Printer comparison
QIDI i-Fast vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore QIDI i-Fast comparisonsMore UltiMaker S5 comparisons
| Property | QIDI i-FastIDEX | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | QIDI | UltiMaker |
| Class | IDEX | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | QIDI Tech i-Fast, also written iFast and "I-Fast"[1][2] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[3] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not published on the listings checked (Aug 2026)[1][2] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $1,899.00 at Top 3D Shop, listed as discontinued with a 5-10 business-day lead time, checked Aug 2026. 3DJake no longer sells it[2][1] | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Ships with two interchangeable dual-extruder assemblies — a standard dual head and a high-temperature dual head rated to 350 °C. Specifications quoted for one head do not apply to the other. Not to be confused with QIDI's i-Mate or the X-CF Pro[2][1] | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[3][4][5] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Discontinued; QIDI's current line is the Q, Plus and Max series[2][6] | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[3][4][5] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 330 x 250 x 320 mm advertised[1][2] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 710 x 510 x 670 mm[2] | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[3] |
| Net weight (kg) | 33 kg net[2] | 20.6 kg[3] |
| Frame construction & material | Fully assembled enclosed metal-frame machine[1] | Fully assembled professional chassis[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Fully enclosed with a heated chamber[1][2] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Dual independent extruders in an enclosed Cartesian gantry[1][2] | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[3] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 30-150 mm/s print speed range (manufacturer figure — a working range, not a peak marketing number)[2] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[3] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct-drive, two extruders. MK10-style nozzle[1][2] | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[3] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 350 °C on the high-temperature extruder assembly[1][2] | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[3] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 0.4 mm nozzle diameter[2] | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[3] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Not documented | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[3] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Not documented | Heated glass build plate[3] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Not documented | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[3] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 110-220 V[2] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | 700 W rated[2] | 500 W maximum power output[3] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not documented | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | Not documented | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[3] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, LAN, USB flash drive[1][2] | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[3] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | Carbon fibre, nylon, PETG, TPU, PC, ABS, PLA[2] | Not documented |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- QIDI Tech i-Fast technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech i-Fast Dual Extruder FDM 3D Printer listing top3dshop.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI US store full product collection us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor