3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Creality K2 SE vs Original Prusa XL+ Single-Tool

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Creality K2 SE vs Original Prusa XL+ Single-Tool — documented properties and sources
PropertyCreality K2 SECOREXYOriginal Prusa XL+ Single-ToolCOREXY
Identity
BrandCrealityPrusa Research
ClassCOREXYCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Creality K2 SE; marketed "K2 SE Open-frame Multicolor 3D Printer"; sold as bare printer and as "K2 SE Combo" (with 1x CFS). Internal ID Creality_K2_SE[1]Original Prusa XL+, Single-Tool variant ("Prusa XL+ Single-Tool" in the e-shop variant data)[2][3]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Announced/first shown: IFA Berlin, Sept 2025 (month inferred from IFA's fixed early-September calendar — All3DP says only "the IFA Berlin consumer technology show last year"). Shipping to customers by late Dec 2025[4]The XL+ refresh was announced on 13 August 2026, on sale immediately in all toolhead configurations, with assembled printers shipping later in August 2026 and upgrade kits for existing XL owners from around the end of August. The original Original Prusa XL predates it[5]
Launch MSRP (USD)Not published[6]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)Creality store: $279 base / $499 top option (two JSON-LD offers, SKUs 1002110184 and 1002110173). Creality's K2-series collection page renders the tile as "K2 SE 3D Printer — From 279.00", so $279 is the bare printer and $499 the Combo. Amazon US: $248.99 (17% off ≈$299 list). Tom's Hardware: "under $250" (-17%). Notebookcheck (EU): EUR 669.99 list / EUR 479 deal — *paid advertorial, see note*[7]$2,128.70 on prusa3d.com, Aug 2026 (lowest listed price for the Single-Tool variant; the Enclosure bundle starts at $2,610.19)[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)K2 SE 220x215x245 (open frame, no aux fan, no filtration, nozzle_volume 178, creality_flush_time 135) - K2 SE 4C 220x215x245 but 355x355x715 mm / 11.64 kg / 4 integrated slots - K1 SE 220x220x250 (nozzle_volume 200, flush 119; also a K1 SE_CFS-C variant) - K1C 220x220x250 (aux fan, brass nozzle, 600 mm/s) - K2 260x260x260 (aux fan 1, air filtration 1, nozzle_volume 183, flush 86) - K2 Pro 300x300x300 (heated chamber, bed 110 C) - K2 Plus 350x350x350 (heated chamber, max_accel 30000)[8]The XL+ is sold in Single-Tool, Dual-Head and Five-Head variants at $2,128.70, $2,768.52 and $3,610.18 respectively (Aug 2026), plus Enclosure bundles and a Critical Infrastructure edition. The frame is the same in all of them - Prusa states the frame is ready for toolheads to be added at any time - so build volume, bed and electronics figures are shared and only the toolhead count and price differ. The XL+ is itself a revision of the Original Prusa XL: the older XL aligned toolheads with a mechanical pin, the XL+ uses a dedicated electronic sensor, adds a nozzle wiper and is claimed to print 10-15% faster[2][3]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Cheapest member of the K2 family ($279 base, vs K2 $399 / K2 Pro $599 / K2 Plus $999 / K2 Plus Combo $1,199 on Creality's own K2-series collection page, 2026-08-19); entry-level open-frame multicolor. No successor or discontinuation announced, but it is no longer the newest K2-family listing: Creality now also lists a "K2 SE 4C" (finding 5)[9]Current model; an Original Prusa XL to Prusa XL+ upgrade kit is sold for existing owners[3]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable220 x 215 x 245 mm advertised. Vendor profile: printable_area = 0x0,220x0,220x215,0x215, printable_height = 245[10]360 x 360 x 360 mm, which Prusa states as 46.7 litres[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)Manual: 355 x 355 x 482 mm. Creality support page: "Printer Dimension 355*355*482 mm". Store spec table: "Printer Dimensions 834 x 355 x 482 mm" *and* "Combo Dimensions 834 x 355 x 482 mm"[11]About 700 x 900 x 720 mm (Prusa's own figure is approximate)[2]
Net weight (kg)10.58 kg[12]About 30 kg[2]
Frame construction & material"frame parts die-cast from aerospace aluminum alloy... also corner gussets and crossbeams to reinforce the frame"[13]Aluminium extrusions and steel sheets (Prusa's comparison table for the XL)[14]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame — no walls, no door, no lid[15]Open frame. The Enclosure for Prusa XL+ is an optional add-on; Prusa says the printer is ready for chamber temperatures up to 60 C, that the new better-sealed enclosure reaches around 50 C on the printer's own waste heat, and that 60 C needs an upcoming chamber heater for which no shipping date has been given[2][5]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Not applicable — open frame, no chamber. Vendor profile support_chamber_temp_control = 0[16]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY (moving gantry, Z-moving bed)[17]CoreXY with 1.5 mm GT belts, Input Shaper and Phase Stepping[2]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)Smooth/optical shafts, 2 off ("X-axis optical shaft 1", "X-axis optical shaft 2"). Diameter[18]Not documented
Y-axis guide typeSmooth/optical shafts, 2 off ("Y-axis optical shaft 1", "Y-axis optical shaft 2"). Diameter[19]Not documented
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashManual's lubrication diagram labels 3 lead screws ("Lead screw 1/2/3") and 3 Z optical shafts ("Z-axis optical shaft 1/2/3"). Motor count and sync mechanism[19]Not documented
Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?)Not published[20]1.5 mm GT belts[2]
Stepper motors (frame size, step angle, brand if known)Extruder: SKU 4004100088 K2 SE Extruder Stepper Motor_36-20_E Axis. X/Y/Z: store lists only "XYE Motor: Step motors"[21]Not documented
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not published[22]Not documented
Microstepping / interpolation settings (firmware evidence)Not published[23]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)<= 500 mm/s[24]Not documented
Recommended/typical print speedVendor default profile "0.20mm Standard @Creality K2 SE 0.4 nozzle": outer_wall_speed 200, inner_wall_speed 300, sparse_infill_speed 270, internal_solid_infill_speed 250, top_surface_speed 150, initial_layer_speed 60, bridge_speed 20[25]Not documented
Max travel speedTravel_speed = 500 mm/s (process); machine ceiling machine_max_speed_x/y = 800 mm/s[26]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)Store spec table & hero: <= 20000 mm/s2; official support page spec table: <= 2000 mm/s2[27]Not documented
Firmware velocity limit (`max_velocity` or Marlin equivalent — exact value)Machine_max_speed_x = 800, machine_max_speed_y = 800, machine_max_speed_z = 30, machine_max_speed_e = 100 (mm/s)[28]Not documented
Firmware acceleration limit (`max_accel` / `DEFAULT_MAX_ACCELERATION` — exact value)Machine_max_acceleration_x = 20000, _y = 20000, _z = 500, _e = 5000, _extruding = 20000, _travel = 20000, _retracting = 5000 (mm/s2). Process defaults: default_acceleration 10000, travel_acceleration 10000, outer_wall_acceleration 5000, inner_wall_acceleration 5000, top_surface_acceleration 2000, initial_layer_acceleration 1000[29]Not documented
Jerk / square-corner-velocity setting (exact value)Machine_max_jerk_x = 20, _y = 20, _z = 5, _e = 10. Process: default_jerk 10, outer_wall_jerk 8, top_surface_jerk 10, travel_jerk 10[29]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)No headline claim published. Vendor per-filament caps (filament_max_volumetric_speed): Hyper PLA 23 (this is the machine's *default* filament), Hyper ABS 23, Generic PLA 14, Generic ABS 12, Generic ASA 12, HP-ASA 12, Generic PETG 12, Generic TPU 3, HP-TPU 3 mm3/s[30]Not documented
Max volumetric flow independently measured (mm³/s, method)Not published[31]Not documented
Real-world speed benchmarks (e.g. Benchy time from third-party tests)Not established[32]Not documented
Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping
Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary)Yes — "Input Shaping: Yes"; implementation is Klipper input shaping (gcode_flavor: klipper)[33]Input Shaper and Phase Stepping[2]
Accelerometer: present? model (ADXL345 / LIS2DW12 / …), location(s), countPresence, model, count and location all unpublished[34]Not documented
Calibration mode: automatic per-print / user-run routine / factory-fixed valuesUser-run routine, recommended every 300 cumulative print hours ("Optimization of vibration veins", listed alongside "Auto Leveling" and "Equipment self-test")[35]Not documented
Shaper type & default frequencies (firmware evidence preferred)Not published[36]Not documented
Effectiveness evidence (ringing/VFA tests from reviews)Not published[37]Not documented
Extrusion Pressure Control
Pressure advance (Klipper) / linear advance (Marlin) supported?Yes — Klipper pressure advance; every K2 SE filament profile carries a pressure_advance value, and 6 of the 9 profiles also set enable_pressure_advance: 1[38]Not documented
Enabled by default? Factory value? (firmware evidence)NOT enabled in the machine's default filament profile. enable_pressure_advance is 0 in Hyper PLA (which the machine profile names as its default_filament_profile), 0 in Hyper ABS and 0 in HP-TPU; it is 1 in Generic PLA / ABS / ASA / PETG / TPU and HP-ASA. Factory pressure_advance values (present in every profile, active only where the flag is 1): Hyper PLA 0.05, Hyper ABS 0.02, Generic PLA 0.04, Generic ABS/ASA/HP-ASA 0.044, Generic PETG 0.08, Generic/HP TPU 0.4[39]Not documented
Auto-calibration for PA/LA? How does it work?Not published[40]Not documented
Any physical nozzle pressure / load-cell extrusion sensing?No — the load-sensing element on this machine is a strain gauge used for bed leveling, not for extrusion force[41]Not documented
Related settings (PA smooth time etc., firmware values)Not published[42]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive, "Dual-gear direct drive extruder", marketed "Next-Gen Extruder"; manual calls it "Proximal extrusion"[43]Nextruder direct drive; each toolhead carries its own extruder, hotend, nozzle and filament[2]
Gear ratio & drive gear materialNot published[44]Not documented
Filament diameter1.75 mm[45]Not documented
Filament path (PTFE-lined? all-metal? reverse bowden?)Reverse-bowden: spool holder ("material barrel") -> PTFE tube -> extruder; with CFS, CFS -> 70 cm PTFE -> buffer -> 55 cm PTFE -> extruder. Extruder has a push-fit tube connector[46]Not documented
Claimed extrusion force / grip (if published)Not published[47]Not documented
Auto load/unload routineYes — on-screen "Extrude" auto-heats to the filament's target temp then feeds; "Retract" moves the toolhead to the left-front, cuts the filament and retracts. With CFS, loading is automatic on insertion[48]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Proprietary K2 SE "hotend kit" — heat sink + heat break + heater + thermistor as a serviceable module, retained by 2 screws, thermal paste on the heat break; marketed "Quick-Swap Nozzle"[49]Quick-swap nozzles - 0.25 mm for detail, 0.6/0.8 mm for speed, hardened steel for abrasives, high-flow CHT for throughput; toolheads ship with high-flow nozzles[2]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Claimed <= 300 C. Firmware limit:[50]290 C claimed max nozzle temperature[2]
Heater cartridge power (W)Not published[51]Not documented
Temperature sensor type (thermistor model / thermocouple) & ratingA thermistor is present (heater + thermistor wires unplugged during hotend replacement). Model and rating[52]Not documented
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box0.4 mm stock and the only size Creality supports in its slicer. Box contains no spare nozzle (only a 1.2 mm nozzle *cleaner*)[53]Not documented
Stock nozzle material (brass / hardened steel / plated copper / composite tip)Hardened steel[54]Not documented
Nozzle mount standard (V6 / MK8 / Unicorn / proprietary) & swap procedureScrew-in, removed/installed hot with a socket wrench; an M6 Socket Spanner ships in the toolbox. Thread standard not published[55]Not documented
Available nozzle sizes/materials (official + third-party compatibility)For official alternates; third-party compatibility unverified[56]Not documented
All-metal hotend? PTFE near melt zone?Not published[57]Not documented
Melt-zone / high-flow design details (CHT-style, length)Nozzle_volume = 178 (vendor profile). No CHT/high-flow claim made by Creality[28]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitClaimed <= 100 C. Firmware limit:[58]120 C max heatbed temperature[2]
Bed heater type (DC/AC mains) & wattagePlate 235 x 235 x 3 mm (stated in the SKU). 24 V / 280 W — INFERRED from the SKU string, not stated in prose by Creality[59]Not documented
Heat-up time to 60°C (measured preferred)Not published[60]Not documented
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedEpoxy-resin-coated spring steel, double-sided ("Double-sided epoxy resin coating, both sides can be used for printing"), "Spraying epoxy resin + spring steel plate"[61]Segmented heatbed of 16 individually controlled tiles across the 360 x 360 mm surface, so only the tiles under the part are powered; removable double-sided satin print sheet supplied[2]
Magnetic removable plate? Spare plate availability & costRemovable spring-steel plate; official purchase link published. Magnetic retention not explicitly stated. Price[62]Not documented
Bed thermal uniformity (third-party thermal imaging if available)Not published[63]Not documented
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Strain gauge (nozzle-touch load sensing) — official spare SKU 4001010038 Strain Gauge_Leveling Sensor, with a dedicated replacement procedure[64]Load-cell sensor - the nozzle is the probe, which Prusa says automatically accounts for nozzle changes, surface textures and thermal expansion and removes manual Z-offsets. Toolhead-to-toolhead alignment on the XL+ uses a separate permanently mounted eddy-current Tool Offset Sensor, replacing the removable mechanical pin used on the original XL[2][5]
Mesh grid size (probe point count — firmware evidence)Not published[65]Not documented
Auto Z-offset (nozzle-touch etc.) or manual (paper method)?Yes, automatic — "Full-auto leveling"; the nozzle-touch strain gauge establishes Z by contact, so no paper method[66]Not documented
Manual leveling screws/knobs present?Not published[67]Not documented
Gantry-leveling / Z-tilt routine?Not published[68]Not documented
Leveling workflow (forced per print? saved mesh? adaptive mesh?)Opt-in per print: "Check the Print Calibration to enable the auto-leveling function" / "Selecting print calibration can improve print quality". Marketed as adaptive: "Faster leveling of only the target print area"[69]Not documented
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Photoelectric (optical) — SKU 4001090036 Multi-Color Upgrade Kit Material Break Detection Module_Photoelectric_Wireless; store: "built-in run-out sensor"; manual references an "out-of-material detection light"[70]Filament sensors fitted; Prusa's comparison table lists two filament sensors for the XL[14]
Tangle/snag detection (exact mechanism, if any — do not accept marketing wording at face value)No distinct mechanism documented by Creality[71]Not documented
Clog detection (mechanism, if any)Not published[72]Not documented
Filament change support (M600 / UI-driven)UI-driven from the touchscreen (Filament -> Extrude / Retract); machine_pause_gcode = PAUSE; toolchange macro change_filament_gcode present (spiral lift, move to X42 Y180)[73]Not documented
Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibilityExternal "material barrel" spool holder installed by the user at unboxing; one CFS holds 4 spools. Max spool diameter/width not published; drybox compatibility: SpacePi X4 Filament Dryer is listed as an optional accessory[74]Not documented
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathYes — CFS. 1 CFS = 4 spools; up to 4 CFS = 16 colours; connected over an RS-485 interface ("485Communication Interface" on the machine diagram; "either of the two 485 ports on CFS" — both verified verbatim); RFID filament recognition (CFS-side; the support page lists "RFID Sensor in Printer: Optional"); automated magnetic filament cutter; single_extruder_multi_material = 1, creality_flush_time = 135[75]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designOne — SKU 3205010491 Part Cooling Fan_4020_24V (40 x 20 mm, 24 V). Ducting design not documented[76]360-degree part cooling on each toolhead, new on the XL+ and matching the MK4S and CORE One arrangement; Prusa states it delivers more airflow and distributes it more evenly around the nozzle. Additional fans and heatsinks cool the electronics. Fan sizes are not published[2][5]
Auxiliary part-cooling fan?No — auxiliary_fan = 0[77]Not documented
Heatbreak/hotend fanYes — SKU 3205010476 Axial Fan_3010_24V (30 x 30 x 10 mm, 24 V), on a removable bracket, plus heat sink SKU 3205040114 (34 x 31 x 10.8 mm)[78]Not documented
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Store spec table: "Air Purifier \ Yes" vs. Creality's own support page: "Air Filter \ No". Vendor profile: support_air_filtration = 0; all nine K2 SE filament profiles: activate_air_filtration = 0. Official parts list contains no filter/carbon/HEPA SKU[79]Not documented
Electronics bay coolingNot published[80]Not documented
Fan control (PWM? RPM feedback? firmware evidence)On-screen "fan calibration" is offered; PWM/RPM feedback[81]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Mainboard SKU 4002020086 K2 SE Mainboard_CR4CU220812S12K1_32; official firmware image named CR4CU220812S11_ota_img_*. Toolhead board SKU 4002010057 K2 SE Toolhead Board_GD32F303CBT6. Main MCU chip marking[82]Custom 32-bit xBuddy electronics with STM32 (Prusa's comparison table for the XL)[14]
Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded LinuxStorage 8 GB eMMC. SoC and RAM[83]Not documented
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)Power Supply Kit SKU 4004170031 Power Supply Kit_100-120/200-240V. Brand, wattage and rail voltage not stated; bed runs on a 24 V rail[84]Not documented
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)100-120 V / 200-240 V, 50/60 Hz — with a MANUAL slide switch (115 V / 230 V), not auto-sensing[85]Not documented
Total rated power draw350 W[86]Not documented
Expansion headers / spare ports (fans, steppers, GPIO, USB host)USB-A host port for flash drives; RS-485 interface for CFS (2 ports on the CFS, 1 on the printer); camera header J10 on the mainboard. ~~Ethernet~~[87]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Creality Klipper fork on embedded Linux (gcode_flavor: klipper). Officially published: BOTH V2.3.6.43 and V2.3.6.49, each with releaseTime 1773244800000 = 2026-03-11 and its own release notes in the support page's firmwareList; the download widget surfaces.43. Support-supplied only (not on the page): V2.3.6.57, V2.3.6.66[88]Open-source firmware - Prusa states "Firmware: Open-source; ships with the full current Prusa feature set", and the XL is covered by the prusa3d/Prusa-Firmware-Buddy source tree[2][89]
Source code availability (repos, GPL compliance status, last update date)Klipper fork sources are published, but no K2 SE machine configuration is[90]Not documented
Root/SSH access: possible? official or community methodNo verified K2 SE method[91]Not documented
Moonraker / Mainsail / Fluidd or other open API available (stock vs after mods)?Not available stock; no K2 SE port found[92]Not documented
Notable community firmware/mods (names, repos, what they add)None specific to the K2 SE found[93]Not documented
Firmware update mechanism (OTA/USB) & update cadence historyOfficial: "OTA Firmware Updates: Yes". In practice owners also flash.img files from a FAT32 USB stick. Observed cadence: V2.3.6.43 (Mar 11 2026) ->.49 ->.57 ->.66[94]Not documented
G-code flavor & notable custom G-codes/macrosKlipper flavour. Custom macros: START_PRINT EXTRUDER_TEMP=... BED_TEMP=..., END_PRINT, PAUSE; use_relative_e_distances = 1; emit_machine_limits_to_gcode = 1; arcs used in the toolchange macro (G2... I0.86 J0.86 P1)[95]Not documented
Root shell: exact method (official setting toggle / vendor-documented / community exploit / none). Is root persistent across OTA firmware updates, or wiped each update?No root method for the K2 SE exists in any source[96]Not documented
Userland: OS base (Debian/Ubuntu/Buildroot/OpenWrt/busybox-only), package manager present (`apt`/`opkg`/`ipkg`/none), CPU architecture (armv7 / aarch64 / mips / x86), and free space on the writable partition. A busybox/no-apt rootfs with a few MB free is a red flag — say so.For every sub-part on this model[97]Not documented
Native Tailscale feasibility: can `tailscaled` run persistently on-device? Cite concrete evidence — community guides, wiki entries, forum posts, or repos of people actually doing it on THIS model. Note whether it needs `/dev/net/tun` (kernel TUN support) and whether the kernel provides it, plus whether userspace-networking mode is the only option. Distinguish "someone did it" from "should theoretically work."No one has done it on a K2 SE, and the only expert statement on the platform is negative[98]Not documented
SSH daemon: present by default or must be installed/enabled? Default credentials if documented. Does an OTA update disable it or reset the password?Not published[99]Not documented
Filesystem persistence: is the rootfs read-only or overlay-mounted? Do user-installed binaries and init/systemd services survive reboot and survive firmware updates? Is there a supported place to persist customizations?Not published[100]Not documented
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?3.97-inch colour touchscreen, 480 x 800 px[101]3.5-inch 65k-colour screen with touch control (Prusa's comparison table for the XL)[14]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)5 sections (Home, Adjustment, Files, Function settings, Help): live temperatures, print progress, axis moves, filament load/unload, file browse/print, network & camera settings, machine info, log export, wiki access, Self-check, CFS filament mapping with per-slot colour/type editing, humidity indicator, per-object exclusion mid-print[102]On-device touch UI; Prusa Connect and the Prusa mobile app are optional - Prusa states the machine is fully offline capable[14][2]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveStore: "File Transfer: USB Drive/Ethernet/Creality Cloud". Support page: "File Transfer: USB, WiFi". Manual spec row: "Print Interface: USB drive printing / Local Area Network Printing / Creality Cloud Printing" (interface-agnostic). 8 GB eMMC internal. WiFi band/standard:[103]Ethernet, optional Wi-Fi; USB drive for print files. Prusa Connect optional and fully offline operation supported[2][14]
Cloud service & phone app; LAN-only mode possible?Creality Cloud (web + "Creality Cloud" phone app, bind by QR code on screen). LAN printing supported via Creality Print by IP. Whether a true cloud-free/LAN-only mode is enforceable:[104]Not documented
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Not included — optional accessory. Store spec table lists "AI Camera \ -". Compatible unit is the K1-series AI camera (1080p); the cable is not included and must be bought separately (P/N 3103110566 -> mainboard port J10). Framerate:[105]Not documented
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?Timelapse: claimed by Creality — support page lists "AI Camera for Monitoring (Timelapse supported): Optional" and "AI Camera for Calibration (Timelapse supported): Optional". Live monitoring via Creality Cloud/Print. AI failure ("spaghetti") detection:; fps; behaviour untested by anyone[106]Not documented
LED chamber/toolhead lightingPresent — machine_LED_light_exist = 1; store spec "Lighting Kit \ Yes"[107]Not documented
Calibration Routines & QoL
One-touch auto-calibration suite: what exactly does it calibrate?On-screen Self-check (Settings -> System -> Self-check -> Select All -> Start detecting) plus auto leveling and fan calibration; maintenance schedule also lists "Optimization of vibration veins" and "Equipment self-test"[108]Not documented
PID autotune exposed to user?Not published[109]Not documented
Flow-rate calibration toolingOn-device[110]Not documented
Belt tension check/indicatorsNot published[111]Not documented
First-layer inspection featuresNo — scan_first_layer = 0[28]Not documented
Skew calibrationNot published[112]Not documented
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printShips nearly assembled: install the touchscreen and the material barrel (spool holder), remove three shipping screws (a, b, c), connect power, select language, clear debris from "the green cube", then follow on-screen calibration. Time:[113]Not documented
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Feature present ("Power Loss Recovery: Yes"). Mechanism entirely undocumented — no statement of capacitor, EEPROM, or state-file-on-shutdown[114]Not documented
Verified working? Third-party test results; resume seam qualityNobody has tested it[115]Not documented
Filament-runout pause/resume behaviorPrint pauses and waits for the owner: "Insert consumables and proceed with the feeding operation once the out-of-material detection light is on." machine_pause_gcode = PAUSE[116]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listStore & support spec: "PLA/PETG/TPU 95A/PLA-CF". Manual p.02: "Hyper PLA/PLA/TPU 95A/PETG" (no PLA-CF). Vendor slicer default_materials additionally lists Hyper ABS, Generic ABS, Generic ASA, CR-ABS, Generic PLA-Silk, CR-Silk, Hyper PETG, CR-PLA, CR-PETG, Hyper PLA-CF[117]PLA, PETG, ASA, ABS, PC, PA (nylon), TPU, PVA, HIPS, PP, CPE, PVB and carbon-fibre composites. Prusa states an open material policy - any brand of 1.75 mm filament, no chips and no subscriptions[2]
PLA/PETG/TPU results & constraints (min TPU shore hardness)PLA: Generic 220 C nozzle (range 190-240), bed 60 C, 14 mm3/s, flow 0.95, PA 0.04 — Hyper PLA (the machine default) 220 C, bed 60 C, 23 mm3/s, PA 0.05. PETG: Generic 250 C (range up to 270), bed 80 C, 12 mm3/s, PA 0.08. TPU: officially 95A minimum hardness; 220 C (first layer 230), bed 35-40 C, 3 mm3/s, PA 0.4; HP-TPU identical at 3 mm3/s, bed 40 C[118]Not documented
ABS/ASA feasibility (enclosure/chamber constraints, warping reports)Profiles exist and were opened: Generic ABS 260 C / 90 C bed / 12 mm3/s / PA 0.044; Generic ASA 260 C / 90 C / 12 / PA 0.044 (temperature_vitrification: 110); HP-ASA identical to Generic ASA; Hyper ABS 260 C / 90 C / 23 mm3/s / PA 0.02; plus CR-ABS — but ABS/ASA are excluded from the official supported list, and the machine is open-frame with no chamber heating (support page: "Chamber Temperature: No")[119]Not documented
PC / Nylon / CF-filled feasibility (nozzle & extruder wear constraints)PC and Nylon: not supported — no profiles ship, 300 C nozzle cap and no heated chamber. PLA-CF: officially supported (Generic PLA-CF and Hyper PLA-CF profiles both ship), aided by the hardened-steel nozzle[120]Not documented
Effective material ceiling given hotend+bed+chamber limits (reasoned, cite limits)PLA / PETG / TPU 95A / PLA-CF. ABS/ASA technically slicable but unsupported and warp-prone. No PC, no PA/Nylon, no high-temp engineering polymers. Reasoned from: nozzle <= 300 C (slicer-permitted max 280), bed <= 100 C (highest preset 90), no enclosure, no chamber heating, single 4020 part fan, no aux fan, 23 mm3/s flow cap on the default Hyper PLA profile (14 on Generic PLA)[121]Not documented
Filament profile ecosystem in the recommended slicer20 official K2 SE filament profiles in Creality Print (6.0+ required; current release 7.2.1.5476, Aug 04 2026): CR-ABS, CR-PETG, CR-PLA, CR-Silk, Generic ABS, Generic ASA, Generic PETG, Generic PLA, Generic PLA-CF, Generic PLA-Silk, Generic TPU, HP-ASA, HP-TPU, Hyper ABS, Hyper Marble, Hyper PETG, Hyper PLA, Hyper PLA-CF, Hyper Stardust, Soleyin Ultra PLA (all "@Creality K2 SE 0.4 nozzle"), plus 3 process profiles (0.16/0.20/0.24 mm) and 2 machine profiles[122]Not documented
Safety
Thermal runaway protection (verify in firmware source if at all possible)Could not be verified in source[123]Open-source firmware on the xBuddy platform, which carries hardware overcurrent protection cutting heater and heatbed power above 15 A[124][89]
Certifications (UL/ETL/CE/FCC — verify, don't assume)No UL/ETL/CE/FCC mark stated[125]Not documented
Hardware safety: fusing, strain reliefs, belt covers, pinch pointsOpen frame: hot bed, nozzle and moving CoreXY gantry are all exposed. Manual warnings: don't touch nozzle/bed during operation; don't wear gloves near moving parts (entrapment/crushing/cutting); children must be supervised; "Hot parts!... Wait one-half hour after switching off"; grounded three-prong outlet required; don't hot-plug wires[126]Not documented
Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values)Not published[127]Not documented
Known safety incidents / recalls / fire reports (with sources)None found[128]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)No official dB claim found. No independent measurement exists. A "~50 dB" figure circulates[129]Not documented
Silent/quiet mode available?Vendor slicer profile says no silent mode is exposed (silent_mode = 0), but Creality's official firmware release notes for V2.3.6.49 say "Reduced XY motor noise; optimized Z motor for silent mode", i.e. the printer itself has a silent mode[130]Not documented
Power draw: idle / PLA print / high-temp print (measured preferred)Only the 350 W nameplate rating is published[131]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)"Up to 12-Month Warranty", 14-day return & refund, "Lifetime Customer Support" (Creality store). Reputation: mixed — inconsistent handling and 2-3 day response times reported[132]2-year warranty for consumers in the EU, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year for EU enterprises and 1 year for the rest of the world, which includes the United States. A printer bought from a reseller or privately carries 1 year from the original delivery date and is handled by the reseller. Prusa advertises 24/7 chat and e-mail support in seven languages[133][14]
Common failure points (from long-term reviews/forums, with sources)Owner-reported: (a) extruder gears skipping/jamming momentarily, causing rips in prints — the reporting owner later attributed it to Creality Hyper PLA and resolved it by changing filament brand; (b) clogging with multiple components replaced under warranty; (c) firmware V2.3.6.66 locking the UI into Chinese with no reachable language selector[134]Not documented
Spare parts availability & pricing (nozzle, hotend, plate, board, belts)Mixed availability, no published prices. Official K2 SE parts list has exactly 21 SKUs — verified in full: PSU kit 4004170031, mainboard 4002020086, toolhead cable 4006030062, screen kit 4001050100, screen cable 4006030063, heat-break fan 3205010476, heat sink 3205040114, extruder stepper 4004100088, toolhead board 4002010057, hotend heat-insulation sleeve x3 4004010297, model cooling fan 3205010491, hot-bed plate kit 4001040067, filament-break module 4001090036, cutter kit x3 4004010279, strain gauge 4001010038, UK/CN/US power cords 3103120074/3103120071/3103120029, tube cutter 4004010188, general tool kit 4006010067, maintenance toolkit 4006010031[135]Not documented
Community size (subreddit size, wiki quality, Discord/Facebook groups)Small. No K2 SE subreddit or dedicated wiki beyond Creality's own; Creality-forum K2 SE threads number a handful with single-digit reply counts; K2 SE threads are scattered across "Flagship K Series" and "Creality Flagship K2 Pro & K2" sub-forums[136]Not documented
Mod/upgrade ecosystemEffectively none for the K2 SE. Official upgrade path is CFS (up to 4 units) and the optional K1-series AI camera[137]Not documented
Long-term (6–12 month) reliability reportsNot published[138]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not published[139]Not documented
Surface quality / VFA / ringing assessmentsNot published[140]Not documented
Benchmark print times (source + settings)Not established[141]Not documented
First-layer consistency reportsNot published[142]Not documented
Review scores from major outlets (list outlet + score + date)No scored review from any major outlet exists. All3DP: news article only (Matthew Mensley, Mar 2 2026), no score. LayerDepth: assigns the K2 SE no score of its own — it reports a *mined Amazon star trend* (3.0 in "Q1 2025" → 4.5 "Q3 2025" → 5.0 "Q1 2026") from 30 Amazon + 21 Google Shopping reviews, on a page that says outright "We do not fabricate hands-on testing"; the earliest quarter predates the product's existence. Creality's own store page shows 0 reviews, 0.0/5[143]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. creality.com/products/k2-se; store.creality.com/products/k2-se-combo-3d-printer; creality.com/support/k2-se; docs/k2_se_user_manual_en.pdf (PDF Title K2 SE-SM-001_说明书(EN) project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  2. Original Prusa XL+ product page (spec block and variant price data) prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Prusa 3D printers category listing with live e-shop prices, Aug 2026 prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. all3dp.com/4/crealitys-new-k2-se-might-be-a-smarter-buy-than-the-k1c/ ("First shown at the IFA Berlin consumer technology show last year", pub. Mar 2 2026 — verified verb project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  5. Prusa blog - Better Prints, Easier Use: Prusa XL+, CORE One L+ and CORE One+ (Gen 2), Our Big Product Update (published 13 August 2026) blog.prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · doc
  6. Searched Creality newsroom, 3DPrintingIndustry, Tom's Hardware, All3DP, Notebookcheck for a K2 SE launch price project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  7. store.creality.com; store.creality.com/collections/k2-series (fetched 2026-08-19: "K2 SE 3D Printer — From 279.00"); amazon.com listings B0FZT1338L / B0FZHSMH7F; tomshard project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  8. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json + sibling profiles re-fetched from CrealityOfficial/CrealityPrint@master/resources/profiles/Creality/machine/ (Crealit project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  9. all3dp.com K2 SE article ("pushes the price lower, ditching the walls and door"); creality.com/products/k2-se; store.creality.com/collections/k2-series (all K2-family pri project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  10. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json; manual p.02 "Max. Build Dimensions 220*215*245mm"; store spec table project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  11. manual p.02 "Dimensions 355*355*482mm"; creality.com/support/k2-se params → Design & Build → "Printer Dimension 355*355*482 mm" (evidence/creality_support_k2se.html, foun project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  12. manual p.02 "Machine Weight 10.58kg"; store "Printer Net Weigh 10.58 kg"; creality.com/support/k2-se params → "Net Weight: 10.58 KG" (third official source, added) project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  13. store.creality.com K2 SE marketing copy project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  14. Original Prusa MK4S 3D Printer product page (Technical Parameters + CORE One+/MK4S/XL comparison table) prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  15. creality.com/products/k2-se (SEO title "K2 SE Open-frame Multicolor 3D Printer"); store badge "Open-Frame"; creality.com/support/k2-se params → "Frame: Open" ; all3dp.com project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  16. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json; all filament profiles carry chamber_temperature = 0 project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  17. creality.com/support/k2-se spec table "Motion System: CoreXY"; manual 6.2.1 lubrication diagram (separate X-axis and Y-axis shafts, three Z shafts + lead screws) project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  18. manual 6.2.1 lubrication diagram, evidence/k2_se_user_manual_en.txt project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  19. manual 6.2.1 lubrication diagram project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  20. Searched official parts list (21 SKUs — no belt SKU), store page, wiki service pages, and third-party coverage project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  21. