3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Original Prusa MINI+ vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Original Prusa MINI+ vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyOriginal Prusa MINI+BEDSLINGERUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandPrusa ResearchUltiMaker
ClassBEDSLINGERINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Original Prusa MINI+ Semi-assembled 3D Printer[1]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$508.33 on prusa3d.com, Aug 2026[3]Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Sold semi-assembled and, historically, as a kit; also offered in an Enclosure Bundle. Distinguish from the larger i3-family machines - the MINI+ is Bowden-fed with 2209 drivers, a 280 C nozzle ceiling and a 100 C bed, all lower than the MK3S+/MK4S. Note that Prusa's own MINI+ page carries an "Awards & Press Reviews" paragraph that is entirely about the MK3S, not the MINI+[1][4]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][5][6]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedSuperseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][5][6]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable180 x 180 x 180 mm (manufacturer figure)[1]330 x 240 x 300 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)380 x 330 x 380 mm (X x Y x Z), stated without the spool holder and external PSU - the external PSU brick needs additional desk space[1]495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2]
Net weight (kg)4.5 kg without spool holder and external PSU[1]20.6 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedFully assembled professional chassis[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame; sold with an optional Enclosure bundle[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Not documentedDual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2]
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Trinamic 2209 silent stepper drivers, with sensorless homing on the X and Y axes[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameBowden extruder with 3:1 gearing - the only current Prusa FFF machine that is not direct drive[1]Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2]
Gear ratio & drive gear material3:1 extruder gearing[1]Not documented
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)280 C claimed max nozzle temperature - lower than the 290-300 C of the i3-family machines[1]180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit100 C max heatbed temperature[1]Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedRemovable magnetic steel sheets in several surface finishes; heatbed with cold-corner compensation[1]Heated glass build plate[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)SuperPINDA inductive probe with no temperature drift, driving automatic mesh bed levelling[1]Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2]
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Custom 32-bit board of Prusa's Buddy family; the MINI/MINI+ is covered by the same Prusa-Firmware-Buddy source tree as the MK4, XL and CORE One. The exact board revision is not given on the product page[1][7]Not documented
Total rated power drawNot documented500 W maximum power output[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Open-source Prusa Buddy firmware. The source tree (prusa3d/Prusa-Firmware-Buddy on GitHub) explicitly covers the Original Prusa MINI/MINI+, MK4, XL and CORE One and was last pushed to in August 2026. Updates are applied from a USB drive, through Prusa Connect or through the Prusa mobile app[7][8]Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?2.8-inch 65k-colour graphic screen with G-code preview[1]4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)On-device colour UI with G-code preview; remote print management through Prusa Connect[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB port, RJ-45 Ethernet, optional ESP Wi-Fi module (sold separately); compatible with Prusa Connect[1]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2]
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printSemi-assembled: Prusa ships it in a small number of pre-built sections; also historically sold as a full kit[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, PETG, ASA, ABS, PC, CPE, PVA/BVOH, PVB, HIPS, PP, Flex, nGen, Nylon, Woodfill and other filled materials (Prusa's own list; the 100 C bed and open frame are the practical limit for ABS/ASA)[1]Not documented
Safety
Thermal runaway protection (verify in firmware source if at all possible)Three thermistors and fan RPM sensors are fitted, and the firmware is open-source and auditable (Prusa-Firmware-Buddy); Prusa does not describe the thermal-runaway implementation on the product page[1][7]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedUnder 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year warranty for consumers in the EU, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year for EU enterprises and 1 year for the rest of the world, which includes the United States. A printer bought from a reseller or privately carries 1 year from the original delivery date and is handled by the reseller. Prusa advertises 24/7 chat and e-mail support in seven languages[9][8]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedXYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Original Prusa MINI+ Semi-assembled 3D Printer product page (Technical Parameters + Full Features List, January 2025 Edition) prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Prusa 3D printers category listing with live e-shop prices, Aug 2026 prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Original Prusa i3 MK3S+ 10th Anniversary Edition product page (Technical Parameters + Full Features List) prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. GitHub - prusa3d/Prusa-Firmware-Buddy (firmware for MINI, MK4, XL and CORE One) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  8. Original Prusa MK4S 3D Printer product page (Technical Parameters + CORE One+/MK4S/XL comparison table) prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. Prusa Knowledge Base - Warranty help.prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · doc