3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Original Prusa XL+ Dual-Head vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Original Prusa XL+ Dual-Head vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyOriginal Prusa XL+ Dual-HeadTOOLCHANGERUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandPrusa ResearchUltiMaker
ClassTOOLCHANGERINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Original Prusa XL+, Dual-Head variant ("Prusa XL+ Dual-Head" in the e-shop variant data)[1]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)The XL+ refresh was announced on 13 August 2026, on sale immediately in all toolhead configurations, with assembled printers shipping later in August 2026 and upgrade kits for existing XL owners from around the end of August. The original Original Prusa XL predates it[3]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$2,768.52 on prusa3d.com, Aug 2026 (lowest listed price for the Dual-Head variant; the 2-toolhead Enclosure bundle starts at $3,128.70)[1]Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)One of three XL+ configurations - Single-Tool $2,128.70, Dual-Head $2,768.52, Five-Head $3,610.18 (Aug 2026). The frame, bed, electronics and 360 mm cube build volume are identical across all three; only the toolhead count, the price and the achievable multi-material workflow change. Toolheads can be added later[1][4]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][5][6]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedSuperseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][5][6]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable360 x 360 x 360 mm, which Prusa states as 46.7 litres[1]330 x 240 x 300 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)About 700 x 900 x 720 mm (Prusa's own figure is approximate)[1]495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2]
Net weight (kg)About 30 kg[1]20.6 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialAluminium extrusions and steel sheets (Prusa's comparison table for the XL)[7]Fully assembled professional chassis[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame. The Enclosure for Prusa XL+ is an optional add-on; Prusa says the printer is ready for chamber temperatures up to 60 C, that the new better-sealed enclosure reaches around 50 C on the printer's own waste heat, and that 60 C needs an upcoming chamber heater for which no shipping date has been given[1][3]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY with 1.5 mm GT belts, Input Shaper and Phase Stepping[1]Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2]
Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?)1.5 mm GT belts[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2]
Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping
Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary)Input Shaper and Phase Stepping[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNextruder direct drive; each toolhead carries its own extruder, hotend, nozzle and filament[1]Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Quick-swap nozzles - 0.25 mm for detail, 0.6/0.8 mm for speed, hardened steel for abrasives, high-flow CHT for throughput; toolheads ship with high-flow nozzles[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)290 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit120 C max heatbed temperature[1]Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedSegmented heatbed of 16 individually controlled tiles across the 360 x 360 mm surface, so only the tiles under the part are powered; removable double-sided satin print sheet supplied[1]Heated glass build plate[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Load-cell sensor - the nozzle is the probe, which Prusa says automatically accounts for nozzle changes, surface textures and thermal expansion and removes manual Z-offsets. Toolhead-to-toolhead alignment on the XL+ uses a separate permanently mounted eddy-current Tool Offset Sensor, replacing the removable mechanical pin used on the original XL[1][3]Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament sensors fitted; Prusa's comparison table lists two filament sensors for the XL[7]Not documented
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathTwo independent toolheads with automatic tool changing - two materials or two nozzle sizes in one job, with no purge tower waste between materials because each head keeps its own nozzle[1]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting design360-degree part cooling on each toolhead, new on the XL+ and matching the MK4S and CORE One arrangement; Prusa states it delivers more airflow and distributes it more evenly around the nozzle. Additional fans and heatsinks cool the electronics. Fan sizes are not published[1][3]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Custom 32-bit xBuddy electronics with STM32 (Prusa's comparison table for the XL)[7]Not documented
Total rated power drawNot documented500 W maximum power output[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Open-source firmware - Prusa states "Firmware: Open-source; ships with the full current Prusa feature set", and the XL is covered by the prusa3d/Prusa-Firmware-Buddy source tree[1][8]Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?3.5-inch 65k-colour screen with touch control (Prusa's comparison table for the XL)[7]4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)On-device touch UI; Prusa Connect and the Prusa mobile app are optional - Prusa states the machine is fully offline capable[7][1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveEthernet, optional Wi-Fi; USB drive for print files. Prusa Connect optional and fully offline operation supported[1][7]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, PETG, ASA, ABS, PC, PA (nylon), TPU, PVA, HIPS, PP, CPE, PVB and carbon-fibre composites. Prusa states an open material policy - any brand of 1.75 mm filament, no chips and no subscriptions[1]Not documented
Safety
Thermal runaway protection (verify in firmware source if at all possible)Open-source firmware on the xBuddy platform, which carries hardware overcurrent protection cutting heater and heatbed power above 15 A[9][8]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedUnder 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year warranty for consumers in the EU, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year for EU enterprises and 1 year for the rest of the world, which includes the United States. A printer bought from a reseller or privately carries 1 year from the original delivery date and is handled by the reseller. Prusa advertises 24/7 chat and e-mail support in seven languages[10][7]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedXYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Original Prusa XL+ product page (spec block and variant price data) prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Prusa blog - Better Prints, Easier Use: Prusa XL+, CORE One L+ and CORE One+ (Gen 2), Our Big Product Update (published 13 August 2026) blog.prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · doc
  4. Prusa 3D printers category listing with live e-shop prices, Aug 2026 prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Original Prusa MK4S 3D Printer product page (Technical Parameters + CORE One+/MK4S/XL comparison table) prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. GitHub - prusa3d/Prusa-Firmware-Buddy (firmware for MINI, MK4, XL and CORE One) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  9. Prusa blog - Original Prusa MK4 is here (published 29 March 2023), including the MK4 specification table and launch prices blog.prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · doc
  10. Prusa Knowledge Base - Warranty help.prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · doc