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/parts-list; store spec table project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  22. Searched parts list, both GPL repos, and all third-party coverage project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  23. No K2 SE printer.cfg published (see finding 2); OTA image not extracted per policy project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  24. creality.com/support/k2-se; store spec table + hero copy "Max Speed: 500 mm/s*... *Data from Creality Lab" project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  25. firmware/crealityprint_process_K2SE_0.20mm.json project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  26. firmware/crealityprint_process_K2SE_0.20mm.json; firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  27. store.creality.com spec table + "Max Acceleration: 20000 mm/s2*" (footnoted "* Data from Creality Lab" — verified verbatim); creality.com/support/k2-se params → "Accelera project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  28. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  29. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json; firmware/crealityprint_process_K2SE_0.20mm.json project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  30. firmware/crealityprint_filament_K2SE_HyperPLA.json ("23");..._HyperABS.json ("23");..._GenericPLA.json ("14");..._GenericABS.json ("12");..._GenericASA.json ("12");..._HP project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  31. Searched My Tech Fun, 3DPrintBeginner, CNC Kitchen, All3DP, Tom's Hardware for a K2 SE flow test project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  32. layerdepth.com/reviews/creality-k2-se/ (self-declared non-hands-on); other content-farm pages claim "Benchy in 14 min" with no method, settings or evidence project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  33. store.creality.com spec table "Input Shaping\ project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  34. Official 21-SKU parts list contains no accelerometer/resonance-sensor SKU; no K2 SE printer.cfg; no teardown project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  35. manual 6.1 Maintenance Items, evidence/k2_se_user_manual_en.txt project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  36. Requires printer.cfg (not published) or a rooted printer (no K2 SE root method exists) project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  37. No ringing/VFA test of the K2 SE found from any measuring outlet project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  38. firmware/crealityprint_filament_K2SE_GenericPLA.json ("enable_pressure_advance": "1"), and..._GenericABS/ASA/PETG/TPU,..._HP-ASA (all "1") project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  39. firmware/crealityprint_filament_K2SE_HyperPLA.json ("enable_pressure_advance": "0", "pressure_advance": "0.05");..._HyperABS.json ("0"/0.02);..._HP-TPU.json ("0"/0.4);... project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  40. Store lists on-screen auto-calibration for "leveling and fan calibration" only; manual 6.1 lists leveling, self-test and vibration optimisation — no PA routine project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  41. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/parts-list (SKU 4001010038 Strain Gauge_Leveling Sensor); wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/replace-strain-gauge project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  42. Requires printer.cfg (not published) project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  43. store spec table "Extruder\ project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  44. Searched store, support page, manual, all wiki service pages, parts list project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  45. creality.com/support/k2-se "Filament Diameter: 1.75 mm"; firmware/crealityprint_filament_K2SE_GenericPLA.json ("filament_diameter": "1.75") project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  46. manual 3.2 and 4.1; wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/replace-extruder ("Press the tube connector and pull out the PTFE tube") project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  47. Not published on any Creality page fetched project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  48. manual 3.2 steps 3-4; 4.3 ("push it in gently, and let go after feeling the pulling force. The filament will be automatically loaded") project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  49. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/replace-hotend;.../replace-nozzle; store hero "Quick-Swap Nozzle" project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  50. creality.com/support/k2-se; store spec table; manual p.02 "Max. Nozzle Temperature 300C" project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  51. Parts list documents the hotend kit and heater wires but states no wattage; not on store/support pages project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  52. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/replace-hotend project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  53. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json (printer_variant: "0.4"); Creality Print profile listing shows only "Creality K2 SE 0.4 nozzle" whereas K2/K2 Pro/K2 P project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  54. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json ("nozzle_type": "hardened_steel", "nozzle_hrc": "0") project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  55. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/replace-nozzle ("Use the socket wrench to rotate the old nozzle counterclockwise"); manual p.03 packing list item 6 "M6 Sock project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  56. Creality Print ships only 0.4 mm machine/process/filament profiles for this model (verified via the GitHub tree API: 2 machine, 3 process, 20 filament files, all "0.4 noz project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  57. Wiki procedures describe a heat break with thermal paste and a silicone sleeve, but never state whether a PTFE liner reaches the melt zone; creality.com/support/k2-se has project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  58. creality.com/support/k2-se; store spec table; manual p.02 "Max. Heated Bed Temperature 100C" project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  59. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/parts-list — SKU 4001040067 K2 SE Hot Bed Plate Kit_24_280_235×235×3 (all 21 SKUs re-extracted verbatim) project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  60. No measured heat-up figure from any outlet; not claimed by Creality project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  61. manual 6.2.2; store spec "Build Plate\ project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  62. manual 6.2.2 ("https://vip.creality.com/en/goods-detail/2105 for purchase"); parts list SKU 4001040067 vip.creality.com · 2026-08 · doc
  63. No thermal-imaging test of the K2 SE found project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  64. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/parts-list;.../replace-strain-gauge ("Install the new strain gauge with the white adhesive side facing up"; sits under the h project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  65. Requires printer.cfg [bed_mesh] probe_count (not published); not stated on store/support/wiki project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  66. store spec "Leveling Mode\ project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  67. Manual's unboxing shows removal of three shipping screws (a, b, c) but documents no leveling knobs; parts list has no knob/spring SKU project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  68. No published printer.cfg; no routine documented on screen or in the manual project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  69. manual 4.5 and 3.3; store hero copy project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  70. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/parts-list; store marketing copy; manual 3.3 project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  71. notebookcheck.com article 1248639 ("Filament detection sensors for failure/tangling prevention"); Creality's own store/support/wiki pages describe only a run-out sensor a project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  72. Not claimed on any official page; manual treats extruder blockage as a manual maintenance task ("Solution to extruder blockage:... poke into the extruder... using an extr project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  73. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json; manual 3.2 project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  74. manual 2.1 step 2 and 3.2; store "Optional Accessories" project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  75. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json; store spec "CFS Compatibility\ project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  76. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/parts-list; wiki replace-hotend/replace-extruder refer to a single "model fan" cable project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  77. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json; filament profiles set additional_cooling_fan_speed = 0 project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  78. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/parts-list;.../replace-hotend project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  79. store.creality.com spec table; creality.com/support/k2-se params → Functionality → "Air Filter: No" (evidence/creality_support_k2se.html — present in the report's own dow project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  80. Parts list has no board-cooling fan SKU; camera-install instructions confirm the mainboard sits under a removable bottom panel project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  81. store marketing copy ("auto-calibrations such as leveling and fan calibration"); vendor profile fan_max_speed 100 / fan_min_speed 100 (PLA) project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  82. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/parts-list; creality.com/support/k2-se firmware download URLs (file2-cdn.creality.com/.../CR4CU220812S11_ota_img_V2.3.6.43.i project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  83. store spec "File Storage\ project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  84. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/parts-list (PSU SKU; bed SKU..._24_280_...; fans..._24V) project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  85. manual 2.1 ("If the mains between 100V and 120V, please select the 115V for the power supply switch with a straight screwdriver... default is 230V"); manual p.02; store " project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  86. manual p.02 "Rated Power 350W"; store & support spec tables project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  87. manual 1.1 machine diagram ("UsB flash disk port", "485Communication Interface", "Power socket switch", "Toggle Switch") + 4.1; forum.creality.com/t/k2se-camera/47535 (po project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  88. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json ("gcode_flavor": "klipper" — the only file-derived element); creality.com/support/k2-se firmwareList (both CR4CU220812 project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  89. GitHub - prusa3d/Prusa-Firmware-Buddy (firmware for MINI, MK4, XL and CORE One) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  90. GitHub tree API for CrealityOfficial/K2_Series_Klipper (truncated: false) — config dirs are only F008, F008_CR0CN240319C13, F012_CR0CN200400C10, F021_CR0CN200400C10; Crea project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  91. pellcorp/creality tree (ships rpi/printers/creality-k1se.cfg; no K2 SE entry); jamincollins/k2-improvements README (instructions are explicitly "on the K2 Plus"); Guilouz project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  92. Guilouz/Mainsail-K2 and BusPirateV5/Mainsail-K2 exist but are described as "Mainsail for Creality K2 Series" (T113 platform); no K2 SE support stated project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  93. Searched GitHub repository search and the wider web; K2-family projects found are jamincollins/k2-improvements (K2 Plus), Guilouz/Mainsail-K2, TheIncompetentCraftsman/Cre project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  94. creality.com/support/k2-se; forum.creality.com/t/k2se-firmware-upgrade/51367 (users report USB flashing; "Try using a smaller capacity USB stick. Mine was 16GB. FAT32 wit project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  95. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json (machine_start_gcode, machine_end_gcode, machine_pause_gcode, change_filament_gcode) project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  96. Full-text search of the 29-page manual (evidence/k2_se_user_manual_en.txt): zero hits for "root", "SSH", "telnet", "developer". All 11 K2 SE wiki sub-pages enumerated liv project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  97. No K2 SE rootfs artefact may be opened (policy: no image extraction); no teardown; no rooted owner report; host SoC/RAM already at M2 project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  98. Guilouz/Creality-Helper-Script-Wiki discussion #497 (feature request "Tailscale support"), maintainer reply verbatim: *"It's not a Debian here, Creality use a buildroot O project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  99. Same searches as N8; no K2 SE port scan, rooted unit or owner report found; nothing in the manual's Settings walkthrough (3.1: Home / Adjustment / Files / Function settin project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  100. Requires root or image extraction — neither available (policy forbids extracting firmware/CR4CU220812S11_ota_img_V2.3.6.49.img) project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  101. store & support spec tables ("3.97-inch color touchscreen"); wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/parts-list SKU 4001050100 Touch Screen Kit_3.97 inch_Touch_480x project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  102. manual 3.1, 3.3, 4.3-4.5; store copy ("you can simply exclude it — the rest of the prints continue unaffected"); vendor profile machine_LED_light_exist: 1 project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  103. store spec table; creality.com/support/k2-se params; manual p.02 spec table + 5.1.2 + 1.1 machine diagram project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  104. manual 5.1 (LAN Printing) and 5.2 (Creality Cloud Printing); store spec "Cloud Integration\ project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  105. store spec table + note ("This optional camera is the same model used for the K1 series AI cameras and is fully compatible with the K2 SE. The camera does not include a c project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  106. creality.com/support/k2-se params → Functionality (evidence/creality_support_k2se.html the original report tagged this row while these two official rows sat unread in its project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  107. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json; store spec table project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  108. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/replace-nozzle, /replace-hotend, /replace-extruder (all end with the identical Self-check step); store copy; manual 6.1 project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  109. Not in the manual's UI walkthrough, not on store/support pages, not in any wiki page fetched project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  110. Manual's UI tour lists no flow calibration; store mentions only leveling and fan calibration project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  111. No belt SKU in the parts list, no tensioning procedure among the K2 SE wiki service pages, nothing in the manual's maintenance table project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  112. Not documented in manual, store, support page or any wiki page fetched project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  113. manual 2.1-2.2; store copy ("Installing just the touchscreen and spool holder makes everything much simpler") project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  114. manual p.02 "Power Loss Recovery: Yes"; store spec table "Power Loss Recovery\ project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  115. No hands-on review of the K2 SE exists (finding 3); the three owner threads discuss extruder skipping, firmware language regression and camera cabling — none mentions a p project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  116. manual 3.3; firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json; creality.com/support/k2-se params → "Auto Filament Relay (With CFS): Yes" project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  117. store & support spec tables; manual p.02 ("Supported Filament: Hyper PLA/PLA/TPU 95A/PETG", verified verbatim); firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE.json (default_materia project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  118. firmware/crealityprint_filament_K2SE_GenericPLA.json;..._HyperPLA.json;..._GenericPETG.json;..._GenericTPU.json;..._HP-TPU.json (the last three fetched) project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  119. firmware/crealityprint_filament_K2SE_GenericABS.json;..._GenericASA.json,..._HP-ASA.json,..._HyperABS.json (fetched); store/support supported-filament lists; support_cham project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  120. Creality Print K2 SE filament profile listing — all 20 profiles enumerated via the untruncated git trees API, none PC/PA/PAHT/PPS; "nozzle_type": "hardened_steel"; store/ project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  121. Synthesis of H2, I1, B5/B6, L1/L2, D8 evidence above project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  122. CrealityOfficial/CrealityPrint@master git trees API for resources/profiles/Creality/{filament,process,machine} — truncated: false, 1441 / 288 / 148 entries scanned respec project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  123. No K2 SE printer.cfg published in either GPL repo (N2); the only K2 SE firmware artefact available is the 7-zip OTA image, which policy forbids extracting project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  124. Prusa blog - Original Prusa MK4 is here (published 29 March 2023), including the MK4 specification table and launch prices blog.prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · doc
  125. Full manual text searched (evidence/k2_se_user_manual_en.txt, 29 pp.) — no certification statement; store & support pages carry none; only indirect hint is the US power-c project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  126. manual NOTES 1-12 and hazard panel project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  127. Requires printer.cfg max_temp/min_temp values — not published; OTA image not extracted project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  128. Searched Creality forum K2 SE threads, general web; the three K2 SE owner threads report extruder skipping, a firmware language regression and camera cabling — no fire/th project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  129. Store & support spec tables contain no noise figure; layerdepth.com/reviews/creality-k2-se/ lists "~50dB" and attributes it to "Creality's rating, not independently verif project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  130. firmware/crealityprint_machine_K2_SE_0.4nozzle.json ("silent_mode": "0"); creality.com/support/k2-se firmware release notes for V2.3.6.49 (evidence/creality_support_k2se. project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  131. Store, support and manual all state "Rated Power 350W"; no wall-meter measurement found project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  132. store.creality.com K2 SE page badges; forum.creality.com/t/k2se-camera/47535 (some owners got cables free, others quoted ~$30 shipping after weeks of delay; chat support project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  133. Prusa Knowledge Base - Warranty help.prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · doc
  134. forum.creality.com/t/k2-se-do-not-buy-this-devil-of-a-machine-rant/50685 (opened Apr 20 2026, replies to Jul 13 2026); forum.creality.com/t/k2se-firmware-upgrade/51367 (r project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  135. wiki.creality.com/en/k2-flagship-series/k2-se/parts-list (all 21 rows extracted from evidence/wiki_k2se_parts-list.html); manual 6.2.2 (plate purchase link vip.creality.c project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  136. forum.creality.com threads 50685, 51367, 47535; GitHub repo search returned no K2 SE project project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  137. See N3/N5 evidence; store "Optional Accessories" (AI camera, Creality RFID filaments, SpacePi X4 Filament Dryer) project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  138. Earliest owner evidence Dec 27 2025 -> ~8 months of field history at 2026-08-18; no structured long-term review exists project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  139. Searched My Tech Fun (no K2-series video at all), All3DP (K2 SE = news piece; review is of K2 Pro), Tom's Hardware (deal post), Notebookcheck (deal post), 3DPrintBeginner project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  140. As V1 project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  141. layerdepth.com (explicitly non-hands-on; provides no Benchy time); other aggregation sites claim "<15 min (14 in their test)" with no settings, one attributing the figure project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  142. As V1; no owner thread addresses first-layer consistency systematically project evidence · 2026-08 · local
  143. all3dp.com/4/crealitys-new-k2-se-might-be-a-smarter-buy-than-the-k1c/; layerdepth.com/reviews/creality-k2-se/; evidence/creality_store_k2se_combo.html ("Customer Reviews\ project evidence · 2026-08 · local