Printer comparison
Markforged Mark Two vs UltiMaker Factor 4
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Markforged Mark Two comparisonsMore UltiMaker Factor 4 comparisons
| Property | Markforged Mark TwoINDUSTRIAL | UltiMaker Factor 4INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Markforged | UltiMaker |
| Class | INDUSTRIAL | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Markforged Mark Two, current generation listed as Gen 2[1][2] | UltiMaker Factor 4[3] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Gen 2 dated 2024[1] | Announced 22 April 2024, shown at HANNOVER MESSE 2024 (22-26 April) and TCT Asia (7-9 May 2024)[3] |
| Launch MSRP (USD) | From $20,000 (approximately EUR 20,000)[1] | Starting at approximately $20,000[3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | A no-WiFi Gen 2 variant is sold alongside the standard Gen 2 at the same list price; connectivity is therefore not implied by the model name. Sits between the Onyx Pro (fibreglass only) and the X7 (much larger, 330 x 270 x 200 mm). Pricing note: No live USD listing found. CAD Micro lists the Mark Two (Gen 2) at CA$22,386.00, and separately a Gen 2 no-WiFi variant at the same CA$22,386.00, checked Aug 2026 — Canadian dollars, not USD[2][4][5] | Shares the 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope with the UltiMaker S5, S7 and S8, which is the single most contaminated figure in UltiMaker's range. What separates the Factor 4 is the actively controlled 70 °C build volume, the climate-controlled 6-spool material station holding humidity below 15%, and HEPA filtration. UltiMaker also sells a Factor 4 Plus[3] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 6.5 L (Aniwaa's figure). Exact XYZ not stated on the sources checked[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 584 x 330 x 355 mm[1] | Not documented |
| Net weight (kg) | 16 kg[1] | Not documented |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Enclosed desktop cabinet[1] | Enclosed with actively controlled chamber airflow and a HEPA filter[3] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Not documented | Build volume temperature controlled up to 70 °C with actively controlled chamber airflow (manufacturer specification)[3] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Continuous fibre deposition combined with fused filament fabrication[1] | Direct-drive dual extrusion; kinematic layout not stated in the source checked[3] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Not documented | Direct-drive dual extrusion[3] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | Not documented | 340 °C maximum with the high-temperature print core (manufacturer claim)[3] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Layer thickness down to 0.1 mm in Z[1] | Not documented |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibility | Not documented | Automatic climate-controlled material handling and storage station holding humidity below 15%, storing up to six spools[3] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | Not documented | HEPA filter[3] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | Composites with carbon, glass and Kevlar-reinforced polymers; elastomers (TPU); thermoplastics including PLA and polyamides[1] | UltiMaker-branded PPS CF, PLA, Tough PLA, Nylon, PETG, PET CF and PVA, plus validated third-party materials from BASF Forward AM, Kimya, Polymaker, LEHVOSS and Jabil[3] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | Dimensional accuracy within +/-0.2 mm or +/-0.2% of feature nominal length; UltiMaker states it tested over 95% print-completion success. Manufacturer figures, not independent measurements[3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Markforged Mark Two (Gen 2) specification page aniwaa.com · 2026-08 · doc
- Markforged 3D printer collection (live prices, CAD) shop.cadmicro.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker Factor 4: technical specifications and pricing 3dprintingindustry.com · 2026-08 · review
- Markforged X7 (Gen 2) specification page aniwaa.com · 2026-08 · doc
- Markforged Onyx One desktop composite 3D printer listing exbuild.com · 2026-08 · vendor