Printer comparison
FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra vs UltiMaker Factor 4
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra comparisonsMore UltiMaker Factor 4 comparisons
| Property | FlashForge Guider 3 UltraINDUSTRIAL | UltiMaker Factor 4INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | FlashForge | UltiMaker |
| Class | INDUSTRIAL | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra; the FlashForge spec table gives the machine name as "Guider 3 Ultra"[1] | UltiMaker Factor 4[2] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not documented | Announced 22 April 2024, shown at HANNOVER MESSE 2024 (22-26 April) and TCT Asia (7-9 May 2024)[2] |
| Launch MSRP (USD) | Not documented | Starting at approximately $20,000[2] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $2,399.00 against a $3,499.00 regular price on flashforge.com, but the listing checked is the refurbished SKU and is marked Sold out (Aug 2026)[1] | Not documented |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Top of the Guider 3 series. Build size depends on which head is used: 330 x 330 x 600 mm with one extruder, 300 x 330 x 600 mm with both. Siblings Guider 3 (300x250x340) and Guider 3 Plus (350x350x600) are both single-extruder. A refurbished SKU exists alongside the new machine, so check which one a price refers to[1][3][4] | Shares the 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope with the UltiMaker S5, S7 and S8, which is the single most contaminated figure in UltiMaker's range. What separates the Factor 4 is the actively controlled 70 °C build volume, the climate-controlled 6-spool material station holding humidity below 15%, and HEPA filtration. UltiMaker also sells a Factor 4 Plus[2] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 330 x 330 x 600 mm with a single extruder; 300 x 330 x 600 mm when both extruders are in use[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[2] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 635 x 550 x 1070 mm; packaging 775 x 690 x 1235 mm[1] | Not documented |
| Net weight (kg) | 70 kg net, 86 kg gross[1] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | Enclosed professional chassis; FlashForge describes a lightweight, stable structure for high-speed operation[1] | Not documented |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Closed design with an air filter fitted[1] | Enclosed with actively controlled chamber airflow and a HEPA filter[2] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Not documented | Build volume temperature controlled up to 70 °C with actively controlled chamber airflow (manufacturer specification)[2] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY with two extruders, per a third-party buyer's guide. FlashForge's own spec table does not state the kinematics[5][1] | Direct-drive dual extrusion; kinematic layout not stated in the source checked[2] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 10-500 mm/s printing speed, 500 mm/s maximum travel speed (manufacturer figures)[1] | Not documented |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 20,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1] | Not documented |
| Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping | ||
| Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary) | Active vibration compensation, which FlashForge says was enhanced for this model. Implementation not named[1] | Not documented |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Two extruders[1] | Direct-drive dual extrusion[2] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[2] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 350 °C maximum extruder temperature (manufacturer claim)[1] | 340 °C maximum with the high-temperature print core (manufacturer claim)[2] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 0.4 mm default; 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 120 °C bed setting supported (manufacturer figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Replaceable flexible steel-plate platform, magnetic. No glass bed[1] | Not documented |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Full-auto one-click levelling; probe technology not named[1] | Not documented |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament run-out reminder[1] | Not documented |
| Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibility | Not documented | Automatic climate-controlled material handling and storage station holding humidity below 15%, storing up to six spools[2] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | Air filter fitted; filter media not specified in the FlashForge table[1] | HEPA filter[2] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | AC 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz[1] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | 850 W maximum[1] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not named; slicers are Orca-Flashforge and FlashPrint 5, with OrcaSlicer listed as compatible[1] | Not documented |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 7-inch touch LCD[1] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | USB, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, plus cloud[1] | Not documented |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Remote camera monitoring and time-lapse video supported; resolution not published[1] | Not documented |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Power-loss recovery supported; mechanism not published. Automatic shutdown also supported[1] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, ABS, HIPS, ASA, PETG, CoPA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, PAHT-CF, PAHT-GF, PET-CF, PET-GF, PA12-CF, PA-CF, PA-GF, NexPA-CF25[1] | UltiMaker-branded PPS CF, PLA, Tough PLA, Nylon, PETG, PET CF and PVA, plus validated third-party materials from BASF Forward AM, Kimya, Polymaker, LEHVOSS and Jabil[2] |
| Safety | ||
| Certifications (UL/ETL/CE/FCC — verify, don't assume) | CE, FCC, RoHS (as printed in FlashForge's own spec table)[1] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | Dimensional accuracy within +/-0.2 mm or +/-0.2% of feature nominal length; UltiMaker states it tested over 95% print-completion success. Manufacturer figures, not independent measurements[2] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra product page (refurbished listing) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker Factor 4: technical specifications and pricing 3dprintingindustry.com · 2026-08 · review
- FlashForge Guider 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- FlashForge Guider 3 Plus technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Flashforge printer buyer's guide, 5M to Creator 5 eolasprints.com · 2026-08 · review