3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Formlabs Form 4L vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Formlabs Form 4L vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyFormlabs Form 4LRESINUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandFormlabsUltiMaker
ClassRESININDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Formlabs Form 4L[1]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)Not documentedStarting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Same Low Force Display engine as the Form 4 but a different machine on every physical figure: 353 x 196 x 350 mm vs 200 x 125 x 210, 46 um vs 50 um pixels, 58.5 kg vs 18.3 kg, 900 W vs 480 W, two resin cartridges vs one. Formlabs lists Basic, Premium and Complete packages, whose prices are not printer-only prices, and no printer-only USD figure was found on a live listing[1]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][3][4]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedSuperseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][3][4]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable353 x 196 x 350 mm (Formlabs quotes 24.2 litres)[1]330 x 240 x 300 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)664 x 528 x 794 mm[1]495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2]
Net weight (kg)58.5 kg[1]20.6 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedFully assembled professional chassis[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidEnclosed cabinet with a UV-blocking cover. Operating temperature 18-28 C[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Masked stereolithography (MSLA) with the Low Force Display engine; straight-lift peel[1]Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedDual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documentedHeated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedHeated glass build plate[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Not documentedAutomatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2]
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)100-240 VAC, 9 A, 50/60 Hz, 900 W[1]Not documented
Total rated power draw900 W[1]500 W maximum power output[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Proprietary; print preparation is PreForm[1]Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?7-inch interactive touchscreen, 1280 x 800 (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1]4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveDual-band Wi-Fi, Gigabit Ethernet, USB-C 2.0[1]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listFormlabs resin range as for the Form 4; biocompatible materials require a B-series machine[1]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedUnder 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2]
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)XY dimensional tolerance +/-0.15% — a manufacturer specification[1]XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2]
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCDLow Force Display masking LCD with a 46 um pixel size. Formlabs does not publish the screen diagonal or pixel count[1]Not documented
Light sourceBacklight unit with uniform-wavelength LEDs behind collimating lenses, with integrated cooling[1]Not documented
Layer height range25-200 um[1]Not documented
Resin vat & feedingTwo next-generation resin cartridges. No vat capacity published[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Formlabs resin printer technical specifications (Form 4 / 4B / 4L) formlabs.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor