Printer comparison
Markforged X7 vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Markforged X7 comparisonsMore UltiMaker S5 comparisons
| Property | Markforged X7INDUSTRIAL | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Markforged | UltiMaker |
| Class | INDUSTRIAL | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Markforged X7, current generation listed as Gen 2[1][2] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[3] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Gen 2 dated 2022[1] | Not documented |
| Launch MSRP (USD) | Approximately $69,900 USD (Aniwaa quotes the same figure in EUR)[1] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | Not documented | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Top of the X series (X3, X5, X7). Markforged's other industrial lines are different machines entirely: FX10 (CA$139,986), FX20 (CA$335,860) and Metal X Gen 2 (CA$153,986). The X7 is a composite FFF machine, not a metal printer. Pricing note: No live USD listing found. CAD Micro lists the X7 (Gen 2) at CA$90,986.00, checked Aug 2026 — Canadian dollars, not USD[2][1] | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[3][4][5] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[3][4][5] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 330 x 270 x 200 mm (Aniwaa records 17.82 L)[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 584 x 483 x 914 mm[1] | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[3] |
| Net weight (kg) | 48 kg[1] | 20.6 kg[3] |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Fully assembled professional chassis[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Enclosed industrial cabinet[1] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Continuous fibre deposition combined with fused filament fabrication[1] | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[3] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[3] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Not documented | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[3] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | Not documented | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[3] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Layer resolution down to 0.05 mm in Z[1] | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[3] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Not documented | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[3] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Not documented | Heated glass build plate[3] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Not documented | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[3] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | 500 W maximum power output[3] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not documented | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | Not documented | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[3] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Not documented | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[3] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | Composites with carbon, glass and Kevlar-reinforced polymers; elastomers (TPU); thermoplastics including PLA and PA-CF. Markforged's continuous fibre strands are carbon, fibreglass or Kevlar laid inside Onyx[1] | Not documented |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Markforged X7 (Gen 2) specification page aniwaa.com · 2026-08 · doc
- Markforged 3D printer collection (live prices, CAD) shop.cadmicro.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor