked Aug 2026. Other variants: Polar Cooler bundle $899.00, Plus5 Combo $899.00, Combo + Polar Cooler $1,049.00. No compare-at price listed[1]$549.00 on sovol3d.com against a $599.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026 (Canada warehouse quoted as shipping end of September)[3][4]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Four purchase variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), and Combo + Polar Cooler. The Polar Cooler is a pre-sale add-on shipping separately, so its specs are not Plus5 specs. Replaces the Plus4 (305x305x280, 450 W + 400 W chamber)[1][5]Sibling SV08 Max is a much larger 500x500x500 machine at $1,099 with a 50 mm3/s flow rate, TMC5160 XY drivers and CAN bus; the SV08 is 30 mm3/s with TMC2209s. Do not carry SV08 Max figures onto the SV08. An eddy-current scanning kit and a 5-inch touchscreen are sold as separate upgrades[4][6][7][3]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Current flagship of QIDI's large-format line as of Aug 2026; sits below the Max4 (390x390x340)[1][8]Not documented
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable320 x 320 x 300 mm advertised — QIDI states this is about 18% more volume than the Plus4[1][2][5]350 x 350 x 345 mm advertised[3][7]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)500 x 488 x 558 mm[2]550 x 537 x 575 mm. Sovol's page says this includes screen and filament holder; 3DJake says it excludes the spool holder[3][7]
Net weight (kg)29.0 kg net[2]21.5 kg gross (3DJake). Sovol does not publish a net weight[7]
Frame construction & materialEnclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[1]Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame; Sovol states the design is inspired by the Voron 2.4 and that software, firmware and hardware are open source with design files on GitHub, with $2 per unit donated to the Voron project[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFully enclosed, with a 3-stage air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[1][2]Open frame as shipped; Sovol sells an enclosure kit separately (an enclosure-kit package is listed for the SV08 Max)[3][6]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)65 °C, actively heated, 550 W chamber heater — reported as a 37.5% increase in heater power over the Plus4 (manufacturer claim)[2][5]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY[2]CoreXY[3]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)High-precision linear rails on X[1][5]Not documented
Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?)1.5GT belts, 9 mm wide — wider than the 2GT 6 mm belts common in this class[1][5]Not documented
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not documentedTMC2209[3]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)600 mm/s (manufacturer claim)[2]700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][7]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)<=20,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[2]40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][7]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documented<=30 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[3][7]
Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping
Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary)Resonance compensation listed as a feature; implementation not named on the product page[2]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive with hardened dual gears[2]Planetary-gear direct-drive extruder[3][7]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Ceramic heating-plate hotend with a bimetal nozzle; 0.4 mm standard, 0.2/0.6/0.8 mm optional[2]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)<=370 °C claimed[1][2]<=300 °C claimed[3][7]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm included; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[3]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit<=120 °C claimed, described by QIDI as an even-heating bed[1][2]<=100 °C claimed[3][7]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedAluminium silicone heated bed with a dual-sided textured PEI plate[2]Powder-coated PEI steel plate[3][7]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling using an integrated load cell; QIDI describes it as direct nozzle-contact detection[2][5]Inductive sensor plus a pressure (load) sensor. An eddy-current scanning kit is sold as an upgrade[3][7][4]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament run-out sensor, plus a filament cutter[2]Filament sensor fitted, with filament-runout resume; type and location not published[3][7]
Cooling & Air Handling
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon; QIDI claims 99.5% capture of airborne particles and dust[1][2][5]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded LinuxNot documentedAllwinner H616 quad-core Cortex-A53, 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[3][7]
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)Not documentedConflicting: Sovol's spec table says 150 W / 24 V, while 3DJake's table gives a rated power of 1000 W at both 110 V and 220 V. The two are only reconcilable if the bed is mains-heated separately from the 24 V logic supply, which Sovol does not state[3][7]
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)100/240 VAC, 50/60 Hz[2]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not stated on the product page. QIDI's slicer ecosystem is QIDI Studio, and Orca/PrusaSlicer are listed as supported[2]Klipper. Sovol publishes the design files on GitHub and describes software, firmware and hardware as fully open source[3][7]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4-inch touchscreen, 480 x 320[2]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz, Ethernet, USB; 32 GB eMMC storage plus USB 2.0 flash drive[2]Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 explicitly not supported)[3][7]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera with failure detection, up to 1080p, timelapse supported (low frame rate)[1][2][5]Camera listed as fitted by Sovol; 3DJake lists a camera as an accessory. Resolution not published[3][7]
LED chamber/toolhead lightingRGB status light[1]Not documented
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[2]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, carbon- and glass-fibre-reinforced polymers[2]PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS and others[3]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)QIDI store terms: 1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[8]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. QIDI Plus5 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. QIDI Tech Plus5 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. QIDI Plus5 launch write-up 3dprintbeginner.com · 2026-08 · review
  6. Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Sovol SV08 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor