Printer comparison
QIDI Max4 vs UltiMaker S8
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
| Property | QIDI Max4COREXY | UltiMaker S8INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | QIDI | UltiMaker |
| Class | COREXY | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | QIDI Max4, sold as "Max4 High-Temp 3D Printer"[1][2] | UltiMaker S8 3D Printer[3][4] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not published on QIDI's product page; the machine is listed as the current replacement for the discontinued X-Max 3 (checked Aug 2026)[1][5] | Launched March 2025; the technical-specification and pricing announcement is dated 14 March 2025[4] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $1,099.00 standard on us.qidi3d.com against a $1,149.00 compare-at price, checked Aug 2026. Variants: Polar Cooler bundle $1,249.00 (was $1,348.00), Max4 Combo $1,249.00 (was $1,299.00), Combo + Polar Cooler $1,399.00[1] | Starting at $8,999 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The launch announcement quoted approximately $9,000[3][4] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Four variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), Combo + Polar Cooler. Direct replacement for the X-Max 3, which it differs from on every headline figure: 390x390x340 vs 325x325x315, 800 vs 600 mm/s, 370 vs 350 °C. Do not carry X-Max 3 specs across[1][5] | Sold as printer-only or as a Pro Bundle. The bundle is not a trim level but a different machine footprint and weight: 495 x 500 x 1210.5 mm and 47.7 kg with the 6-spool Material Station, versus 495 x 585 x 800.5 mm and 30 kg for the printer alone. Print cores AA+ 0.40 x2 are included; BB, CC+ and DD 0.40 are separate purchases[3][4] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Current large-format flagship as of Aug 2026; QIDI's X-Max 3 page directs buyers here[1][5] | Not documented |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 390 x 390 x 340 mm advertised[1][2] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3][4] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 558 x 578 x 612 mm[2] | 495 x 585 x 800.5 mm printer only; 495 x 500 x 1210.5 mm as the Pro Bundle[3][4] |
| Net weight (kg) | 46.5 kg net[2] | 30 kg printer only; 47.7 kg as the Pro Bundle[3][4] |
| Frame construction & material | Enclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[1] | Fully assembled, made in Europe[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Fully enclosed with a 3-in-1 air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[2] | Enclosed, with an Air Manager UltiMaker says removes up to 95% of ultrafine particles[3][4] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | 65 °C, independent active chamber heating (manufacturer claim), with a 4-pin PWM chamber fan with RPM feedback[2] | Build-volume temperature under 50 °C with open-loop control (manufacturer figure)[3][4] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[2] | Dual-extrusion print head with auto nozzle-lifting, flood detection and inductive probing. UltiMaker's Cheetah motion planner uses third-order continuous motion with corner blending[3][4] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | 2 mm lead Z screw with an anti-backlash nut[1] | Not documented |
| Stepper motors (frame size, step angle, brand if known) | FOC closed-loop stepper motors[2] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 800 mm/s (manufacturer claim, maximum)[2] | Up to 500 mm/s in XY (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 30,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim, maximum)[2] | Up to 50,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Jerk / square-corner-velocity setting (exact value) | Not documented | Jerk up to 100,000,000 mm/s3 (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | 40 mm3/s rated flow (manufacturer claim)[2] | Up to 35 mm3/s extrusion flow (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping | ||
| Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary) | Input shaper listed as a feature[2] | Not documented |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct drive, dual hardened-steel gears, 8.9:1 reduction[2] | Dual gripper feeder with tension adjustment, release function and filament feed-rate control[3][4] |
| Gear ratio & drive gear material | 8.9:1; drive gears hardened steel[2] | Not documented |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3][4] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Multi-metal hotend with a ceramic heater and a 0.4 mm bimetal nozzle; ceramic throat[2] | Swappable print cores; AA+ 0.40 x2 included, BB 0.40 / CC+ 0.40 / DD 0.40 sold separately[3][4] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | <=370 °C claimed[1][2] | Up to 340 °C (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | <=120 °C claimed on a 390 x 390 mm bed QIDI markets as ultra-uniform (no thermal imaging published)[1][2] | Up to 120 °C on a flexible PEI plate (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Aluminium plate with silicone heater; double-sided magnetic PEI build plate[2] | Flexible PEI plate[3][4] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling; probe technology not named by QIDI[2] | Inductive probing, integrated into the print head[3][4] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament run-out sensor and filament tangle detection (tangle mechanism not described), plus a filament cutter[2] | Not documented |
| Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibility | Not documented | Dual spool holder with NFC recognition on the printer; the Pro Bundle substitutes a 6-spool Material Station with NFC and a dual-geared abrasion-resistant feeder[3][4] |
| Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade path | QIDI Box multi-colour unit supported; sold bundled as the Max4 Combo[1][2] | Not documented |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting design | Toolhead, model and auxiliary fans are all 4-pin PWM with RPM feedback; mainboard and chamber fans are closed-loop, chamber fan high-power turbo[2] | Not documented |
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | 3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon[2] | Air Manager, which UltiMaker says removes up to 95% of ultrafine particles[3][4] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 110 V / 220-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz[2] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not stated on the product page; QIDI Studio, PrusaSlicer and Orca are the supported slicers[2] | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura 5.10 or newer, fleet management via UltiMaker Digital Factory[3][4] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 5-inch touchscreen, 480 x 800[2] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, LAN, USB[2] | Wi-Fi 2.4 and 5 GHz (802.11a/b/g/n/ac), Gigabit Ethernet, USB 2.0[3][4] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | AI camera with print-failure detection[1][2] | Full HD HDR camera[3][4] |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[2] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, and glass- and carbon-fibre-filled polymers[2] | UltiMaker cites 301+ compatible materials including its own PLA, PETG, ABS, CPE, CPE+, PC, TPU and PET-CF, plus third-party grades[3] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3][4] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | 1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[1] | 12 months, extendable to 5 years with an UltiMakerCare plan[3][4] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | Dimensional accuracy +/-0.15 mm +/-0.15% of feature nominal length (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3][4] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech Max4 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- New UltiMaker S8 high-speed 3D printer: technical specifications and pricing 3dprintingindustry.com · 2026-08 · review
- QIDI X-Max 3 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor