3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

QIDI Max4 vs Sovol SV06

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

QIDI Max4 vs Sovol SV06 — documented properties and sources
PropertyQIDI Max4COREXYSovol SV06BEDSLINGER
Identity
BrandQIDISovol
ClassCOREXYBEDSLINGER
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)QIDI Max4, sold as "Max4 High-Temp 3D Printer"[1][2]Sovol SV06[3]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Not published on QIDI's product page; the machine is listed as the current replacement for the discontinued X-Max 3 (checked Aug 2026)[1][4]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$1,099.00 standard on us.qidi3d.com against a $1,149.00 compare-at price, checked Aug 2026. Variants: Polar Cooler bundle $1,249.00 (was $1,348.00), Max4 Combo $1,249.00 (was $1,299.00), Combo + Polar Cooler $1,399.00[1]Not documented
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Four variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), Combo + Polar Cooler. Direct replacement for the X-Max 3, which it differs from on every headline figure: 390x390x340 vs 325x325x315, 800 vs 600 mm/s, 370 vs 350 °C. Do not carry X-Max 3 specs across[1][4]Base model of a four-way family: SV06 (220x220x250, Marlin-era silent board), SV06 Plus (300x300x340), SV06 ACE and SV06 Plus ACE (both Klipper, ceramic hotend, camera, 4.3-inch touchscreen). ACE specs must not be applied to the non-ACE machines[3][5][6]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Current large-format flagship as of Aug 2026; QIDI's X-Max 3 page directs buyers here[1][4]No longer listed on Sovol's own store: the current 3D-printer collection contains only SV08, SV08 Max, Zero, SV06 ACE and SV06 Plus ACE. 3DJake also shows it sold out and delisted. Superseded by the SV06 ACE[7][3]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable390 x 390 x 340 mm advertised[1][2]220 x 220 x 250 mm advertised[3]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)558 x 578 x 612 mm[2]Not documented
Net weight (kg)46.5 kg net[2]Not documented
Frame construction & materialEnclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[1]Open i3-style frame, supplied as an assembly kit[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFully enclosed with a 3-in-1 air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[2]Open frame, no enclosure[3]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)65 °C, independent active chamber heating (manufacturer claim), with a 4-pin PWM chamber fan with RPM feedback[2]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY[2]Cartesian i3 bedslinger[3]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash2 mm lead Z screw with an anti-backlash nut[1]Dual Z-axis motors[3]
Stepper motors (frame size, step angle, brand if known)FOC closed-loop stepper motors[2]Not documented
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not documentedTMC2209 drivers on a 32-bit silent board (Sovol description, not verified against a board photo)[3]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)800 mm/s (manufacturer claim, maximum)[2]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)30,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim, maximum)[2]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)40 mm3/s rated flow (manufacturer claim)[2]Not documented
Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping
Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary)Input shaper listed as a feature[2]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive, dual hardened-steel gears, 8.9:1 reduction[2]All-metal direct-drive extruder with planetary gear reduction[3]
Gear ratio & drive gear material8.9:1; drive gears hardened steel[2]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Multi-metal hotend with a ceramic heater and a 0.4 mm bimetal nozzle; ceramic throat[2]All-metal hotend rated to 300 °C. MK8-style nozzle[3]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)<=370 °C claimed[1][2]300 °C claimed[3]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit<=120 °C claimed on a 390 x 390 mm bed QIDI markets as ultra-uniform (no thermal imaging published)[1][2]Not documented
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedAluminium plate with silicone heater; double-sided magnetic PEI build plate[2]Flexible PEI build surface[3]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling; probe technology not named by QIDI[2]Automatic levelling over 25 points; probe technology not stated on the listing[3]
Mesh grid size (probe point count — firmware evidence)Not documented25 points (manufacturer claim)[3]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament run-out sensor and filament tangle detection (tangle mechanism not described), plus a filament cutter[2]Not documented
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathQIDI Box multi-colour unit supported; sold bundled as the Max4 Combo[1][2]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designToolhead, model and auxiliary fans are all 4-pin PWM with RPM feedback; mainboard and chamber fans are closed-loop, chamber fan high-power turbo[2]Not documented
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon[2]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)110 V / 220-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz[2]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not stated on the product page; QIDI Studio, PrusaSlicer and Orca are the supported slicers[2]Not documented
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch touchscreen, 480 x 800[2]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi, LAN, USB[2]USB connection; micro-SD card. No Wi-Fi[3]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera with print-failure detection[1][2]Not documented
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[2]Resume-after-power-loss supported; mechanism not published[3]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, and glass- and carbon-fibre-filled polymers[2]1.75 mm filament; Sovol does not publish a per-material list for this model beyond the 300 °C hotend rating[3]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. QIDI Tech Max4 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Sovol SV06 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. QIDI X-Max 3 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Sovol SV06 Plus technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Sovol SV06 Plus ACE 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor