Printer comparison
QIDI Max4 vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
| Property | QIDI Max4COREXY | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | QIDI | UltiMaker |
| Class | COREXY | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | QIDI Max4, sold as "Max4 High-Temp 3D Printer"[1][2] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[3] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not published on QIDI's product page; the machine is listed as the current replacement for the discontinued X-Max 3 (checked Aug 2026)[1][4] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $1,099.00 standard on us.qidi3d.com against a $1,149.00 compare-at price, checked Aug 2026. Variants: Polar Cooler bundle $1,249.00 (was $1,348.00), Max4 Combo $1,249.00 (was $1,299.00), Combo + Polar Cooler $1,399.00[1] | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Four variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), Combo + Polar Cooler. Direct replacement for the X-Max 3, which it differs from on every headline figure: 390x390x340 vs 325x325x315, 800 vs 600 mm/s, 370 vs 350 °C. Do not carry X-Max 3 specs across[1][4] | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[3][5][6] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Current large-format flagship as of Aug 2026; QIDI's X-Max 3 page directs buyers here[1][4] | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[3][5][6] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 390 x 390 x 340 mm advertised[1][2] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 558 x 578 x 612 mm[2] | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[3] |
| Net weight (kg) | 46.5 kg net[2] | 20.6 kg[3] |
| Frame construction & material | Enclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[1] | Fully assembled professional chassis[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Fully enclosed with a 3-in-1 air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[2] | Not documented |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | 65 °C, independent active chamber heating (manufacturer claim), with a 4-pin PWM chamber fan with RPM feedback[2] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[2] | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[3] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | 2 mm lead Z screw with an anti-backlash nut[1] | Not documented |
| Stepper motors (frame size, step angle, brand if known) | FOC closed-loop stepper motors[2] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 800 mm/s (manufacturer claim, maximum)[2] | Not documented |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 30,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim, maximum)[2] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | 40 mm3/s rated flow (manufacturer claim)[2] | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[3] |
| Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping | ||
| Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary) | Input shaper listed as a feature[2] | Not documented |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct drive, dual hardened-steel gears, 8.9:1 reduction[2] | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[3] |
| Gear ratio & drive gear material | 8.9:1; drive gears hardened steel[2] | Not documented |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Multi-metal hotend with a ceramic heater and a 0.4 mm bimetal nozzle; ceramic throat[2] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | <=370 °C claimed[1][2] | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[3] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[3] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | <=120 °C claimed on a 390 x 390 mm bed QIDI markets as ultra-uniform (no thermal imaging published)[1][2] | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[3] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Aluminium plate with silicone heater; double-sided magnetic PEI build plate[2] | Heated glass build plate[3] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling; probe technology not named by QIDI[2] | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[3] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament run-out sensor and filament tangle detection (tangle mechanism not described), plus a filament cutter[2] | Not documented |
| Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade path | QIDI Box multi-colour unit supported; sold bundled as the Max4 Combo[1][2] | Not documented |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting design | Toolhead, model and auxiliary fans are all 4-pin PWM with RPM feedback; mainboard and chamber fans are closed-loop, chamber fan high-power turbo[2] | Not documented |
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | 3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon[2] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 110 V / 220-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz[2] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | 500 W maximum power output[3] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not stated on the product page; QIDI Studio, PrusaSlicer and Orca are the supported slicers[2] | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 5-inch touchscreen, 480 x 800[2] | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[3] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, LAN, USB[2] | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[3] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | AI camera with print-failure detection[1][2] | Not documented |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[2] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, and glass- and carbon-fibre-filled polymers[2] | Not documented |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | 1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[1] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech Max4 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI X-Max 3 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor